Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 41,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] GPS issues

Tip us?
 
PurdueLumberjack
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] GPS issues

Hey guys, ever since flashing a custom ROM onto my Verizon GS4, I've had issue with getting my phone's location. Given the location options on 4.4.3, the phone is able to get a rough location on the High Accuracy setting but can't do anything under Device Alone. As such, I'm pretty sure it's the GPS having issues. Others have had compass problems with the ROM I'm currently on, but everyone seems to be able to get a GPS lock when I can't. I've done a dirty flash, a clean flash, and even redownloaded the .zips from other locations in case the file was bad, but nothing has solved my problem. I use my phone's location settings for a variety of apps, so I'd really like to get it working again. Does anyone know of diagnostics I could perform? My hope is that it's just a software issue, and that I didn't do any permanent damage to the hardware. Thanks for the help!

(also, I'm posting here because I'm new to the forum and can't post in the developer threads yet)
 
rnh
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2008
Try faster fix in the play store. I've used it with several roms on several phones and it is very good
 
decaturbob
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 813
Posts: 2,388
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurdueLumberjack View Post
Hey guys, ever since flashing a custom ROM onto my Verizon GS4, I've had issue with getting my phone's location. Given the location options on 4.4.3, the phone is able to get a rough location on the High Accuracy setting but can't do anything under Device Alone. As such, I'm pretty sure it's the GPS having issues. Others have had compass problems with the ROM I'm currently on, but everyone seems to be able to get a GPS lock when I can't. I've done a dirty flash, a clean flash, and even redownloaded the .zips from other locations in case the file was bad, but nothing has solved my problem. I use my phone's location settings for a variety of apps, so I'd really like to get it working again. Does anyone know of diagnostics I could perform? My hope is that it's just a software issue, and that I didn't do any permanent damage to the hardware. Thanks for the help!

(also, I'm posting here because I'm new to the forum and can't post in the developer threads yet)
this is what I have done to get GPS working, I'm kitkat and echo v24 rom

1. I reflashed gigilies wifi fix in safestrap
2. installed gps status app from playstore
3. app found the satellites and now I have gps working
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PurdueLumberjack
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
this is what I have done to get GPS working, I'm kitkat and echo v24 rom

1. I reflashed gigilies wifi fix in safestrap
2. installed gps status app from playstore
3. app found the satellites and now I have gps working
I looked up the fix you're talking about. Others seem to have had success through the gps status apps available on the playstore. Unfortunately, they didn't have any effect on my phone. I'm still stuck at searching for GPS on any app that uses it. Those who had success seem to have had it with a ROM that originally worked, but lost the ability to successfully connect. My issue seems to be in the ROM itself, or at least that's what makes sense to me. Thanks for the advice and trying to help.
 
rnh
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurdueLumberjack View Post
Hey guys, ever since flashing a custom ROM onto my Verizon GS4, I've had issue with getting my phone's location. Given the location options on 4.4.3, the phone is able to get a rough location on the High Accuracy setting but can't do anything under Device Alone. As such, I'm pretty sure it's the GPS having issues. Others have had compass problems with the ROM I'm currently on, but everyone seems to be able to get a GPS lock when I can't. I've done a dirty flash, a clean flash, and even redownloaded the .zips from other locations in case the file was bad, but nothing has solved my problem. I use my phone's location settings for a variety of apps, so I'd really like to get it working again. Does anyone know of diagnostics I could perform? My hope is that it's just a software issue, and that I didn't do any permanent damage to the hardware. Thanks for the help!

(also, I'm posting here because I'm new to the forum and can't post in the developer threads yet)
Did you try the faster fix app yet?
 
PurdueLumberjack
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnh View Post
Did you try the faster fix app yet?
I have tried faster GPS (running 4.4.4, so faster fix is a no-no) with no success. It replaces the file detailing GPS information and the like, but I'm still stuck searching for GPS permanently.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Free mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more