Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,152 Members 54,193 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is there a fix for no GPS?

Tip us?
 
Gahh Its Lee
Old
#1  
Gahh Its Lee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 2,567
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Is there a fix for no GPS?

I've changed radios and even used Odin when I switched from 4.1.2 to a newer ROM. I've had no GPS for awhile any ideas?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Just relax its a forum not real life.
 
Gahh Its Lee
Old
#2  
Gahh Its Lee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 2,567
Join Date: Oct 2010
I tried changing my GPS settings using fastergps as suggested in another thread still no luck.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Just relax its a forum not real life.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gahh Its Lee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
devious_z
Old
#3  
devious_z's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gahh Its Lee View Post
I tried changing my GPS settings using fastergps as suggested in another thread still no luck.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Do you mind providing more details about the ROM you are using, and what you have done to get to the point you are currently at?
The Following User Says Thank You to devious_z For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gahh Its Lee
Old
#4  
Gahh Its Lee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 2,567
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yea I was on clean ROM (whatever the latest release was) I was on that for a very long time I flashed it the day of release and switched maybe a month ago. Either way one day it just stopped working. Now I'm on the latest stock vzw I've changed radios and used the fastergps app. It will very rarely find my location but immediately lose it my GPS is just nonfunctional nothing happened to cause it either it just worked one day and not the next.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Just relax its a forum not real life.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gahh Its Lee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MikeCriggs
Old
#5  
MikeCriggs's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor
Thanks Meter 3529
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Liberty, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gahh Its Lee View Post
Yea I was on clean ROM (whatever the latest release was) I was on that for a very long time I flashed it the day of release and switched maybe a month ago. Either way one day it just stopped working. Now I'm on the latest stock vzw I've changed radios and used the fastergps app. It will very rarely find my location but immediately lose it my GPS is just nonfunctional nothing happened to cause it either it just worked one day and not the next.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
GPS??



AOSPAL | SaberMod


I DO NOT ANSWER TECHNICAL QUESTIONS VIA PM OR EMAIL

G+ | Twitter | GitHub | Gmail



Recognized DeveloperRecognized Contributor
The Following User Says Thank You to MikeCriggs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xredjokerx
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 952
Join Date: Nov 2009
Try this,

No guarantees, but many have claimed it worked -- I know its not the same rom, but what do you have to lose?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1631
Currently running: Galaxy Note II

If you don't have drop box, please help me out and use my referral link http://db.tt/XJuRP3T
The Following User Says Thank You to xredjokerx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
doctor-cool
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gahh Its Lee View Post
I've changed radios and even used Odin when I switched from 4.1.2 to a newer ROM. I've had no GPS for awhile any ideas?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

I've gone back to Verizon stock 4.1.2 Rooted as I explain here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/note...izing-t2817294

Life on the note 2 has never been better IMO. Everything just works.
The Following User Says Thank You to doctor-cool For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gahh Its Lee
Old
#8  
Gahh Its Lee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 2,567
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor-cool View Post



I've gone back to Verizon stock 4.1.2 Rooted as I explain here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/note...izing-t2817294

Life on the note 2 has never been better IMO. Everything just works.
I tried that before updating roms no matter what I just get occasional inaccurate locks

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Just relax its a forum not real life.
 
nja4k
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Sure its not a hardware issue?

I did the screw fix and connection tab fix for a friend and it's back to normal on hia phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to nja4k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GrumpyJoe
Old
#10  
GrumpyJoe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2010
I had this problem when my software updated to 4.4.2 and I going the only fix that worked for me was a factory reset. It is my understanding that this update was very hard on Samsung phones. My GPS works fine now. But the price is it took me about 3 days to get my phone back to the way I had it.

The Following User Says Thank You to GrumpyJoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes