Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,807 Members 52,727 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Camera failed warning

Tip us?
 
plymptonpilgreen
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Camera failed warning

Just to let you all know who are curious as to who is experiencing this fault, i have just recieved the dreaded warning. got my phone 3 days ago from carphone warehouse in plymouth uk, unlocked. seems a pretty widespread fault. mass recall????
 
koolboyztn
Old
#2  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 360
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
yes, if u read around is a hardware problem with limited S5, only fix atm is replace it.
 
Stiflerlv
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 236
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ogre
Any info on which models you can get this problem?

I had similar error yesterday untill I rebooted my phone. Thought its problem with ART...
Nokia 6232
HTC Tattoo
HTC One S Black
Samsung Galaxy S5
 
koolboyztn
Old
#4  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 360
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
no, but i think it mostly from US Verizon.
 
declan8888
Old
#5  
declan8888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 485
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiflerlv View Post
Any info on which models you can get this problem?

I had similar error yesterday untill I rebooted my phone. Thought its problem with ART...
I'm on the G900F and occasionally get the camera failed warning. A reboot always fixes it.

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Free mobile app
 
LotoTutu
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 133
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by plymptonpilgreen View Post
Just to let you all know who are curious as to who is experiencing this fault, i have just recieved the dreaded warning. got my phone 3 days ago from carphone warehouse in plymouth uk, unlocked. seems a pretty widespread fault. mass recall????
Make sure you not set the phone in save model.
If you use the Go Flash Light App, unload it
If it still not work, you'd better send it to Samsung center for change.
Or you can try to boot the phone.
 
daoom
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
I had "Warning Camera Failed" problem on my SM-G900SW (S5 in Canada), along with some other weird problems.

After reading an announcement from Samsung that the problem is ROM related download the stack image for my device/provider from Samfirmware and re-flashed the phone.

The problem went away, and so did some other issues.

This is definitely a software issue IMO.
 
jopat
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2014
I've read that it only happens to US version of the phone when the user installs another camera app.
 
daoom
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 145
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by daoom View Post
I had "Warning Camera Failed" problem on my SM-G900SW (S5 in Canada), along with some other weird problems.

After reading an announcement from Samsung that the problem is ROM related download the stack image for my device/provider from Samfirmware and re-flashed the phone.

The problem went away, and so did some other issues.

This is definitely a software issue IMO.
To add to this, after I flashed the stock firmware everything was fine for a few days until suddenly I was unable to turn on Bluetooth. So the camera still worked, but bluetooth stopped working.

I took the phone back to the store, showed them the problem and exchanged. In the process of exchanging it I did a factory reset to remove personal data. When the reset was done, I turned it on to make sure my accounts were gone, and lo and behold the camera and bluetooth worked again.

I still went through with the exchange since this does seem like a problem related to the storage memory becoming corrupted after a bit of use.

I've had the new one for 3 days, and so far no problems.

---------- Post added at 11:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:33 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopat View Post
I've read that it only happens to US version of the phone when the user installs another camera app.
Seeing as I'm Canadian, nope.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes