Post Reply

Bricked?

OP jideay

20th June 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #1  
jideay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Well, without thinking I took the OTA. Then I realized I had root. Now I get the Android character with an exclamation point. I can't seem to get into recovery. At this point, I don't care if I'm rooted or not. I just want my tablet back. Suggestions?
20th June 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 146
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay

Well, without thinking I took the OTA. Then I realized I had root. Now I get the Android character with an exclamation point. I can't seem to get into recovery. At this point, I don't care if I'm rooted or not. I just want my tablet back. Suggestions?

Did you have a custom recovery? Or were you completely stock except for root? It should have updated fine if all you have was root with no other modifications.
20th June 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #3  
jideay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Completely stock.
20th June 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 146
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay

Completely stock.

Well, what you are describing (the Android with the exclamation mark) is stock recovery. How did you get there? Did you boot into the bootloader and then stock recovery? Did you accept the OTA in the Android OS, and it rebooted into what you're seeing now and got stuck?
20th June 2014, 11:30 PM   |  #5  
jideay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Yes.
20th June 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 146
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay

Yes.

That's odd that it would get stuck. Have you tried turning it off by holding the power button and then turning it back on?
20th June 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #7  
jideay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Yes a couple times. I will try it again.
20th June 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 146
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay

Yes a couple times. I will try it again.

You gotta hold the power button for about 10 seconds (maybe more) to force it to turn off.
20th June 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #9  
jideay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
No go. Also, under the android guy are the words, "No command."
20th June 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 146
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jideay

No go. Also, under the android guy are the words, "No command."

Tap the Power + Volume Up button at the same time. Tap, don't hold them down. It may take a couple tries, but eventually, you'll see the recovery menu pop up on the top left corner of the screen with options to reboot, wipe cache, etc.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 10 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank