Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Note 3 adapt sound

OP oyevinod

29th September 2013, 09:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I have been using my note 3 for the past few days (s800). There is a feature called adapt sound in the audio settings. Once set up the audio is vastly improved on the stock music player compared to 3rd party ones. I tried power amp, double twist, winamp. None of them come close to the extra detail produced by the stock player. Has anyone noticed this? My mp3s are 320 at 44khz.

Further is it worth converting them to 24 bit, 192khz.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to oyevinod For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th September 2013, 11:04 PM   |  #2  
SquirtingCherry's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zevenbergen
Thanks Meter: 77
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oyevinod

I have been using my note 3 for the past few days (s800). There is a feature called adapt sound in the audio settings. Once set up the audio is vastly improved on the stock music player compared to 3rd party ones. I tried power amp, double twist, winamp. None of them come close to the extra detail produced by the stock player. Has anyone noticed this? My mp3s are 320 at 44khz.

Further is it worth converting them to 24 bit, 192khz.

You mean playing trough headphones or the phone speaker?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
29th September 2013, 11:11 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Kay El
Thanks Meter: 155
 
1,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirtingCherry

You mean playing trough headphones or the phone speaker?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app

Earphones only

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
30th September 2013, 05:08 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I agree. I think Samsung has done well to implement this feature. So far as I know, no smartphone manufacturer cares to customise the sound output to the individual user. I am so rooted to Samsung phones now that I can almost totally neglect the asthetics and only focus on the features. But why no FM?!?!?! That will make a perfect phone. Lol.
30th September 2013, 06:53 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mix1987

I agree. I think Samsung has done well to implement this feature. So far as I know, no smartphone manufacturer cares to customise the sound output to the individual user. I am so rooted to Samsung phones now that I can almost totally neglect the asthetics and only focus on the features. But why no FM?!?!?! That will make a perfect phone. Lol.

Because radio is dead.
30th September 2013, 11:03 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirtingCherry

You mean playing trough headphones or the phone speaker?

Well, you can configure only using a decent pair of headphones as the process is quite personalized.
30th September 2013, 11:08 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mix1987

I agree. I think Samsung has done well to implement this feature. So far as I know, no smartphone manufacturer cares to customise the sound output to the individual user. I am so rooted to Samsung phones now that I can almost totally neglect the asthetics and only focus on the features. But why no FM?!?!?! That will make a perfect phone. Lol.

Well, to be honest, the build quality of the GN3 is really good. Played with Htc one, Ipone 5. There is nothing that stands out among them except the initial wow factor which is certainly there with the GN3 textured back and overshadowed by the awesome screen.
30th September 2013, 11:17 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
That feature was included on the S4 too it seems, and I have no idea why they didn't advertise it at all, sounds awesome. Can't wait to try it out with my Shure SE535s.
30th September 2013, 12:55 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Seems that adapt sounds creates a customized eq for only the stock music player (there is a whole article on phone arena, Google it) based on your hearing and your headphones. Does the stock music player play flac? I hope so. As for converting your music, its only going to be as good as your source, upscaling won't do anything, maybe add a tiny bit of depth, but it won't be worth the space lost increasing the file size. If your looking for a way to get the most from ripping music directly from CDs, I'd look into flac, or ogg, or if your stuck with mp3 format, the highest quality without making the file size outrageous. Also, if you looking for quality music, get you a pair of good headphones (don't forget to redo adept sound, as it tunes specifically for the headphones you do it with)

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
30th September 2013, 01:12 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinKimble

Seems that adapt sounds creates a customized eq for only the stock music player (there is a whole article on phone arena, Google it) based on your hearing and your headphones. Does the stock music player play flac? I hope so. As for converting your music, its only going to be as good as your source, upscaling won't do anything, maybe add a tiny bit of depth, but it won't be worth the space lost increasing the file size. If your looking for a way to get the most from ripping music directly from CDs, I'd look into flac, or ogg, or if your stuck with mp3 format, the highest quality without making the file size outrageous. Also, if you looking for quality music, get you a pair of good headphones (don't forget to redo adept sound, as it tunes specifically for the headphones you do it with)

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks for the link. It seems only the stock player can make use of this. Was trying the stock player and poweramp for a couple of hours trying to figure out how to decide which player to use. (had the paid version of the poweramp and didn't want to lose its customisation and looks). Ended up using the Stock as the sound quality is clearly different and for the better. Will be using mp3s mostly at 320 kbps. As you mentioned the quality is pretty good at this bit rate. The file sizes range 10-15mb per song at most.

Use ATH-M50s for audio. and plan on using the N3 a lot as an Mp3 player

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes