Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,852 Members 40,389 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[mod] Get rid of qslides in notification

Tip us?
 
madmack
Old
(Last edited by madmack; 20th May 2013 at 05:30 PM.)
#1  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4358
Posts: 3,510
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [mod] Get rid of qslides in notification

Hi, this is a fairly advanced topic, I'm not providing a nice little cwm file for you to "apply" or "revert" so you gotta know what you're doing. Namely, you'll need to know how to type some commands via adb and be rooted.

I'm providing two CWM files that you can flash over odexed or deodexed LG Optimus G Pro ROMs. Simply put these in your sdcard, use the 2nd init recovery to reboot into recovery, then apply and reboot.


Props to mateo1111 and lv4n35. I used their contribution for "pointers"

Enjoy your reclaimed notification slide down real estate.
Attached Files
File Type: zip hide_qslides.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.04 MB, 1277 views)
File Type: zip show_qslides.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.04 MB, 651 views)
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to madmack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fix-this!
Old
#2  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 280
Posts: 2,145
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: midwest
worked great, thanks!

i think i already asked but could you look into removing the at&t text from the statusbar? also making all the text color holo blue? i believe all of this is in the systemUI.
 
draiko913
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 111
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Saint Louis
Worked on mine as well. Thanks for putting this together!
 
madmack
Old
#4  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4358
Posts: 3,510
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fix-this! View Post
worked great, thanks!

i think i already asked but could you look into removing the at&t text from the statusbar? also making all the text color holo blue? i believe all of this is in the systemUI.
I have no interest in these man time is scarce here nowadays. sorry!
 
idle0095
Old
#5  
idle0095's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 1,909
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █
Wish there was a better way to do this.
GOOGLE Glass (The Glass Explorer Program)
Samsung Galaxy S5 Verizon
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (Verizon)
GEAR 2 & GEAR 2 NEO
Sony SW2 & Pebble Steel & Qualcomm Toq

 
Other Devices
LGG2 Verizon
Nexus 5 (Unlocked)
Samsung Galaxy S4 (VZW)
Nexus 7 2013
LG Optimus G Pro AT&T
HTC ONE AT&T
IPAD 4
LG NEXUS 4 AT&T
Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (VZW)
HTC Droid DNA
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T)

Thanks for the F-Shack, Love Dirty Mike and the Boys
 
madmack
Old
(Last edited by madmack; 20th May 2013 at 05:48 PM.)
#6  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4358
Posts: 3,510
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by idle0095 View Post
Wish there was a better way to do this.
once and if we get the bootloader unlocked, then it would make sense to provide cwm files that you can apply and revert easily. if someone packages this file in a cwm file in the meantime that you can flash via 2nd init, then I'll post it in the OP.

Edit: found the time to push two cwm files in the OP
The Following User Says Thank You to madmack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrfeuss
Old
#7  
mrfeuss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 583
Posts: 973
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nowheresville, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmack View Post
once and if we get the bootloader unlocked, then it would make sense to provide cwm files that you can apply and revert easily. if someone packages this file in a cwm file in the meantime that you can flash via 2nd init, then I'll post it in the OP.
I pushed the modified .apk to /system/app using Root Browser. So far so good and QSlides are history. I renamed LGSystemUI.apk to LGSystemUI.bak, pasted in the modified version, set the permissions to RWRR and rebooted.
 
Teardrop45
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 126
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfeuss View Post
I pushed the modified .apk to /system/app using Root Browser. So far so good and QSlides are history. I renamed LGSystemUI.apk to LGSystemUI.bak, pasted in the modified version, set the permissions to RWRR and rebooted.
Hi Noob Here ...let me get this straight ..u renamed the LGSystemUI.apk to LGSystemUI.bak which was already on the phone and then u pasted the apk which the OP posted and then set the permission to RWRR and rebooted ..Right...
 
mrfeuss
Old
(Last edited by mrfeuss; 20th May 2013 at 05:14 PM.)
#9  
mrfeuss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 583
Posts: 973
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nowheresville, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teardrop45 View Post
Hi Noob Here ...let me get this straight ..u renamed the LGSystemUI.apk to LGSystemUI.bak which was already on the phone and then u pasted the apk which the OP posted and then set the permission to RWRR and rebooted ..Right...
Correct. You have to be rooted and be using a root-level file explorer. (I like Root Browser Lite by JRummy Apps)

EDIT: This is what the permissions page should look like.

 
Teardrop45
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 126
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thanks...yes im rooted but i have the korean version..F240K ...wat luck i remembered the op mentioned its only for AT&T ..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes