Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[Q] verizon m7 sense 6 update caused root failure on weaksauce plz halp me justincase

OP pandagiraffe

23rd June 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
What's going on xda? I wanted to post this in the developer forum, so that possibly Ya know, a developer would see it and read it but the site said "no" so I have to post here. I had my phone rooted with weaksauce I was gonna go all out and unlock the boot loader and s-off but weaksauce made it so easy to have root access I was pretty satisfied with just that for a little while at least. Then I got an update Download from Verizon. I pressed where it said update now. I was curious. I'm sorry, anyway now I have the Verizon version of sense 6.0 and weaksauce shows me root failure when it runs. It's been like this for quite some time now and I've been searching around for any info on it but I'm the only person who has made a post about it so far. Other people also have this problem, I made a post on android forums and many others are sharing the same issue. Developers please. Let me know if you share the problem or know the solution or if you are currently working on the solution because I am getting slightly impatient. Thanks
23rd June 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #2  
cyrusct82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Constanţa
Thanks Meter: 455
 
941 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Why not post this in Verizon HTC ONE forum? There you will receive more help.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
23rd June 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #3  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,388
 
3,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandagiraffe

What's going on xda? I wanted to post this in the developer forum, so that possibly Ya know, a developer would see it and read it but the site said "no" so I have to post here.

Quote:

Android Development

What goes here:

  • All discussions related to YOUR OWN development (roms, kernels, recoveries and flashable mods, exact rules for creating a thread there see in stickies of that section)
What does not go here:
  • Any Questions!!!

Quote:

Developer Discussion [Developers Only] (only on devices where available)

What goes here:

  • ONLY high level discussions between developers. (Exact rules for creating a thread there see in stickies of that section)
What does not go here:
  • Absolutely everything else!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2158159


Quote:

I had my phone rooted with weaksauce I was gonna go all out and unlock the boot loader and s-off but weaksauce made it so easy to have root access I was pretty satisfied with just that for a little while at least. Then I got an update Download from Verizon. I pressed where it said update now. I was curious. I'm sorry, anyway now I have the Verizon version of sense 6.0 and weaksauce shows me root failure when it runs. It's been like this for quite some time now and I've been searching around for any info on it but I'm the only person who has made a post about it so far. Other people also have this problem, I made a post on android forums and many others are sharing the same issue. Developers please. Let me know if you share the problem or know the solution or if you are currently working on the solution because I am getting slightly impatient. Thanks

forum for your phone variant: http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-htc-one
basically, you need to root again, root access is lost during ota install, refer to your forum for instructions how to root the verizon htc one
Last edited by alray; 23rd June 2014 at 09:24 PM.
24th June 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2158159




forum for your phone variant: http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-htc-one
basically, you need to root again, root access is lost during ota install, refer to your forum for instructions how to root the verizon htc one

If it was actually that simple I would have already done that. I have a VERIZON m7. Weaksauce was the only root method I tried that worked, so it's not that I'm too lazy to search around for the correct thread, it's that that correct thread doesn't exist yet so I just keep making threads on different android forums until I flood the internet with my words and someone finally notices.
24th June 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #5  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,388
 
3,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandagiraffe

If it was actually that simple I would have already done that. I have a VERIZON m7. Weaksauce was the only root method I tried that worked, so it's not that I'm too lazy to search around for the correct thread, it's that that correct thread doesn't exist yet so I just keep making threads on different android forums until I flood the internet with my words and someone finally notices.

Never said you was to lazy mate, I just say, if you want a good answer then post in the right forum, the forum for verizon htc one...
we doesn't know much about your phone variant here, you could at least try to post there:http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-htc-one
24th June 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #6  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,838
 
15,341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandagiraffe

What's going on xda? I wanted to post this in the developer forum, so that possibly Ya know, a developer would see it and read it but the site said "no" so I have to post here. I had my phone rooted with weaksauce I was gonna go all out and unlock the boot loader and s-off but weaksauce made it so easy to have root access I was pretty satisfied with just that for a little while at least. Then I got an update Download from Verizon. I pressed where it said update now. I was curious. I'm sorry, anyway now I have the Verizon version of sense 6.0 and weaksauce shows me root failure when it runs. It's been like this for quite some time now and I've been searching around for any info on it but I'm the only person who has made a post about it so far. Other people also have this problem, I made a post on android forums and many others are sharing the same issue. Developers please. Let me know if you share the problem or know the solution or if you are currently working on the solution because I am getting slightly impatient. Thanks


Whats Going on? What is going on is that you really didnt pay attention to the rules when you joined. Had you then you would know why you cant post in the Dev forums. You would also know that had you posted this in the dev forums, it would have been deleted on site.

Now I am gonna move this to the proper device forums and advise you to take another look at the rules before you post again.
24th June 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #7  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 11,883
 
7,607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Basically, you are SOL until Firewater/Weaksauce/Towelroot is made to work on our latest OTA.
Had you run Firewater when you had root, prior to updating, you would have been able to update and retain s-off and root.
Since you didn't, you are now stuck without root until/when/if an updated method/exploit is posted.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 08:53 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Basically, you are SOL until Firewater/Weaksauce/Towelroot is made to work on our latest OTA.
Had you run Firewater when you had root, prior to updating, you would have been able to update and retain s-off and root.
Since you didn't, you are now stuck without root until/when/if an updated method/exploit is posted.

Damn. Thank you for the straight up truth though man I appreciate it.
25th June 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Whats Going on? What is going on is that you really didnt pay attention to the rules when you joined. Had you then you would know why you cant post in the Dev forums. You would also know that had you posted this in the dev forums, it would have been deleted on site.

Now I am gonna move this to the proper device forums and advise you to take another look at the rules before you post again.

Dude, keep moving it if it makes you feel important. The rules really are not my main concern on this site, I had a question it got answered pretty directly after about 4 useless "this has to be moved" posts now I'm going to continue to wait. You guys are like maids for this site do they pay you well? Is it just fun for you to move threads to the correct place? pretty much: LOL @ false sense of entitlement thread police
Last edited by zelendel; 25th June 2014 at 05:44 PM.
25th June 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #10  
calash's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandagiraffe

Dude, keep moving it if it makes you feel important. The rules really are not my main concern on this site, I had a question it got answered pretty directly after about 4 useless "this has to be moved" posts now I'm going to continue to wait. You guys are like maids for this site do they pay you well? Is it just fun for you to move threads to the correct place? pretty much: LOL @ false sense of entitlement thread police Füćk your system

Your thread got answered after it was moved to the right place, so that mod with "a false sense of entitlement" is the only reason you got a accurate reply.

Your call, but a bit of appreciation for those who keep this site running and volunteer to help is never a bad thing. Running a site of this size is not an easy task.

The Following User Says Thank You to calash For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes