Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck in recovery. How to flash a rom from Fastboot USB?

OP Hackenstein

22nd June 2014, 07:56 AM   |  #1  
Hackenstein's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Hello All,

Looks like I got myself into a pickle with my DNA......

Right now the only two things I can access on the phone are the bootloader and CWM.

How I got here:

I went into CWM recovery and deleted/formatted everything (absolutely everything that could be deleted and/or formatted), thinking I could flash a radio/firmware upgrade, then the LiquidSmooth rom from adb/fastboot. Been a long time since I've worked with this phone and now all I got is the bootloader and CWM. Thought I could use adb to push the rom zip to the device, then go into recovery and flash it the right way, but when I go to fastboot on the device and use the push command in adb it tells me "error device not found".

Gonna stop right there and seek some advice. What's the best way to correct this mess?


Thanks ahead of time!

PS: Working with a DNA with an unlocked bootloader (S-ON), and it was running the stock rom before the first OTA update. I did make a backup file and save it to my PC before I did anything. But, now adb is suddenly not recognizing that the device is connected so I can't push any files to it.
22nd June 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #2  
d08speed3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 349
 
2,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632351

HTC DNA
LG Optimus G
22nd June 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #3  
Hackenstein's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d08speed3

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632351

HTC DNA
LG Optimus G


Not real sure how this will help me.

I cannot boot into Android, and at this point whenever I try to push files to the device via adb it gives me an error and says device not found.
23rd June 2014, 01:52 AM   |  #4  
RLGL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stillwater
Thanks Meter: 35
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Tried to sideload in recovery?
23rd June 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #5  
Hackenstein's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLGL

Tried to sideload in recovery?


Hmmm, I have not. Wasn't familiar with the term until now.

Actually just tried it and thought I was out of the woods. LiquidSmooth started to install, then failed/aborted. Here is a screen shot if someone can tell me what they can make of it:

Last edited by Hackenstein; 23rd June 2014 at 06:33 AM. Reason: Added photo
23rd June 2014, 08:24 AM   |  #6  
Hackenstein's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackenstein

Hmmm, I have not. Wasn't familiar with the term until now.

Actually just tried it and thought I was out of the woods. LiquidSmooth started to install, then failed/aborted. Here is a screen shot if someone can tell me what they can make of it:


The problem with that turned out to be an outdated version of CWM. I updated it, only to find my phone would not get recognized in recovery by adb. Found that with the upgrade I also needed a driver upgrade which I took care of (after I had installed TWRP to test as well, just stuck with TWRP). Was able to flash rom (and it sucks). Looking for another one now that is more of a stock (de-bloated with perks, etc).

When I'm done there, should I run firewater to achieve S-OFF so I can update the radio as well, or is there a better way?
24th June 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
No os installed!!! Need help asap!!!!please
I hope im posting in the correct forum (forgive me if im not i mean no disrespect) im new to this rooting thing and made a choice the other day to root my htc dna thats currently on kit kat 4.4.2. I started out with clockworkmod and didnt like that so i then flashed twrp. The reason i didnt want to continue with clockworkmod is because i notice that there was some storage issues going on, i went to my settings and located my storage and saw that the other field was reading that over 13gb was being used up. I couldnt find out what the 13gb was so i started researching and found out that clockworkmod might have been having some issues with duplicating the os therefore taking up too much space. So what i did was try to flash the twrp thinking that would work and the storage was still being taken, so i started researching again and found out that i would need to do a factory reset and start all over....well when i did some how i erased the os as well now im stuck on the htc screen or i have the option of booting up into twrp but thats it.... I downloaded what i thought was the right ruu but thats not working i keep getting error 158....please somebody help me!!!!!!
25th June 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #8  
RLGL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stillwater
Thanks Meter: 35
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIST STARZ

I hope im posting in the correct forum (forgive me if im not i mean no disrespect) im new to this rooting thing and made a choice the other day to root my htc dna thats currently on kit kat 4.4.2. I started out with clockworkmod and didnt like that so i then flashed twrp. The reason i didnt want to continue with clockworkmod is because i notice that there was some storage issues going on, i went to my settings and located my storage and saw that the other field was reading that over 13gb was being used up. I couldnt find out what the 13gb was so i started researching and found out that clockworkmod might have been having some issues with duplicating the os therefore taking up too much space. So what i did was try to flash the twrp thinking that would work and the storage was still being taken, so i started researching again and found out that i would need to do a factory reset and start all over....well when i did some how i erased the os as well now im stuck on the htc screen or i have the option of booting up into twrp but thats it.... I downloaded what i thought was the right ruu but thats not working i keep getting error 158....please somebody help me!!!!!!


There is a search feature to use for finding out how to recover from your mistakes.
Try searching for error 158.
25th June 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #9  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 11,849
 
7,601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackenstein

The problem with that turned out to be an outdated version of CWM. I updated it, only to find my phone would not get recognized in recovery by adb. Found that with the upgrade I also needed a driver upgrade which I took care of (after I had installed TWRP to test as well, just stuck with TWRP). Was able to flash rom (and it sucks). Looking for another one now that is more of a stock (de-bloated with perks, etc).

When I'm done there, should I run firewater to achieve S-OFF so I can update the radio as well, or is there a better way?

Just for future reference, if you care to allow the dev community to thrive.
Don't use terms like "it sucks".
Maybe..., I don't like it,....or, I didn't care for it,....or it's not what I wanted, or needed, etc,..
But to know little about Android, and then to say that someone elses hard work sucks, is what makes devs say forget it and stop providing their free services to the community.
Just thought I'd point that out.
You can think I suck for saying so, but I'm honestly just trying to help you and the community by letting you know what impact users comments can have on Devs motivation to provide these things in their free time, with nothing in return.
Take it or leave it. Hope you find what suits you.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #10  
tat2me2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Independence
Thanks Meter: 23
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Just for future reference, if you care to allow the dev community to thrive.
Don't use terms like "it sucks".
Maybe..., I don't like it,....or, I didn't care for it,....or it's not what I wanted, or needed, etc,..
But to know little about Android, and then to say that someone elses hard work sucks, is what makes devs say forget it and stop providing their free services to the community.
Just thought I'd point that out.
You can think I suck for saying so, but I'm honestly just trying to help you and the community by letting you know what impact users comments can have on Devs motivation to provide these things in their free time, with nothing in return.
Take it or leave it. Hope you find what suits you.

Well Said, and on that note, DEVS - I do appreciate all info that I receive here, whether it's from searching/reading or when a question gets answered. Thanks for all you do!!!

tat

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes