Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Downgrade G9 Firmware?

OP zsalzy

9th March 2012, 07:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Is it possible to downgrade the firmware on the G9?

I just updated to ICS, but would like to go back...

Or, if anybody can tell me how to hide the menu bar completely for a kiosk application I am developing, that would be helpful.

This is possible in Honeycomb from what I can tell by killing systemUi, but not in ICS.

Thanks
9th March 2012, 07:10 AM   |  #2  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 8,558
 
3,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsalzy

Is it possible to downgrade the firmware on the G9?

I just updated to ICS, but would like to go back...

Or, if anybody can tell me how to hide the menu bar completely for a kiosk application I am developing, that would be helpful.

This is possible in Honeycomb from what I can tell by killing systemUi, but not in ICS.

Thanks

YES.

You can do this, if you flash ICS rooted version and than you can install Custom Rom 3.2.80 ! .....after that you can install firmware_archos_it4.aos , or may be you don't need Custom Rom. Try directaly after ICS root to install orig Honeycomb....IT shoud be ork too ! Good luck !
9th March 2012, 07:15 AM   |  #3  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 548
 
1,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
try this
http://update.archos.com/9/gen9/gen9...archos_it4.aos

boot to recovery, then update firmware, plug tablet into your computer, put this in the drive that pops up
9th March 2012, 04:34 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
when i try to update with the custom 3.2.80 rom, it says I need an lzo file, not gz. Is there a way to convert it?

In the meantime, I am trying the original 3.2.80 from archos. (It didn't work - error 221).

Thanks
Last edited by zsalzy; 9th March 2012 at 04:57 PM.
9th March 2012, 04:55 PM   |  #5  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsalzy

when i try to update with the custom 3.2.80 rom, it says I need an lzo file, not gz. Is there a way to convert it?

In the meantime, I am trying the original 3.2.80 from archos.

Thanks

ICS updated also recovery, now it requires initramfs.cpio.lzo
Just rename the file, it is in correct format already

tapatalked from Archos 101 G9
9th March 2012, 05:20 PM   |  #6  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 8,558
 
3,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen_scheisskopf

ICS updated also recovery, now it requires initramfs.cpio.lzo
Just rename the file, it is in correct format already

tapatalked from Archos 101 G9



Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....
9th March 2012, 08:14 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru

Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....

hi i have big problem with ICS!
all app running with wifi are very slow!
youtube is lagging and it is impossible to load internet page
9th March 2012, 08:19 PM   |  #8  
Quinny899's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moomoon03

hi i have big problem with ICS!
all app running with wifi are very slow!
youtube is lagging and it is impossible to load internet page

Reformat in archos recovery and reflash. It will wipe your internal memory though

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using XDA Premium HD app
10th March 2012, 12:35 AM   |  #9  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poznań
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru

Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....

I didn't check if installing 3.2.xx over ICS will change recovery (back to initramfs.cpio.gz) but I doubt it will

tapatalked from Desire
10th March 2012, 06:52 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Thumbs down
Same to me Error 221. How is the correct name for firmware_archos_it4.aos?
I want to downgrade vom 403 zu 32.80.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes