Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,591 Members 36,669 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Downgrade G9 Firmware?

Tip us?
 
zsalzy
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Downgrade G9 Firmware?

Is it possible to downgrade the firmware on the G9?

I just updated to ICS, but would like to go back...

Or, if anybody can tell me how to hide the menu bar completely for a kiosk application I am developing, that would be helpful.

This is possible in Honeycomb from what I can tell by killing systemUi, but not in ICS.

Thanks
 
surdu_petru
Old
#2  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 7628
Posts: 3,393
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsalzy View Post
Is it possible to downgrade the firmware on the G9?

I just updated to ICS, but would like to go back...

Or, if anybody can tell me how to hide the menu bar completely for a kiosk application I am developing, that would be helpful.

This is possible in Honeycomb from what I can tell by killing systemUi, but not in ICS.

Thanks
YES.

You can do this, if you flash ICS rooted version and than you can install Custom Rom 3.2.80 ! .....after that you can install firmware_archos_it4.aos , or may be you don't need Custom Rom. Try directaly after ICS root to install orig Honeycomb....IT shoud be ork too ! Good luck !
 
Shano56
Old
#3  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 548
Posts: 1,382
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle
try this
http://update.archos.com/9/gen9/gen9...archos_it4.aos

boot to recovery, then update firmware, plug tablet into your computer, put this in the drive that pops up
LG Nexus 5
 
zsalzy
Old
(Last edited by zsalzy; 9th March 2012 at 03:57 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
when i try to update with the custom 3.2.80 rom, it says I need an lzo file, not gz. Is there a way to convert it?

In the meantime, I am trying the original 3.2.80 from archos. (It didn't work - error 221).

Thanks
 
gen_scheisskopf
Old
#5  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poznań
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsalzy View Post
when i try to update with the custom 3.2.80 rom, it says I need an lzo file, not gz. Is there a way to convert it?

In the meantime, I am trying the original 3.2.80 from archos.

Thanks
ICS updated also recovery, now it requires initramfs.cpio.lzo
Just rename the file, it is in correct format already

tapatalked from Archos 101 G9
Code:
setprop persist.world.domination 1
Twitter
 
surdu_petru
Old
#6  
surdu_petru's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 7628
Posts: 3,393
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen_scheisskopf View Post
ICS updated also recovery, now it requires initramfs.cpio.lzo
Just rename the file, it is in correct format already

tapatalked from Archos 101 G9


Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....
 
moomoon03
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 71
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru View Post
Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....
hi i have big problem with ICS!
all app running with wifi are very slow!
youtube is lagging and it is impossible to load internet page
 
Quinny899
Old
#8  
Quinny899's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3861
Posts: 6,241
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by moomoon03 View Post
hi i have big problem with ICS!
all app running with wifi are very slow!
youtube is lagging and it is impossible to load internet page
Reformat in archos recovery and reflash. It will wipe your internal memory though

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using XDA Premium HD app

 
Devices:
Nexus 5
Galaxy Nexus
Nexus 7 FHD
Archos 80 G9
LG GT540
 
gen_scheisskopf
Old
#9  
gen_scheisskopf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poznań
Quote:
Originally Posted by surdu_petru View Post
Hi!

If you rename initramfs ...do you think that we can do update directly over Honeycomb ?
Honestly I didn't tried to see if it works ....
I didn't check if installing 3.2.xx over ICS will change recovery (back to initramfs.cpio.gz) but I doubt it will

tapatalked from Desire
Code:
setprop persist.world.domination 1
Twitter
 
agarius
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2005
Same to me Error 221. How is the correct name for firmware_archos_it4.aos?
I want to downgrade vom 403 zu 32.80.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes