FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

[Q]Porting MT6582 to MT6572

Thanks Meter: 343
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello Guys,I searched for Lewa Os 5 for MT6572 but I didn't find any.So,I thought to download MT6582 as these chips are in combination like MT6589 to MT6577.I downloaded Wiko darkmoon . @superdragonpt created or ported it.I want it for my use,If got successful then I will take permission from him.I patched the rom with my stock files.The updater-script was just fine with exactly same mount points as in my Xolo A500s.I unpacked boot.img with michfood's packing and unpacking tools ,but the thing that I am worried is the boot.img of 6 mb shrinked to 4 mb!I just edited init.rc and added bootclasspath of lewa.

But,it didn't boot.I think I need to replace my ram disk in my boot with wiko dark moon's boot ram disk.Could I port this way?
Is it possible to port MT6582 to MT6572?It's my first time of cross-porting.
Please,I need some help on this!
The Following User Says Thank You to nightwalker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th June 2014, 11:15 AM |#2  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 7,200
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi

A: Rom was built from scratch ( not an port ), i used LeWa patchroom ( just like MIUI's patchroom).
LeWa patchroom is Closed Source (proprietary) so i can't help you with that


B: You should be able to "port" it to your device, concerning kernel:
- Use ( mandatory) LeWa's ramdisk
- If your kernel after repack is smaller, thats rather normal , its just an question of compression %.

Also since we are talking about port of diff SoC's there are other things that you'll need to fix:
- SoC ID on updater-script; ramdisk: build.prop; etc.
- Also keep in mind that LeWa itself its an themed rom, so its uses an 2nd framework ( lewa-res) that works under the main one, you may need to patch other things in the process.

--> For this, check the MT65xx porting thread, its very usefull.


Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to superdragonpt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2014, 12:37 PM |#3  
nightwalker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Uttar Pradesh>Meerut
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdragonpt

Hi

A: Rom was built from scratch ( not an port ), i used LeWa patchroom ( just like MIUI's patchroom).
LeWa patchroom is Closed Source (proprietary) so i can't help you with that


B: You should be able to "port" it to your device, concerning kernel:
- Use ( mandatory) LeWa's ramdisk
- If your kernel after repack is smaller, thats rather normal , its just an question of compression %.

Also since we are talking about port of diff SoC's there are other things that you'll need to fix:
- SoC ID on updater-script; ramdisk: build.prop; etc.
- Also keep in mind that LeWa itself its an themed rom, so its uses an 2nd framework ( lewa-res) that works under the main one, you may need to patch other things in the process.

--> For this, check the MT65xx porting thread, its very usefull.


Regards

Thanks for your infomative reply.Ok,I done most the things.Rather than replacing ram disk,I added bootclasspath in init.rc
How can I make lewa from scratch?I haven't heard it before.
28th June 2014, 10:55 AM |#4  
navneetasnavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Give a try to This
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightwalker

Thanks for your infomative reply.Ok,I done most the things.Rather than replacing ram disk,I added bootclasspath in init.rc
How can I make lewa from scratch?I haven't heard it before.

Using unpack tool by Michfood unpack your stock boot.img and boot.img of the rom u want to port ... then only replace kernel and kernel header from base to port and repack the image ... and try to flash the rom
28th June 2014, 03:48 PM |#5  
nightwalker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Uttar Pradesh>Meerut
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by navneetasnavi

Using unpack tool by Michfood unpack your stock boot.img and boot.img of the rom u want to port ... then only replace kernel and kernel header from base to port and repack the image ... and try to flash the rom

I knew it won't work,as I knew that we need to replace ram disk.I did it and I have managed to come till boot anim.
29th June 2014, 01:34 PM |#6  
navneetasnavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
So what ?? At least give a try to the way i suggested It booted up the oppo rom for my device. :/
29th June 2014, 07:16 PM |#7  
nightwalker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Uttar Pradesh>Meerut
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by navneetasnavi

So what ?? At least give a try to the way i suggested It booted up the oppo rom for my device. :/

Sorry,you were right too.
30th June 2014, 01:07 PM |#8  
navneetasnavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ludhiana
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightwalker

Sorry,you were right too.

Did it worked??????
if yes then please press thanx : )
1st July 2014, 01:02 PM |#9  
nightwalker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Uttar Pradesh>Meerut
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by navneetasnavi

Did it worked??????
if yes then please press thanx : )

Haven't tried it not yet
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes