Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,490 Members 44,234 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC (M7) not booting at all after failed install SkyDragon

Tip us?
 
mrbrightsky
Old
(Last edited by mrbrightsky; 29th June 2014 at 07:12 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default [Q] HTC (M7) not booting at all after failed install SkyDragon

Hi everybody, I'm pretty much freaking out right now.

I tried to install SkyDragon 4.09.1700.1 but somewhere, the installation failed.
I wanted to do so because my previous rom started crashing more and more...
After trying MIUI and hating it immediately, I wanted to get a nice Google Edition ROM

Now whenever I boot, I can't get past the first boot screen with "HTC, quietly different" ( or something like that )
He only goes there when I hold the phone under a bright light. After that: blackness.

I tried to use to shortcut for booting with bootloader (POWER + VOLUME DOWN) and all I get is the light flashing on the buttons below...
I'm afraid I've got an incomplete or corrupt kernel and I have no clue how to fix this.

I also only have a mac OS X so please bear in mind that most software is not available for me...
 
Seanie280672
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 844
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrightsky View Post
Hi everybody, I'm pretty much freaking out right now.

I tried to install SkyDragon 4.09.1700.1 but somewhere, the installation failed.
I wanted to do so because my previous rom started crashing more and more...
After trying MIUI and hating it immediately, I wanted to get a nice Google Edition ROM

Now whenever I boot, I can't get past the first boot screen with "HTC, quietly different" ( or something like that )
He only goes there when I hold the phone under a bright light. After that: blackness.

I tried to use to shortcut for booting with bootloader (POWER + VOLUME DOWN) and all I get is the light flashing on the buttons below...
I'm afraid I've got an incomplete or corrupt kernel and I have no clue how to fix this.

I also only have a mac OS X so please bear in mind that most software is not available for me...
Post your fastboot getvar all please, remove imei and serial number before posting
 
mrbrightsky
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
Post your fastboot getvar all please, remove imei and serial number before posting
I can't get to my bootloader, how do I get my fastboot getvar?
My phone only briefly shows the HTC logo, if I connect my phone to my mac and I do fastboot devices, he finds none
 
Seanie280672
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 844
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrightsky View Post
I can't get to my bootloader, how do I get my fastboot getvar?
My phone only briefly shows the HTC logo, if I connect my phone to my mac and I do fastboot devices, he finds none
Hold volume down and power button, keep holding the two, the lights on the bottom will blink 10 to 15 times, this will reset the phone, release the power button but continue to hold volume down, should come back on into bootloader.
 
mrbrightsky
Old
(Last edited by mrbrightsky; 29th June 2014 at 07:34 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
Hold volume down and power button, keep holding the two, the lights on the bottom will blink 10 to 15 times, this will reset the phone, release the power button but continue to hold volume down, should come back on into bootloader.
Words can't describe how happy you've made me by telling me how to get in bootloader again.
Here is all the info you need:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.24.401.1
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: XXXXXXXXX
(bootloader) imei: XXXXXXXXX
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__102
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4285mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
 
Seanie280672
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 844
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
once in the bootloader, plug your phone into the computer, it should say fastboot usb on the phone screen then.

open a command windows on your computer inside the folder where your fastboot and adb files are on your computer, not sure how you do this on a mac.

Then type fastboot getvar all and post the results here, but delete imei and serial number before submitting the post.

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrightsky View Post
Words can't describe how happy you've made me by telling me how to get in bootloader again.
Here is all the info you need:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 2.24.401.1
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON = THIS IS YOUR PROBLEM
(bootloader) serialno: REMOVE THIS
(bootloader) imei: REMOVE THIS

(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__102
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4285mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
See red info above

You must be S-off to use GPE Rom's
 
mrbrightsky
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default 2321

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
once in the bootloader, plug your phone into the computer, it should say fastboot usb on the phone screen then.

open a command windows on your computer inside the folder where your fastboot and adb files are on your computer, not sure how you do this on a mac.

Then type fastboot getvar all and post the results here, but delete imei and serial number before submitting the post.

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------



See red info above

You must be S-off to use GPE Rom's
Oh God, thank you!
On a totally related note...any rom's you can recommend me?
 
Seanie280672
Old
(Last edited by Seanie280672; 29th June 2014 at 07:55 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 844
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrightsky View Post
Oh God, thank you!
On a totally related note...any rom's you can recommend me?
well as you are on hboot 1.54, personally, I would flash twrp 2.6.3.3 recovery (most reliable) and then install a sense rom of your choice from the android development section, sorry but rom recommendations are not allowed, then once booted I would try and s-off my device using either firewater of rumrunner, if you get s-off then you can flash GPE successfully.
 
mrbrightsky
Old
(Last edited by mrbrightsky; 29th June 2014 at 07:53 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
well as you are on hboot 1.54, personally, I would flash twrp 2.6.3.3 recovery (most reliable) and then install a sense rom of your choice from the android development section, sorry but rom recommendations are not allowed, then once booted I would try and s-off my device using either firewater of rumrunner, if you get s-off then you can flash GPE successfully.
Thanks for the help, man.
Tried Android Revolution HD, booted but after HTC logo went to black and then directly to recovery mode...
Now flashed TWRP 2.6.3.3 recovery and trying again, here's hoping it'll work

Edit: it seems to be working just fine Thanks!
 
Seanie280672
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 844
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrightsky View Post
Thanks for the help, man.
Tried Android Revolution HD, booted but after HTC logo went to black and then directly to recovery mode...
Now flashed TWRP 2.6.3.3 recovery and trying again, here's hoping it'll work

Edit: it seems to be working just fine Thanks!
Your welcome.

Once S-OFF, Never go back to S-ON, EVER !!!, but this also means the security for your phone is switched off, so you do have to be extra careful of what you are flashing as its much more easy to brick your phone if you do something like flash the wrong HBOOT or firmware, just make sure you read and fully understand OP's instructions first.

You should get S-OFF easy on HBOOT 1.54, you may have to try a few different custom rom's to get there though, its HBOOT 1.56 and 1.57 that causes all the S-OFF problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more