Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy HELP Razr M stuck on Reboot

OP amokima

28th June 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
My Razr M was a bit sluggish so I restarted it. Now it's stuck on the screen with the pulsating Motorola logo. I can reboot using the power & volume keys but that's it. It will not turn off. I can't get it to the system recovery options. It is not rooted.

I just bought a new phone so it's not the end of the world, but I was still have a few files that I need to transfer from my Razr M. I can't get access to the phones' memory buy connecting it to my PC.

Any help would be greatly appreciated & rewarded with cookies.

Ta

Amo
28th June 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #2  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
If it's not a hardware issue, you could reflash the operating system without deleting your userdata partition. App settings etc. might get deleted tough.

You'll need RSD Lite and your firmware version from here. Extract it, and delete the line which erases the userdata and just to avoid problems also delete any lines that contain "GetVar", "var" or "oem" Don't forget to save the changes.

Go into fastboot mode first:
Quote:

Turn off or reset your phone first by pressing and holding Volume-up + Volume-down + power for a few seconds until your phone switches into “Boot Mode Selection Menu”, scroll down with Volume-down to highlight “AP Fastboot“ then press Volume-up to select it, you will get into ”AP Fastboot Flash Mode“.

then open RSD Lite, select your modified XML file and flash by clicking "Start".
28th June 2014, 01:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
No sure what my firmware is other than JB. I'm also in Australia. Those firmwares all say US, does that make a difference?
28th June 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #4  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Yes, I assumed you have the XT907 (Verizon). But if it's the Australian XT905, you would need an appropriate firmware.
29th June 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #5  
poppers162's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Have you attempted to boot into the stock recovery?

Sent from my DROID RAZR M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th June 2014, 02:44 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Fastbooting does nothing. Guess I'm just gonna have to accept that it's bricked.
29th June 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #7  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
So you flashed the system and it still doesn't boot properly?

Maybe there's something wrong with the userdata (but rather unlikely). The last chance would be to erase this partition too (leaving the appropriate line in the XML). If it's still bricked after it, then it's a hardware issue.
29th June 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
I put the firmware on an SDcard & put the card in the Phone. That's as far as the process will go. Nothing else will happen.
29th June 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #9  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I believe the stock recovery cannot install images from SD cards. So that won't work.
29th June 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
There's no other way to get anything on the phone. When I try & connect it to the computer via USB nothing happens.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes