Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,494 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Lycamobile

Tip us?
 
skuly
Old
(Last edited by skuly; 22nd August 2013 at 08:50 AM.)
#1  
skuly's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
Default Lycamobile



If you haven't heard of LycaMobile...It's a T-Mobile MNVO..

My AHD is Carrier Unlocked so I can use AT&T or T-Mobile, I got tired of paying 45+taxes for StraightTalk (AT&T) since I am mostly on wifi and don't really need the speed when I am not...
so i bought an unlock code and switched to Ultramobile last month because of their 19$ plan but they only give you 50mb of data
that was an issue for me and I didn't want to pay 39$ for their unlimited 2g when I could get GoSmart for 35$...
The other day I learned Lyca has the same plan as Gosmart but for 29$ (unlimited talk,text and 2g)

I waited too long to port my number from Ultra and lost it....
I've had Lyca service less then 2 hours and so far the only problem I had is their porting process,
It wasn't as fast as it was for me when I ported from other companies....
I've ported my number to and from a few companies and it always took less then 10 hours
I stupidly assumed 12 hours would be enough this time aswell,

Anyway 29$ sounds like a great deal I just hope I don't end up having issues with their service,
I figured I'd let people in the AHD section know about Lyca and post updates if I have any problems.
Maybe others have had experience with Lycamobile .

Apn settings i use

Name:lycamobile
APN:data.lycamobile.com
----------------------
Proxy:Not set
Port:Not set
Username:lmus
Password:lmus
Server:Not set
MMSC:Not set
MMS port:Not set
Auth Type:Not set
Apn Type:Not set


Update: 8/4/13

I've had lyca for almost 7 days now and at first I was having signal issues at home and it made it hard to have long text messages it was annoying, texts would get stuck at sending but seems good now after i went to Holoblur from Liquidsmooth.

Originally i thought lyca went to unlimited 2g after the first 50mb but turns out it's 3g.
To to be sure i downloaded a 100mb video last night, at 1.5-2mb which seems to be my average data speed on lyca since day 1... anyway i'm still getting 1.5-2mb on speedtest.net today so Lyca is even more worth it for me now that i know it's unlimited 3g instead of a slow 2g..

I used to use testmy.net in the browser but for some reason after i flashed holoblur 0.9 last night testmy.net says Forbidden.

So at the moment the only issue I have with Lyca is that they don't have mms but i can live with that if my data speeds stay at at least 800kbs.

I also forgot to backup my contacts when i flashed holoblur 0.9 last night , I had 2 contacts i had added that day...I am lucky Lyca keeps a call log online.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to skuly For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mister_Simon
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 147
Join Date: Jun 2013
Sounds good. Although do they have any 3G plans.
I don't mind a 250mb 3G plan vs unlimited 2G
 
diamond12
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 212
Join Date: Nov 2012
http://www.lycamobile.us/en/national-plans

It's a similar concept to T-Mobile's in that you get an allotment of 4G (3G) data and then it goes to 2G speed. Looks very interesting. Thinking of switching to their 1GB plan after I use up all my T-Mobile credit. The $20 credit for international calls is a winner for me. I assume there's no LTE,
 
skuly
Old
#4  
skuly's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
I just saw a guy handing out lycamobile booklets, I told him have the service we talked a minute..I mentioned my plan and 2g ..he claimed it goes to 3g after that 50mb of 4g...I hope that's true. 3g is like up to 800kbs or something iirc...so that would be great.
The Following User Says Thank You to skuly For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kwonic
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2013
That sounds like a pretty sweet phone plan. I might switch over to it once my contract ends. Do let us know if there are any problems you may run into.
 
skuly
Old
#6  
skuly's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
I've had lyca for almost 7 days now and at first I was having signal issues at home and it made it hard to have long text messages it was annoying, texts would get stuck at sending but seems good now after i went to Holoblur from Liquidsmooth.

And I hardly use data but i was pretty sure i had used more then 50mb, but to be sure i downloaded a 100mb video last night, at 1.5-2mb which seems to be my average data speed on lyca since day 1... anyway i'm still getting 1.5-2mb on speedtest.net today.. i used to use testmy.net but for some reason after i flashed holoblur 0.9 last night testmy.net says Forbidden.

So at the moment the only issue I have with Lyca is that they don't have mms but i can live with that if my data speeds stay at at least 800kbs.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to skuly For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skuly
Old
#7  
skuly's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
1 month of service and I'm happy so far, feels like as time goes by my service becomes more stable. The first 2 weeks I was losing service often and had problems sending texts and had a few calls drop.. but been good the past week or so.
 
diamond12
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 212
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gave them a try as well. I only used them temporarily to place international calls but the one time that I did it whle driving I didn't see any difference with the T-Mobile service. So far,
- Call quality to landlines in Europe was excellent.
- Call quality to cell phones in Europe was decent. On a single incidence the volume was too loud and it distorted. I don't think this was Lycamobile's problem.
- I can't get the online recharge to work. I enter all my info and at the end I get the message the transaction failed. I see the temporary authorization on my credit card, and it later goes away. I was only able to add credit by going to a local cell phone store.
- Customer service is in India. They are not allowed to request credit card information, so they couldn't do the recharge.
- Online customer service only got me the autorespond email and nothing after that.
- Calls (pay as you go) are charged at 20+ seconds longer than the call as timed by the phone itself.
- The sim card doesn't have the APN info for data. I didn't want to use data, so I didn't enter an APN.
- International roaming in Europe worked fine and at 46/min it beats AT&T and T-Mobile's $1.29, $1.39 or $1.79, and matches what European pay as you go carriers charge when roaming within Europe.

Given that I couldn't get any credit card to process on their website, I couldn't buy a sim card from their website either. One store sold them for $10, another for $5, and they go for 99 on eBay.

I think I'm going to try h2o next. Their $49/mo plans are very comparable: unlimited voice, domestic and international texts, 1GB data. Lycamoble gives $20 credit for international calls (1/min land-8/min cell in Europe) whereas h2o has unlimited landline (certain countries) and gives $40 credit for 20-30/min (in Europe) calls to cell phones. h2o also has mms but doesn't roam internationally.
 
skuly
Old
#9  
skuly's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
Lyca sends free sims. And the first time I called customer support the person sounded Indian but every time after that I have gotten customer support from the UK.
 
diamond12
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 212
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by skuly View Post
Lyca sends free sims. And the first time I called customer support the person sounded Indian but every time after that I have gotten customer support from the UK.
Sims are free but they charge $7 for shipping and handling.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes