Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,416 Members 39,878 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] return to stock help

Tip us?
 
brockyneo
Old
#1  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] return to stock help

Hi guys im returning to stock as it need a repair i just want to flash a stock rom and remove root and remove recocvery ect

I have s off and super cid (it was a branded vodafone cid)

Can i just flash any stock ruu and if so where can i get the latest uk version please

Thank you
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow
 
Jyotirdeb
Old
#2  
Jyotirdeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 246
Posts: 232
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in The Coal Capital Of India-Dhanbad
Quote:
Originally Posted by brockyneo View Post
Hi guys im returning to stock as it need a repair i just want to flash a stock rom and remove root and remove recocvery ect

I have s off and super cid (it was a branded vodafone cid)

Can i just flash any stock ruu and if so where can i get the latest uk version please

Thank you
You can flash any version.I would recommend to flash wwe version as it gets the updates first.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376
Don't say thanks hit thanks if I have helped.

Current Device:

S-OFF-Yes
Recovery:TWRP
Kernel:ElementalX
Rom:Android Revolution HD by Mike!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jyotirdeb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brockyneo
Old
#3  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyotirdeb View Post
You can flash any version.I would recommend to flash wwe version as it gets the updates first.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376
thanks for that dont suppose there is a stock uk RUU i can use or does it have to be done this way

thanks
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow
 
Jyotirdeb
Old
#4  
Jyotirdeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 246
Posts: 232
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in The Coal Capital Of India-Dhanbad
Quote:
Originally Posted by brockyneo View Post
thanks for that dont suppose there is a stock uk RUU i can use or does it have to be done this way

thanks
You see since you are S_OFF you can install wwe fw ie 1.54.401.5 and for ruu http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735235
But remember your mid should be 0P6B10000 and cid should be HTC__001 or supercid.
Don't say thanks hit thanks if I have helped.

Current Device:

S-OFF-Yes
Recovery:TWRP
Kernel:ElementalX
Rom:Android Revolution HD by Mike!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jyotirdeb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brockyneo
Old
#5  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyotirdeb View Post
You see since you are S_OFF you can install wwe fw ie 1.54.401.5 and for ruu http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735235
But remember your mid should be 0P6B10000 and cid should be HTC__001 or supercid.
Hi sorry what is mid? The phone was Vodafone branded I want to leave s off and super cid

I just want to flash the latest stock room and stock recovery and remove root

Sorry just a bit of noob as I'm use to Samsung where you just flash via odin. Lol

Thanks
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow
 
BerndM14
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 521
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by brockyneo View Post
Hi sorry what is mid? The phone was Vodafone branded I want to leave s off and super cid

I just want to flash the latest stock room and stock recovery and remove root

Sorry just a bit of noob as I'm use to Samsung where you just flash via odin. Lol

Thanks
Vodafone UK? What was the original CID and Version number? VODAP001 and x.xx.161.x ?

COLLECTION of Stock backup's has nandroid backups for both 1.12.161.17 and 1.54.161.5 . The stock recovery is also at that thread though it's only for the 1.54.161.5.

I see it's TWRP nandroid backups though, so hopefully you already have TWRP recovery on. Then just download the nandroid backups, unzip it into the SD card backup folder for TWRP i.e TWRP/Backups/serialnum/ Just replace serialnum with your device serial number and restore nandroid backup. It'll then take you to 1.54.161.5 if there's a new OTA for it then just apply and you have latest then. Just make sure to flash back stock recovery before you attempt OTA.
 
brockyneo
Old
#7  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
Vodafone UK? What was the original CID and Version number? VODAP001 and x.xx.161.x ?

COLLECTION of Stock backup's has nandroid backups for both 1.12.161.17 and 1.54.161.5 . The stock recovery is also at that thread though it's only for the 1.54.161.5.

I see it's TWRP nandroid backups though, so hopefully you already have TWRP recovery on. Then just download the nandroid backups, unzip it into the SD card backup folder for TWRP i.e TWRP/Backups/serialnum/ Just replace serialnum with your device serial number and restore nandroid backup. It'll then take you to 1.54.161.5 if there's a new OTA for it then just apply and you have latest then. Just make sure to flash back stock recovery before you attempt OTA.
ya think it was that i was after going back to a unbranded stock rom and stock recovery and no root
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow
 
brockyneo
Old
#8  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
basically should i be able to flash any stock rom and matching stock recovery (with having super cid and s off) and be back to stock to recieve OTA ect even though the m8 use to be vodafone branded

thanks
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow
 
BerndM14
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 521
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by brockyneo View Post
basically should i be able to flash any stock rom and matching stock recovery (with having super cid and s off) and be back to stock to recieve OTA ect even though the m8 use to be vodafone branded

thanks
Yeah you can basically "convert" it to any though you probably won't always get the OTA updates. You'll probably have to end up flashing the OTA update's .zip file from within RUU. I think you'll be fine for OTA's if you do it for example, dev edition, unlock edition, international WWE version, they get updates from HTC itself, the carrier specific OTA's will probably have to be flashed. I say probably because I haven't converted to and from any carrier specific device myself.

But yeah, if you're S-OFF and supercid you can flash just about anything. Careful though... Else the next thread we'll be discussing in is "HELP!!! I THINK I BRICKED MY PHONE!!!!!!"
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brockyneo
Old
#10  
brockyneo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 284
Posts: 2,631
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In The Matrix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
Yeah you can basically "convert" it to any though you probably won't always get the OTA updates. You'll probably have to end up flashing the OTA update's .zip file from within RUU. I think you'll be fine for OTA's if you do it for example, dev edition, unlock edition, international WWE version, they get updates from HTC itself, the carrier specific OTA's will probably have to be flashed. I say probably because I haven't converted to and from any carrier specific device myself.

But yeah, if you're S-OFF and supercid you can flash just about anything. Careful though... Else the next thread we'll be discussing in is "HELP!!! I THINK I BRICKED MY PHONE!!!!!!"
lol thanks ya all i want to do is flash a unbranded wwe stock rom and stock recovery and have the ability to have OTA updates when available (im not bothered about leaving s off or super cid)

so can i follow this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8&postcount=88

thanks guys sorry for sounding noob just completely different way to what im use too
Sig pic thanks to betoNL

Its not what you think you know its what you know you know

Live today Flash tomorrow

The Following User Says Thank You to brockyneo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes