Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 51,182 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fastboot no devices, adb working

Tip us?
 
qwahchees
Old
#1  
qwahchees's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto
Default Fastboot no devices, adb working

Title saids it all.

I have the driver loaded (ASUS Sync), and in Devices it's "TF300 Bootloader" or whatever. I can use adb devices and the device shows up, but fastboot doesn't detect it. What's wrong?
 
funnel71
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 810
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwahchees View Post
Title saids it all.

I have the driver loaded (ASUS Sync), and in Devices it's "TF300 Bootloader" or whatever. I can use adb devices and the device shows up, but fastboot doesn't detect it. What's wrong?
Sorry to ask the obvious but are you in USB bootloader mode when you try? If you're on jb and you have adb access, type adb reboot-bootloader. When the 4 icons show on your tablet press vol down until the USB icon is highlighted then press vol up. After a few seconds you should be able to use fastboot.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using xda app-developers app
 
qwahchees
Old
#3  
qwahchees's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 380
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto
LOL, yeah im on bootloader mode. :3
 
imp3r10
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 105
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwahchees View Post
LOL, yeah im on bootloader mode. :3
Im currently having the same problem, anyone know of a fix?

---------- Post added at 01:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:13 PM ----------

apparently this

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/27005-tro...load-protocol/
Verizon SGS3 White CM10 Nightlies
 
Noyankees44
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have this same problem, but no remedy.

Ok so i have unlocked my device, installed SDK and asus drivers(several times).

ADB commands work fine, but my computer will not recognize the tablet in fastboot. I go into fastboot, and the "download protocol" message appears. I plug it in and then windows gives a message about the not being able to recognize the device. It just shows up as "unknown device" in the manager. It will not respond to any fastboot commands. I cannot flash a recovery.

I have tried directing it to drivers, but nothing seems to work.

Someone please help me see what i am missing. I have been trying for hours

Also i am on JB latest firmware...
 
okrasitna
Old
#6  
okrasitna's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 266
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: saint girons
Default Re: Fastboot no devices, adb working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noyankees44 View Post
I have this same problem, but no remedy.

Ok so i have unlocked my device, installed SDK and asus drivers(several times).

ADB commands work fine, but my computer will not recognize the tablet in fastboot. I go into fastboot, and the "download protocol" message appears. I plug it in and then windows gives a message about the not being able to recognize the device. It just shows up as "unknown device" in the manager. It will not respond to any fastboot commands. I cannot flash a recovery.

I have tried directing it to drivers, but nothing seems to work.

Someone please help me see what i am missing. I have been trying for hours

Also i am on JB latest firmware...
Googledriver installed

Launch SDk manager and check

Envoyé depuis mon ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T avec Tapatalk
 
Noyankees44
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by okrasitna View Post
Googledriver installed

Launch SDk manager and check

Envoyé depuis mon ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T avec Tapatalk
Yes just uninstalled and reinstalled again
 
kirankumar.g
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thumbs up Fastboot requires SUDO/Administrator permissions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noyankees44 View Post
Yes just uninstalled and reinstalled again
I am able to communicate in fastboot mode
Use fastboot with SUDO (in Linux)

Similarly in windows use fastboot as administrator.
 
cybertlc
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 105
Join Date: Dec 2010
I was having the same problem as others where I couldn't get recovery to update to TWRP. All commands sent correctly and were accepted but it would always boot into the Cyanogen Simple Recovery and not TWRP. I had to do what someone suggested:

Open settings > developer options. Then look for an option that says 'Update recovery with system updates' and disable it.

Then when that was disabled, flash recovery again and it worked just fine.

You should add this option into the instructions as it's required on this phone to disable that option in order to flash recovery to TWRP.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes