FORUMS

Fastboot no devices, adb working

402 posts
Thanks Meter: 59
 
By qwahchees, Senior Member on 8th September 2012, 11:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Title saids it all.

I have the driver loaded (ASUS Sync), and in Devices it's "TF300 Bootloader" or whatever. I can use adb devices and the device shows up, but fastboot doesn't detect it. What's wrong?
 
 
9th September 2012, 03:29 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwahchees

Title saids it all.

I have the driver loaded (ASUS Sync), and in Devices it's "TF300 Bootloader" or whatever. I can use adb devices and the device shows up, but fastboot doesn't detect it. What's wrong?

Sorry to ask the obvious but are you in USB bootloader mode when you try? If you're on jb and you have adb access, type adb reboot-bootloader. When the 4 icons show on your tablet press vol down until the USB icon is highlighted then press vol up. After a few seconds you should be able to use fastboot.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to funnel71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th September 2012, 05:28 PM |#3  
qwahchees's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
LOL, yeah im on bootloader mode. :3
17th November 2012, 07:14 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwahchees

LOL, yeah im on bootloader mode. :3

Im currently having the same problem, anyone know of a fix?

---------- Post added at 01:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:13 PM ----------

apparently this

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/27005-tro...load-protocol/
21st January 2013, 06:49 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I have this same problem, but no remedy.

Ok so i have unlocked my device, installed SDK and asus drivers(several times).

ADB commands work fine, but my computer will not recognize the tablet in fastboot. I go into fastboot, and the "download protocol" message appears. I plug it in and then windows gives a message about the not being able to recognize the device. It just shows up as "unknown device" in the manager. It will not respond to any fastboot commands. I cannot flash a recovery.

I have tried directing it to drivers, but nothing seems to work.

Someone please help me see what i am missing. I have been trying for hours

Also i am on JB latest firmware...
21st January 2013, 02:57 PM |#6  
okrasitna's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag saint girons
Thanks Meter: 40
 
More
Re: Fastboot no devices, adb working
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noyankees44

I have this same problem, but no remedy.

Ok so i have unlocked my device, installed SDK and asus drivers(several times).

ADB commands work fine, but my computer will not recognize the tablet in fastboot. I go into fastboot, and the "download protocol" message appears. I plug it in and then windows gives a message about the not being able to recognize the device. It just shows up as "unknown device" in the manager. It will not respond to any fastboot commands. I cannot flash a recovery.

I have tried directing it to drivers, but nothing seems to work.

Someone please help me see what i am missing. I have been trying for hours

Also i am on JB latest firmware...

Googledriver installed

Launch SDk manager and check

Envoyé depuis mon ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T avec Tapatalk
21st January 2013, 05:32 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okrasitna

Googledriver installed

Launch SDk manager and check

Envoyé depuis mon ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T avec Tapatalk

Yes just uninstalled and reinstalled again
17th March 2013, 04:53 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Fastboot requires SUDO/Administrator permissions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noyankees44

Yes just uninstalled and reinstalled again

I am able to communicate in fastboot mode
Use fastboot with SUDO (in Linux)

Similarly in windows use fastboot as administrator.
29th June 2014, 01:41 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I was having the same problem as others where I couldn't get recovery to update to TWRP. All commands sent correctly and were accepted but it would always boot into the Cyanogen Simple Recovery and not TWRP. I had to do what someone suggested:

Open settings > developer options. Then look for an option that says 'Update recovery with system updates' and disable it.

Then when that was disabled, flash recovery again and it worked just fine.

You should add this option into the instructions as it's required on this phone to disable that option in order to flash recovery to TWRP.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes