Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,151 Members 51,137 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] I can't update via OTA

Tip us?
 
daga2448
Old
(Last edited by daga2448; 28th June 2014 at 09:06 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Post [Q] I can't update via OTA

Hello everyone
I want to update mi htc one via OTA but when the phone reboots enter to teamwin recovery i want to know how to updateit my firmware version is 1.12.599.20
Thank you and sorry for my bad english
 
BerndM14
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by daga2448 View Post
when the phone reboots enter to teamwin recovery
Enough said. You need stock recovery to do OTA.
 
alwin006
Old
#3  
alwin006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: French Caribbean
Try to locate OTA file and flash it manually
HTC One M8 16GB - Stock (S-Off - Rooted - EU Stock ROM - CID HTC__203 )
 
daga2448
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
Enough said. You need stock recovery to do OTA.
how do i install stock recovery without lossing root??
 
BerndM14
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by daga2448 View Post
how do i install stock recovery without lossing root??
You won't lose root if you have stock recovery.

Do you even have a stock recovery? If so, just place it inside the adb folder, open the command prompt change directory to adb folder, boot into bootloader mode and type fastboot flash recovery name_of_recovery.img The same way you probably got custom recovery onto the device.

Won't lose root because of stock recovery. You'll lose root because of the OTA though, but even then it's easy enough to regain root. You can then either flash back the custom recovery OR boot the custom recovery. I'd suggesting booting the custom recovery that way you can make a nandroid backup of the updated system before you flash anything again.

fastboot boot custom_recovery_name.img If you're using TWRP then it probably won't make a backup of the stock recovery, CWM/Philz will work better for the nandroid. After you made a backup(If you choose to make a backup, again strongly suggested) then you can flash a custom recovery again.
 
ashyx
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 282
Join Date: Oct 2012
Was it really necessary to post in a massive font?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes