Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,659 Members 44,457 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Activate & Unlock International GSM for Unactivated Sprint Galaxy S5

Tip us?
 
ignaciogh
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default [Q] Activate & Unlock International GSM for Unactivated Sprint Galaxy S5

Hello everyone!

Im Argentinian and bought by accident a Sprint Galaxy S5 (no contract) on Amazon instead of buying a factory unlocked version.

The thing is I live in Argentina and it seems I have to activate the phone with Sprint in order to use it.

IŽd like to know:
1) what is this activation process? is it really necesary? I ovbiously cant do it from Argentina.
2) i need to use the phone with an argentinian carrier, gsm. is there any process to allow it? Currently the phone says "Invalid SIM Card".

Thanks in advance!
 
2nIce
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ignaciogh View Post
Hello everyone!

Im Argentinian and bought by accident a Sprint Galaxy S5 (no contract) on Amazon instead of buying a factory unlocked version.

The thing is I live in Argentina and it seems I have to activate the phone with Sprint in order to use it.

IŽd like to know:
1) what is this activation process? is it really necesary? I ovbiously cant do it from Argentina.
2) i need to use the phone with an argentinian carrier, gsm. is there any process to allow it? Currently the phone says "Invalid SIM Card".

Thanks in advance!
Hello there
I have got a question for you, I am myself am curious to find out if this phone can be unlocked for use aborad.
My question to you, when you put in your foreign card, do you get a window prompting you to Enter an Unlock Code??
Do let me know
 
bryanu
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2010
If you paid full non-contract price for it Sprint will give you the unlock code, though not sure if they will make you activate it first :/

That said, if you've not activated it the phone is still considered new. Have you checked if Amazon will allow you to exchange it?
 
Epix4G
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1034
Posts: 2,634
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanu View Post
If you paid full non-contract price for it Sprint will give you the unlock code, though not sure if they will make you activate it first :/

That said, if you've not activated it the phone is still considered new. Have you checked if Amazon will allow you to exchange it?
If it's like the note 3 ....there is no unlock code you have to have sprint unlock it ....it's even encrypted and have to be done through international dept ....they have learned their lesson from s4 and htc one .... it's not a easy one

Sent from my SM-G900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
 
ignaciogh
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2nIce View Post
Hello there
I have got a question for you, I am myself am curious to find out if this phone can be unlocked for use aborad.
My question to you, when you put in your foreign card, do you get a window prompting you to Enter an Unlock Code??
Do let me know
No, I dont get that promp. It just says "Invalid SIM Card".
 
ignaciogh
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G View Post
If it's like the note 3 ....there is no unlock code you have to have sprint unlock it ....it's even encrypted and have to be done through international dept ....they have learned their lesson from s4 and htc one .... it's not a easy one

Sent from my SM-G900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
I asked in this thread. Someone told me to try that.

Are you saying Sprint Note 3 is impossible to unlock?

Im starting to think my only chance is getting the phone to the US (i have family there), activate it with a prepaid SIM card, wait 90 days and them unlock it for international usage.

Do you know if for the international unlock part the phone needs to be in the US?

Thanks!
 
Epix4G
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1034
Posts: 2,634
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignaciogh View Post
I asked in this thread. Someone told me to try that.

Are you saying Sprint Note 3 is impossible to unlock?

Im starting to think my only chance is getting the phone to the US (i have family there), activate it with a prepaid SIM card, wait 90 days and them unlock it for international usage.

Do you know if for the international unlock part the phone needs to be in the US?

Thanks!
I know it's done over the air ...I was told they have to manually release the imei in their system and then the ota is encrypted and it's stored in nv ram in phone ... so far there is no way to unlock note 3 without sprint doing it

Sent from my SM-G900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
 
eyecon82
Old
#8  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1649
Posts: 2,235
Join Date: May 2010
call sprint and ask for their world/international department

some give you crap saying you need to own the phone for a certain amount of time, but just ask for a supervisor and they will put in an unlock request code for you

you can also reach the international dept via chat at www.sprint.com/chat

just use a VPN and connect to the USA so they think you are in the states
 
xxdjhugoxx
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G View Post
If it's like the note 3 ....there is no unlock code you have to have sprint unlock it ....it's even encrypted and have to be done through international dept ....they have learned their lesson from s4 and htc one .... it's not a easy one

Sent from my SM-G900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2


whats the code for the note3?
 
jodhaaa
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2014
any luck with unlocking the phone?

Tags
galaxy s5, samsung, sprint, unactivated, unlock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more

Convert PNGs into RLEs Easily on Any OS with PNG2RLE

Unlike other operating systems, Android uses its own graphical image formats. Most of … more