Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,129 Members 45,749 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Changing LCD density

Tip us?
 
ccelis
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] Changing LCD density

Hi,

Im about to buy this phone in a day or two. Just wondering if anyone has changed LCD density to about 400? Just want to make sure the stock rom is able to handle it. Thanks
 
scpion
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 311
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccelis View Post
Hi,

Im about to buy this phone in a day or two. Just wondering if anyone has changed LCD density to about 400? Just want to make sure the stock rom is able to handle it. Thanks
I doubt so.. Just few days ago I changed it to 320 and after reboot, constant fc and I can't do anything. End up sent it back to Lg.... Problem with our handset is there is no custom recovery to fall back to.
 
ccelis
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2010
Hi thanks for the feedback. Currently my Optimus G Pro also FC's the system on anything under 400, but is working perfectly on 400dpi so I'm wondering if anyone has tried. It's actually going to make me decide if I want to go on and buy the G Pro 2. If not I might just get the G2, or save up for the G3. Thanks
 
slammer1
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 39
Join Date: Nov 2012
Have mine set at 430, running great

Sent from my LG-F350S using Tapatalk
 
Turtle_Cookies
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
I have my G Pro 2 running at 355 dpi, any lower and the SystemUI will constantly crash so you'll have to flash the system again like I did once. I wouldn't suggest any lower than 350 dpi or you'll run into problems.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-10-41-57.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	2826299  
 
scpion
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 311
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtle_Cookies View Post
I have my G Pro 2 running at 355 dpi, any lower and the SystemUI will constantly crash so you'll have to flash the system again like I did once. I wouldn't suggest any lower than 350 dpi or you'll run into problems.
That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.
 
Turtle_Cookies
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion View Post
That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.
Yeah the apps that didn't work properly were the camera, music app, music widget and sometimes the quick settings in the notification panel
 
ccelis
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion View Post
That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.
I use xposed app settings to set the stock apps only back to 480.

Sent from my LG-F240L
The Following User Says Thank You to ccelis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mobilezonerm
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 36
Join Date: Dec 2007
what app you use to change density?
i have try build.prop editor but the phone back to stock density value when reboot, whit lcd density pro i haved a kernel panic and i haved to restore whit tot (for both of software i have set 355, and the phone is rooted).
thank

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes