FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Galaxy S4 i337m Telcel unable to SIM unlock via Service Menu

932 posts
Thanks Meter: 194
 
By Segnale007, Senior Member on 23rd February 2014, 02:57 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello guys, I have been going madness today trying to unlock my gf's Telcel Mexico Galaxy S4 i337m.
I initially tried from the stock branded rom but I couldn't pass the first page in *#0011#. So I decided to debrand it using a Samsung stock fw I337MVLUEMK6.

Unfortunately even with the debranded rom I have gotten the same result, unable pass the first page in *#0011# no matter how many times I would hit back, and the option 1 or whatever makes no difference.

At that point I stumbled upon this thread and I decided to give it a shot, however no go with this method either, probably wasn't even the point of my situation.

So at this point my questions are, is there another method beside buying an unlock code to get this phone unlocked? If anyone of you who has had luck unlocking the phone with this method would pass me it's HiddenMenu.apk, would it work if I sideload it onto my gf's S4?

Thanks
Last edited by Segnale007; 24th February 2014 at 04:30 PM.
 
 
23rd February 2014, 03:55 PM |#2  
Segnale007's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mexico City
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Any help??
23rd February 2014, 09:11 PM |#3  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 707
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segnale007

Hello guys, I have been going madness today trying to unlock my gf's Telcel Mexico Galaxy S4 i337m.
I initially tried from the stock branded rom but I couldn't pass the first page in *#0011#. So I decided to debrand it using a Samsung stock fw I337MVLUEMK6.

Unfortunately even with the debranded rom I have gotten the same result, unable pass the first page in *#0011# no matter how many times I would hit back, and the option 1 or whatever makes no difference.

At that point I stumbled upon this thread and I decided to give it a shot, however no go with this method either, probably wasn't even the point of my situation.

So at this point my questions are, is there another method beside buying an unlock code to get this phone unlocked? If anyone of you who has had luck unlocking the phone with this method would pass me it's HiddenMenu.apk, would it work if I sideload it onto my gf's S4?

Thanks

You have to flash an earlier modem to either let you get to the hidden menu or that will work with an app called RegionLock Away. AFAIK that's the only way to do it. Do a search, some people have asked and figured it out but i have the I337 so it's different for me.
23rd February 2014, 09:19 PM |#4  
Segnale007's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mexico City
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

You have to flash an earlier modem to either let you get to the hidden menu or that will work with an app called RegionLock Away. AFAIK that's the only way to do it. Do a search, some people have asked and figured it out but i have the I337 so it's different for me.

Thank you for the answer.. I had somehow figured that out but I wasn't sure. On to this thread it is stated that they have achieved to successfully unlock their S4's through Hidden Service Menu with the MF3 OTA fw.

At this point my question is, can I go with the modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) baseband found on this thread and flashing it over the stock fw I337MVLUEMK6 ?

As far as I know the modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) baseband is a 4.2.2 while I337MVLUEMK6 is a 4.3 version, so I just want to make sure it won't brick the device.

Apart from that, the two phones should be identical right? Like I said this one is a i337m Telcel one from Mexico, while modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) should be AT&T right?

Thanks
24th February 2014, 05:50 AM |#5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 707
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segnale007

Thank you for the answer.. I had somehow figured that out but I wasn't sure. On to this thread it is stated that they have achieved to successfully unlock their S4's through Hidden Service Menu with the MF3 OTA fw.

At this point my question is, can I go with the modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) baseband found on this thread and flashing it over the stock fw I337MVLUEMK6 ?

As far as I know the modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) baseband is a 4.2.2 while I337MVLUEMK6 is a 4.3 version, so I just want to make sure it won't brick the device.

Apart from that, the two phones should be identical right? Like I said this one is a i337m Telcel one from Mexico, while modem_CWM_I337UCUAMF3.zip(7/9/2013)(US) should be AT&T right?

Thanks

You can't flash that one, but you should be able to flash one of older ones. You are right in that that modem is for the AT&T one, and that means it actually won't work for you. You'll have to flash one that has I337M instead of I337U. Besides that, you should be good.
24th February 2014, 04:29 PM |#6  
Segnale007's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mexico City
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

You can't flash that one, but you should be able to flash one of older ones. You are right in that that modem is for the AT&T one, and that means it actually won't work for you. You'll have to flash one that has I337M instead of I337U. Besides that, you should be good.

Thanks for your reply once again.. In fact as you have said I tried the I337U AT&T version and obviously I didn't have any GSM/UMTS signal, so I went with the modem_CWM_I337MUMUAMDL.zip{5/30/2013}(Mexico) and I can finally get into the Services Menu, I can do the whole unlock process listed here, however once the phone reboots the result is the same, S4 doesn't read any different simcard beside the one it is locked on, which is Telcel.

Any idea? Is there a specific baseband version that does this trick on i337m? Additionally, is there a website where I can find all kinds of baseband versions for the i337m?

Thanks
24th February 2014, 10:13 PM |#7  
Member
Flag tirana
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
hidden menu 0011 on MDL
hi to all, this is my first post,
a few min ago i unlock my gs4 by this CODE *#0011#.
the phone is ranning stock 4.3.
baseband I337MUMUAMDB2
build number I337MUMUEMK6

first the code doesnt work, but searching and searching and searching and searching and searching and searching and .
I got something only the telcel baseband MDL I think.
i flash it by odin but the first baseband doesnt change!!!!!! WTF....
flash it by CWM and again the first baseband doesnt change!!!!!! WTF.... AGAIN. I thought im in trouble because 350$ .
but but but, god help me to try to put in the code again *#0011#....

and WTF its work yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ...
so maybe this will work for you too.... thanks to all.
GOD HELP YOU
2nd July 2014, 03:14 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I337m Telcel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segnale007

Hello guys, I have been going madness today trying to unlock my gf's Telcel Mexico Galaxy S4 i337m.
I initially tried from the stock branded rom but I couldn't pass the first page in *#0011#. So I decided to debrand it using a Samsung stock fw I337MVLUEMK6.

Unfortunately even with the debranded rom I have gotten the same result, unable pass the first page in *#0011# no matter how many times I would hit back, and the option 1 or whatever makes no difference.

At that point I stumbled upon this thread and I decided to give it a shot, however no go with this method either, probably wasn't even the point of my situation.

So at this point my questions are, is there another method beside buying an unlock code to get this phone unlocked? If anyone of you who has had luck unlocking the phone with this method would pass me it's HiddenMenu.apk, would it work if I sideload it onto my gf's S4?

Thanks

Hi, im from Tijuana i also have that smartPhone and was having the same problem, what i did and it worked for me was to install this firmware

http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=27549

From sammobile it is the Telcel oficial with JB 4.3 then i put my Movistar chip and it work..

Saludos...
7th July 2014, 11:14 PM |#9  
Member
Flag México City
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Yeah, there's a new firmware from samsung that unlocks phones by default.

I've tested it with that exact same one.
I did a previous downgrade to 4.2 tho.

Using that 4.2 firmware, and the *#0011# code, didn't work for me.

So, I returned to the stock branded 4.3, placed a Movistar SIM, and boom! unlocked.
Didn't work too good because of the ugly 4.3 Telcel branded firmware, but at least it's unlocked.

After that I decided to install Goldeneye ROM, and the phone was carrier locked again.
The developer told me that a proper unlock method would be needed to achieve unlocking.

I managed to make a nandroid backup of Telcel's firmware, and Goldeneye ROM, and:
- inserted SIM different from telcel to the phone, booted into Telcel's firmware a couple of times and got it working
- flashed the Goldeneye ROM and retained the unlocking.

the only thing is:
if you ever place a Telcel SIM, the lock will return.

So far I've managed to keep it working once (2 full weeks) without problems.

Yesterday I tried to do it again, and every once in a while the SIM lock returns.

-------------
In other news, anyone knows how to flash other ROM than Telcel's and that buggy 4.2 I found?

Every single ROM I try to flash through ODIN gives me an error, and won't let me flash.

I've tried all these with no results:
I337MUMUENB1_I337MUUBENC1_TTT.zip
I9505XXUENAA_I9505YXXENA7_PHE.zip <--- thankfully that didn't let me flash, it was for a 9505 ::V
I337MVLUAMG1_I337MOYAAMG1_BMC.zip
I337MVLUEMK6_I337MOYAEMK6_PCM.zip
I337MVLUEMK6_I337MOYAEMK6_SPC.zip
14th November 2015, 10:51 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segnale007

Hello guys, I have been going madness today trying to unlock my gf's Telcel Mexico Galaxy S4 i337m.
I initially tried from the stock branded rom but I couldn't pass the first page in *#0011#. So I decided to debrand it using a Samsung stock fw I337MVLUEMK6.

Unfortunately even with the debranded rom I have gotten the same result, unable pass the first page in *#0011# no matter how many times I would hit back, and the option 1 or whatever makes no difference.

At that point I stumbled upon this thread and I decided to give it a shot, however no go with this method either, probably wasn't even the point of my situation.

So at this point my questions are, is there another method beside buying an unlock code to get this phone unlocked? If anyone of you who has had luck unlocking the phone with this method would pass me it's HiddenMenu.apk, would it work if I sideload it onto my gf's S4?

Thanks

With stock ROM 4.4.2 Telcel I've been able to..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes