Post Reply

Check and post your Panel ID/Manufacturer (ROOT Needed)

20th September 2013, 10:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Let's try and check if Sony is indeed using various panels for the Z1.


Root is needed to check panel ID.


Download and install this app


Its recommended you perform a reboot before proceeding


Then type the following command in Terminal

- su
- dmesg|grep -i panel


Look for "Found panel: mipi_video_********_Full_HD_******"

Eg- Found panel: mipi_video_jdc_Full_HD_mdy70

Along with panel ID & manufacturer also post your general views on the screen and also how good the viewing angles are.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to randomuseresato For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 11:10 AM   |  #2  
josephnero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sanford NC
Thanks Meter: 505
 
1,625 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
we need more dudes with rooted phones,plz reply guyz
PS:good to see you here Ramu
20th September 2013, 11:40 AM   |  #3  
fallenwout's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Maybe add device serial number. Dunno about sony but with htc you can figure out the manufacturing date
20th September 2013, 12:00 PM   |  #4  
gm007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,414
 
4,944 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Try this app,no root required,it's in Xperia Z forum
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=206

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium
20th September 2013, 12:04 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm007

Try this app,no root required,it's in Xperia Z forum
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=206

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium

That app doesn't work for Z1 as Z1 doesn't use a Sharp/JDC panel. Already tried.
20th September 2013, 12:07 PM   |  #6  
gm007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,414
 
4,944 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomuseresato

That app doesn't work for Z1 as Z1 doesn't use a Sharp/JDC panel. Already tried.

Ah ok,
Contact the dev maybe he can build it for Z1,that will be easier without root.

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to gm007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 02:37 PM   |  #7  
Dpk1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomuseresato

That app doesn't work for Z1 as Z1 doesn't use a Sharp/JDC panel. Already tried.

+1. Tried myself too, doesn't work. However I'm pretty much sure I could see the panel type somewhere in the service menu on XZ (for e.g I could see "mdy70" mentioned somewhere), but can't recall where exactly? Also checked the build prop, but can't say (esp. when I don't know what I'm looking for?). Maybe someone can develop an app like the one for XZ which needs no root .
20th September 2013, 04:16 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
The only line i got that matches somewhat is:
Quote:

Panel name = renesas sharp 1080p video mode dsi panel

Doesnt sound good right ?
20th September 2013, 04:20 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingcool88

The only line i got that matches somewhat is:

Doesnt sound good right ?

You have a Sharp panel.

How are the viewing angles?
20th September 2013, 04:23 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomuseresato

You have a Sharp panel.

How are the viewing angles?

Not so very good. But not something that matters for me.
This is not the "best" display for the Z1 right? Its "leftovers" from the Z if im reading it right?

That feels not so good, as i paid for the best display and got an old..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 General by ThreadRank