Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more

UX Design in Apps and ROMs w/ Kevin Bruckert – BABBQ2014

This year’s Big Android BBQ has come and gone. While the whole event was … more

Bring Material Design Goodness to Your App with Support Library

At Google I/O 2014, the next iteration of Android was announced and … more
Post Reply

Tizen USA no Samsung apps?

OP jmdearras

30th June 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I loaded the Great Britain tizen on my Gear, and all works, except the gear manager shows a blank screen for samsung app. Is this normal? are there any apps to sideload, and how do you do that?

Thanks!
Jim
30th June 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #2  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
No that's not normal. What build version did you flash?

There's no sideloading because it's Tizen based not android. Unless someone knows of Tizen apps not on the market.
30th June 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

No that's not normal. What build version did you flash?

There's no sideloading because it's Tizen based not android. Unless someone knows of Tizen apps not on the market.

BTU V700XXUCNE9

I did not do anything to gear manager but relink to the watch.

Thanks for any help!
30th June 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Phone is Galaxy note 3 running 4.4.2
30th June 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #5  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
You might have a bad download, or flash of NE9. Try downloading and re-flashing again. Or you can possibly download and flash the latest update ending with NF1.
30th June 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

You might have a bad download, or flash of NE9. Try downloading and re-flashing again. Or you can possibly download and flash the latest update ending with NF1.

OK, I'll try it. All I did was use odid v3.09 in defaults to flash over the android os. Could I have missed any steps?

I'll put the canadian (XAC) NF1 on it tonight,
30th June 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #7  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
I believe you did everything right. It's a simple process. Sometimes file downloads can be corrupt. I had one that kicked my butt for 2 days. I downloaded and it was fine.

Try the Canadian NF1 and see what happens. It's the one I'm on with my note 3 and all is well.
30th June 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

I believe you did everything right. It's a simple process. Sometimes file downloads can be corrupt. I had one that kicked my butt for 2 days. I downloaded and it was fine.

Try the Canadian NF1 and see what happens. It's the one I'm on with my note 3 and all is well.

OK, thanks. It's just strange the error shows up on the gear manager, the watch is solid. should you remove the watch from gear manager before the update?
30th June 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #9  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
It's a good idea to do a complete fresh install and pairing. So when the gear connects uncheck the restore box so it doesn't try to reload old android apps.
30th June 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag RIchmond, Virginia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

It's a good idea to do a complete fresh install and pairing. So when the gear connects uncheck the restore box so it doesn't try to reload old android apps.

define "fresh install"? I cannot uninstall gear manager. I did uncheck the restore box.

Thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes