Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Need help, "Can't mount sdcard"

OP brownbuffalo

29th June 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hi all, I'm a really novice rooter with the HTC One M7 for Verizon.

I know I'm S-Off with HBOOT 1.56,
and all of a sudden my phone just automatically boots into CWM Recovery.

I've tried loading old recoveries, old zip files, and the response is always
"Can't mount sdcard."

Again, although I'm rooted, I'm pretty much a novice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hoping I didnt' lose this phone.
29th June 2014, 06:19 AM   |  #2  
tflogic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownbuffalo

Hi all, I'm a really novice rooter with the HTC One M7 for Verizon.

I know I'm S-Off with HBOOT 1.56,
and all of a sudden my phone just automatically boots into CWM Recovery.

I've tried loading old recoveries, old zip files, and the response is always
"Can't mount sdcard."

Again, although I'm rooted, I'm pretty much a novice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hoping I didnt' lose this phone.

Bricking your phone is near impossible nowadays. I wouldn't fret too much.

Are you sure that you're flashing ROMs and recoveries meant for the m7vzw (HTC One for Verizon) and not just the regular m7 (normal HTC One)?

If you're sure that you're flashing for m7zw, have you tried flashing a new recovery through fastboot? i.e.
Code:
fastboot flash recovery newrecoveryname.img
Last edited by tflogic; 29th June 2014 at 06:23 AM.
30th June 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #3  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,592
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
I would ruu. Then set up your favorite recovery and Rom. Start fresh. It will wipe everything so back up your files.
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2014, 10:10 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tflogic

Bricking your phone is near impossible nowadays. I wouldn't fret too much.

Are you sure that you're flashing ROMs and recoveries meant for the m7vzw (HTC One for Verizon) and not just the regular m7 (normal HTC One)?

If you're sure that you're flashing for m7zw, have you tried flashing a new recovery through fastboot? i.e.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery newrecoveryname.img


I'm running CWM recovery, which says that I can't mount the SD Card.
I then tried what you suggested, installed twrp recovery, and now I'm stuck in a reboot loop with the htc screen.

I'm not sure what to do now.
2nd July 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #5  
tflogic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownbuffalo

I'm running CWM recovery, which says that I can't mount the SD Card.
I then tried what you suggested, installed twrp recovery, and now I'm stuck in a reboot loop with the htc screen.

I'm not sure what to do now.

Have you tried RUUing like what Brymaster suggested?
2nd July 2014, 02:43 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 583
 
1,820 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
After installing twrp did you flash a Rom. Because if there is no Rom loaded it will just bootloop

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
2nd July 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tflogic

Have you tried RUUing like what Brymaster suggested?


I can't seem to find a working RUU file for the Verizon m7
2nd July 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Jedi

After installing twrp did you flash a Rom. Because if there is no Rom loaded it will just bootloop

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

I'm trying to flash a rom but can't get adb to recognize my phone in sideload mode. Feeling really stuck at this point
2nd July 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 583
 
1,820 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
You have a otg cable to put a Rom on a stick then flash that way. So no Rom on your phone at all?

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
2nd July 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #10  
tflogic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownbuffalo

I can't seem to find a working RUU file for the Verizon m7

Did you try this thread?

The Following User Says Thank You to tflogic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes