Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,793 Members 41,976 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Did the Hermes Unlocker work for you?
Yes, perfectly! 288 61.02%
No, but I didn't read the thread. 20 4.24%
No, I have bootloader 1.06 / 1.09 and can't downgrade. 164 34.75%
Voters: 472. You may not vote on this poll

Free HTC Hermes SIM & CID Unlocker Available (v2a)

Tip us?
 
pof
Old
(Last edited by pof; 14th November 2006 at 02:25 AM.) Reason: released v2a (fixes bugs!)
#1  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 3,571
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barcelona

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up Free HTC Hermes SIM & CID Unlocker Available (v2a)

This is a patched radio ROM that can be used to remove the Operator SIM lock and CID lock from HTC Hermes based telephones.

It can be used in all HTC Hermes devices, the only restriction is that the device must have bootloader version 1.04

Warning:
If you run this upgrade on any other device than HTC Hermes, you will most probably render it DEAD!

Disclaimer:
This is free to use but at your own risk, I take no responsiblity for any conflict, fault, or damage caused to your phone by this unlocking procedure. It may invalidate your warranty.
Full caution is advised.

Website:
http://pof.eslack.org/hermes-unlocker/


Install Instructions:
  1. Enter bootloader mode on your Phone. To do this, simultaneously hold side OK and POWER buttons together and reset with stylus.
    [You should see SPL-1.04 on the top of the tri-color screen, if you see SPL-1.06 you'll need to downgrade the bootloader]
  2. Connect your phone to your computer using the USB lead.
  3. Run the MaUpgradeUt_noID.exe program this will reflash your phone with a patched radio ROM required to unlock.
  4. Wait patiently.
  5. Once the MaUpgradeUt_noID.exe upgrade completes, it will end up saying "Upgrade Error 114", but the patched radio ROM will be flashed anyway, dont worry about that error!
  6. Soft reset with stylus (Device will not be hard reset and no data will be lost)
  7. Allow your phone to reboot. Once it has, connect to your PC using Activesync, and copy the HERM_Unlock_v2a.exe program onto your phone. Alternatively, copy it to an SD card and insert into your phone.
  8. Run HERM_Unlock_v2a.exe on your phone. Wait about 1 minute.
  9. You should see a "SUCCESS!" message from HERM_Unlock_v2a.exe, after that soft reset your phone.
  10. Process is (hopefully) complete!
  11. If the phone requests unlock code when you put a locked SIM, the code is: 22051978.


Frequently Asked Questions:
Q - How do I know my bootloader version?
A - When you are on the tri-color screen check the number after SPL-X.XX

Q - How do I downgrade to bootloader 1.04?
A - See this comment. I'm working on an altnative method for all devices, but it's not ready yet.

Q - What is the CID and how do I check which one I have?
A - See this comment.


Donations:
I spent some time and money developing this free unlocker, there's no need to pay me for that, but donations are always appreciated. You can find a paypal button to donate on the unlocker website.


Thanks to:
  • buzz_lightyear, itsme, vijay555, arc, Asukal, machinagod - for the wise advice and support
  • everyone else in xda-developers.com

History:
v2a [14-11-2006] - bugfix release, thanks to all who reported the problems!
(hopefully) fixed bug where unlock code has to be entered manually
(hopefully) fixed bug where SuperCID was not kept after rom upgrades in some cases
v2 [12-11-2006] - updated to patched radio 1.16
unlocking software provided (HERM_Unlock_v2.exe): thanks buzz for the source of UNI_Unlock_v1 ;)
SuperCID is now kept after rom upgrades :)
v1 [05-11-2006] - patched radio 1.13
unlock manually


Notes:
- v2a makes SuperCID sticky after ROM upgrades, those who used v1 or v2 and are still running the patched radio only need to run HERM_Unlock_v2a.exe on the device to keep SuperCID forever.


Download:
HTC_Hermes_SIM_Unlock_v2a.zip

Enjoy!
 
jokinawa
Old
#2  
jokinawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 208
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Okinawa
Default Sweet

First to say thank you from everybody.
Samsung Galaxy S3
Carrier: DoCoMo
 
scorpio16v
Old
(Last edited by scorpio16v; 5th November 2006 at 08:42 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 321
Join Date: Oct 2006
Hi
I´ve finaly unlocked my german MDA Vario II with your patched ROM and it works !!!

Thank you pof, you´ve done a very hard job perfectly !

Scorpio16v
 
pof
Old
#4  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 3,571
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barcelona

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpio16v View Post
Hi
Ive finaly unlocked my german MDA Vario II with your patched ROM and it works !!!
Glad to hear it worked
 
totallytechie
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2004
Just want to add my thanks and congratulations. Superb work.

Totallytechie
 
jarodcn
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2006
will this working on softbank X01HT?
 
krnnidtt
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default Great job!!

Dear POF

first of all congratulation you finish your great job
just short term.
Now I could my X01HT from SOFTBANK JP SIM network
unlocked successfully.

please keep it up your engineering skill.

best regards,

Dear jarodcn

As I mentioned above I succeed to unlock my X01HT perfectory
by using master POF's solution.

1. down grade bootloader 1.06 to 1.04.
2. then provide POF's method as described in this thread.

all procedures clearly mentioned in his former thread and comment.
 
fun_key
Old
#8  
fun_key's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 442
Join Date: Sep 2006
Great to see that it is finaly done !

You did an amazing work there! As my device is already unlocked I cannot test, but I am pretty sure that it works flawlessly ;)
HTC Touch Pro
Stock ROM 6.1
 
mikeycollins13
Old
#9  
mikeycollins13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 416
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London
Default Will this work on T-mobile Vario II

Or is it for HTC devices/ Roms only?
EE UK
Nexus 7 II
 
kevino
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 430
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Penang
Should work on all Hermes, definately works on Vario II with Dopod Rom.
Search - You'll get an answer more quickly !
--------
HTC Desire S
--------

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more