Thread Deleted

Running DOS on the DASH

OP weezmen

5th November 2006, 10:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Does anyone succed in getting PocketDOS running on the DASH ?

.exe launch said "not for this device".

help much appreciated !
11th November 2006, 12:28 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
So nobody have been able to run DOS on a Dash/S620 ??
12th November 2006, 01:42 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
This does work:

Download
http://www.pocketdos.com/PocketDOS/PocketDOS_111.exe

Unzip (do not execute!) PocketDOS_111.exe

Go into the Smartphone Directory of the unzipped PocketDOS_111.exe

copy DR-DOS_703.CAB and PocketDOS.arm_400sp.CAB on the phone.
Run and install both CAB files on the DASH.

Once done, get the Landscape mode update here:
http://www.pocketdos.com/PocketDOS/P..._SPL_Beta5.zip

Unzip & update the pocketdos.exe file to the DASH.

P.S: the Landscape mode beta seems a bit buggy with the keyboard.
In order to fix the issue you have to assign the numbers key to their corresponding letter using the CUSTOM menu.

List of apps that have been tested w/ PocketDOS v1.11 :

OS:
====
Working:
========

Windows 3.0 : VGA / 186 / EMS (0Mb) or EMM286.EXE (available from our website)
OpenGEM 5.0 : VGA


Games:
======
Working:
========

Another World : VGA
Civilization 1 : VGA / Retrace enabled
Colonization : VGA / HD
Commander Keen 1 : VGA
Commander Keen 4 : VGA
Corruption : VGA
DeathTrack USA : VGA / EGA BIOS
Duke Nukum 1 : VGA
Dune : VGA
Elite : VGA
FlashBack : VGA
Flight Simulator 4.0 : VGA
HeroQuest : VGA
Hugo's House of Horrors : VGA
Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade : VGA
Jones in the Fast Lane : VGA / HD
Kings Quest 1 : VGA
Leisure Suit Larry 1 : VGA / EGA BIOS
Leisure Suit Larry 2 : VGA / HD
Leisure Suit Larry 3 : VGA / HD
Master of Magic : VGA / HD / EMS (3Mb)
Master of Orion : VGA / EMS (1Mb)
Paganitzu : VGA
Police Quest : VGA / EGA BIOS
Police Quest III : VGA
Prince of Persia : VGA
Railroad Tycoon : VGA
Secret of Monkey Island : VGA
Space Quest 1 : VGA / EGA BIOS
Space Quest 1 (VGA) : VGA / HD
Space Quest 2 : VGA / EGA BIOS
Stunt Driver : VGA
Stunts : VGA
Test Drive 2 : VGA / HD
Ultima VI : VGA
Wizardry - Crusaders of the Dark Savant : VGA / EMS (0Mb)
Wolfenstein 3D : VGA / 286 / Retrace disabled
Last edited by weezmen; 12th November 2006 at 02:45 AM.
12th November 2006, 08:59 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Its working fine per the install instructions above, however the keyboard support is a problem. I'm unable to get it configured to work well enough to be useful, but I haven't spent too much time on it.
12th November 2006, 09:31 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
It does partially work if you switch between the CUSTOM mode & the others one.
Last edited by weezmen; 12th November 2006 at 09:36 PM.
13th November 2006, 10:47 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
There are two further test (beta) versions available from:

http://www.pocketdos.com/PocketDOS/P..._SPL_Beta7.zip
http://www.pocketdos.com/PocketDOS/P..._SPL_Beta8.zip

These versions specifically address the numeric/alpha key issue.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes