Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,170 Members 43,566 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

tom tom 6 wont recognise inbuilt gps

Tip us?
 
Leigh
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
Unhappy tom tom 6 wont recognise inbuilt gps

... can someone give me the settings to fix this problem, and also an english lanuage voice, thanks
 
mikealder
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 510
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Blackpool Lancs
Other NMEA GPS recever Baud Speed to 9600 on Com 4 should work fine. You can download a voice from www.tomtom.com go to the Plus section of the site and select voices, the built in ones are available for download, what happened to your original? - Mike
XDA Orbit - 2, Touch, Ameo, MDA-III, HTC Artemis, XDA Mini-s, XDA Exec, XDAIIs, SPVc600
 
Leigh
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
thanks for the help, dont know what happened but they all came up not installedhad a look at the extended rom and tried to run the cab but it wouldnt run, but al should be fine now thanks
 
Leigh
Old
(Last edited by Leigh; 8th December 2006 at 11:18 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
the gps still wont work, what settings do you have in the gps applet in settings? i cant select com 4 in tom tom what comes up is com9 gps com0 com2 and serial, no matter what it is set to in the gps settings
 
gameon
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Dec 2006
I think you need tom tom 6.02 to recognize the internal gps.
 
bigyellowdog
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Oct 2006
I'm using tomtom 6.010 and it works perfectly on Xda Orbit.

Settings in Orbit
Program GPS: Com 4
Hardware GPS: None, baud rate 9600
Tick Manage GPS Automatically

Settings in tomtom
Select "Other NMEA GPS Receiver" 9600 on Com 4.
 
astrodemoniac
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 215
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fribourg

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too
 
low405
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodemoniac View Post
Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too
With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil
 
Imer
Old
#9  
Imer's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bordeaux
I have :
Software tab : port : com4
hardware tab : port not set, speed 4800 bauds
Acces tab : select the item
These are the settings with were set when I bouth the device.

KR, Imer
Sharp IQ-7100 > Casio SF-5300 > Sharp ZQ-4400 > Psion 3 > Psion 3a > Palm Pilot > Psion 5 > Psion Revo > HP Jornada 545 > HP Jornada 568 > Sony Clie UX50 > Ipaq 4150 > Qtek S100 > HTC TyTN > HTC Artemis (P3300) > Iphone 3G > HTC Leo > HTC Marvel S-Off & rooted
 
wombat45
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by low405 View Post
With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil
QuickGPS files ?????

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more