FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

tom tom 6 wont recognise inbuilt gps

Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Leigh, Senior Member on 8th December 2006, 04:09 AM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
... can someone give me the settings to fix this problem, and also an english lanuage voice, thanks
 
 
8th December 2006, 05:17 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Blackpool Lancs
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Other NMEA GPS recever Baud Speed to 9600 on Com 4 should work fine. You can download a voice from www.tomtom.com go to the Plus section of the site and select voices, the built in ones are available for download, what happened to your original? - Mike
8th December 2006, 10:59 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Dungannon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for the help, dont know what happened but they all came up not installedhad a look at the extended rom and tried to run the cab but it wouldnt run, but al should be fine now thanks
8th December 2006, 11:10 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Dungannon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
the gps still wont work, what settings do you have in the gps applet in settings? i cant select com 4 in tom tom what comes up is com9 gps com0 com2 and serial, no matter what it is set to in the gps settings
Last edited by Leigh; 8th December 2006 at 11:18 AM.
8th December 2006, 11:53 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I think you need tom tom 6.02 to recognize the internal gps.
8th December 2006, 12:35 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm using tomtom 6.010 and it works perfectly on Xda Orbit.

Settings in Orbit
Program GPS: Com 4
Hardware GPS: None, baud rate 9600
Tick Manage GPS Automatically

Settings in tomtom
Select "Other NMEA GPS Receiver" 9600 on Com 4.
8th December 2006, 04:34 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Fribourg
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too
8th December 2006, 05:28 PM |#8  
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodemoniac

Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too

With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil
8th December 2006, 08:27 PM |#9  
Imer's Avatar
Member
Flag Bordeaux
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have :
Software tab : port : com4
hardware tab : port not set, speed 4800 bauds
Acces tab : select the item
These are the settings with were set when I bouth the device.

KR, Imer
9th December 2006, 06:42 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by low405

With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil

QuickGPS files ?????
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes