Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,801 Members 44,303 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

tom tom 6 wont recognise inbuilt gps

Tip us?
 
Leigh
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
Unhappy tom tom 6 wont recognise inbuilt gps

... can someone give me the settings to fix this problem, and also an english lanuage voice, thanks
 
mikealder
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 510
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Blackpool Lancs
Other NMEA GPS recever Baud Speed to 9600 on Com 4 should work fine. You can download a voice from www.tomtom.com go to the Plus section of the site and select voices, the built in ones are available for download, what happened to your original? - Mike
XDA Orbit - 2, Touch, Ameo, MDA-III, HTC Artemis, XDA Mini-s, XDA Exec, XDAIIs, SPVc600
 
Leigh
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
thanks for the help, dont know what happened but they all came up not installedhad a look at the extended rom and tried to run the cab but it wouldnt run, but al should be fine now thanks
 
Leigh
Old
(Last edited by Leigh; 8th December 2006 at 11:18 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dungannon
the gps still wont work, what settings do you have in the gps applet in settings? i cant select com 4 in tom tom what comes up is com9 gps com0 com2 and serial, no matter what it is set to in the gps settings
 
gameon
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Dec 2006
I think you need tom tom 6.02 to recognize the internal gps.
 
bigyellowdog
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Oct 2006
I'm using tomtom 6.010 and it works perfectly on Xda Orbit.

Settings in Orbit
Program GPS: Com 4
Hardware GPS: None, baud rate 9600
Tick Manage GPS Automatically

Settings in tomtom
Select "Other NMEA GPS Receiver" 9600 on Com 4.
 
astrodemoniac
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 215
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fribourg

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too
 
low405
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodemoniac View Post
Have you been to the Tomtom options>preferences>GPS>configure yet? maybe that's your problem ??


Mine is set to com 4 by default in the prefs and In built GPS in the TomTom settings. Hope it helps.

EDIT:

Also bear in mind that the program will take about 30 secs to recognize the built in GPS and then it will take around 45 secs to get a signal outside so give it time too
With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil
 
Imer
Old
#9  
Imer's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bordeaux
I have :
Software tab : port : com4
hardware tab : port not set, speed 4800 bauds
Acces tab : select the item
These are the settings with were set when I bouth the device.

KR, Imer
Sharp IQ-7100 > Casio SF-5300 > Sharp ZQ-4400 > Psion 3 > Psion 3a > Palm Pilot > Psion 5 > Psion Revo > HP Jornada 545 > HP Jornada 568 > Sony Clie UX50 > Ipaq 4150 > Qtek S100 > HTC TyTN > HTC Artemis (P3300) > Iphone 3G > HTC Leo > HTC Marvel S-Off & rooted
 
wombat45
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by low405 View Post
With 6.02 it takes about 10 seconds for a cold start to get a lock and 3 seconds for a hot start. It uses the QuickGPS files! Mine has usually got a fix by the time I've loaded TomTom and opened the satelite info page!

Phil
QuickGPS files ?????

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more