Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

today plugin to switch between WCDMA and gsm

OP danielherrero

17th December 2006, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
danielherrero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 236
 
3,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
Hi.
My battery drains very quickly in my area (HSDPA). But if i force GSM then the battery lasts two or three days and i only need hsdpa 3 or 4 times by day, for example

20010-04-20 (V2.9)
1) The combo box that stores the model keeps the value when the program is restarted.
2) Fixed problems with owner names starting/ending with spaces.
3) other minor bugs
2009-11-27 (V2.8)
1) Compatibility with new Bluetooth Widcomm stack (HTC Touch Pro2, HTC Touch HD2, etc);
2) Compatibility to switch band with HTC Touch HD2
3) Compatibility to switch band with Toshiba TG01
4) switching is faster because now I dont turn radio off, just unregister and register from network. No need to enter automatically PIN code too.

2007-09-25 (V2.4.2)
Compatibility with Kaiser
Changes in 1.2.3:
Fix a bug in 1.2.1-1.2.1. Auto mode didnt work properly and switch delay action too.

Changes in V1.2.2 :
Some GSM operators intercepts http not found requests and redirects to help pages. It can cause unknown effects on bandswith who tries to look for the version number in the response stream.....

Changes in 1.2.1:

Buffer overrun bug in devices with very long radio manufacturer name (caused bandswitch fall).
Bandswith now detects if is running on WM5 or WM6 so now only switch twice if switching from GSM to UMTS band in WM6 devices. So now one only version for WM5 and WM6
Dual line support with two pin codes.
If the password(s) is/are incorrect the device will sound and vibrate and show Pin Page.
Pin enable user: remember to enter pin(s) again after reinstall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture1.jpg
Views:	10986
Size:	75.8 KB
ID:	74155  
Attached Files
File Type: cab BandSwitch.V2.8.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (214.9 KB, 4193 views)
File Type: cab BandSwitch.V2.9.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (215.4 KB, 5172 views)
Last edited by danielherrero; 20th April 2010 at 04:31 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to danielherrero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2006, 08:38 PM   |  #2  
shogunmark's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 201
 
3,429 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielherrero

Hi.
My battery drains very quickly in my area (HSDPA). But if i force GSM then the battery lasts two or three days and i only need hsdpa 3 or 4 times by day, for example when i surf the web or read the news. And with gsm i can use real mail but with hsdpa the battery is empty in 5 or 6 hours. I am looking a tool to switch between gsm and hsdpa in today screen. I know that i can do it in phone/options/band but it's very boring. Can someone help me?. If now i will write a little program (today plugin) and i will post it.
Thanks

as far as i know nothing like this exists
17th December 2006, 09:52 PM   |  #3  
doedoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Cool Idea.

This is shouldnt be that difficult to achieve...

Use SetHSDPA.exe and link it to the Wireless Manager today plugin. Then everytime you tap the wireless plugin it then turns on/off the HSDPA functionality?
17th December 2006, 09:56 PM   |  #4  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 66
 
3,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Donate to Me
AFAIK band selection can be done changing a setting in registry, so this can be done with mortscript.
17th December 2006, 10:15 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
1. google SKSchema... it's a program which will allow you to do this (it's not free, but i think the price is awesome for what you can do with it), and download it.

2. Download these scripts that someone else made...

3. Drop the scripts in the \Windows\Start Menu\Programs\sScripts directory

4. Go to your phone's Settings, and choose Menu

5. Scroll down and select any of the new scripts (I am personally using the toggle script).

**alternatively, you can assign a button to it

***additionally, I use this program's Soft Reset feature to automatically soft reset my phone at 5 in the morning to make sure that when i get up in the morning the phone had a chance to reboot and has a fresh start...

hope this helps!
Attached Files
File Type: zip GSMscripts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (714 Bytes, 1347 views)
17th December 2006, 10:41 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsb007

1. google SKSchema... it's a program which will allow you to do this (it's not free, but i think the price is awesome for what you can do with it), and download it.

2. Download these scripts that someone else made...

3. Drop the scripts in the \Windows\Start Menu\Programs\sScripts directory

4. Go to your phone's Settings, and choose Menu

5. Scroll down and select any of the new scripts (I am personally using the toggle script).

**alternatively, you can assign a button to it

***additionally, I use this program's Soft Reset feature to automatically soft reset my phone at 5 in the morning to make sure that when i get up in the morning the phone had a chance to reboot and has a fresh start...

hope this helps!

Does this solution allow you to switch between 'U' and 'G' on the fly? Meaning it does not need to close one connection to achieve the other and vice-versa.
17th December 2006, 10:57 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
as far as i can tell from the script it turns on flight mode, toggles between 3g/Edge, depending on which one you had originally when the script was run (by changing the registry settings), and then turning flight mode off...

your phone will search for signal as it normally would...

the whole process takes about 20-25 seconds.

Give skschema a try. They have a trial, so you can try before you get it if you decide to get it. There is also a Today plugin, although i've never used it, so i can't give any input as to how good it is.
Last edited by marsb007; 17th December 2006 at 11:10 PM. Reason: more information
17th December 2006, 11:29 PM   |  #8  
shogunmark's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 201
 
3,429 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
in my experience with the phone, any time you change the band selection the phone goes into flight mode
18th December 2006, 01:25 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Madrid
Thanks Meter: 1
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2003
The program is finished and working
Ok. The program is finished.
1) Put it in rom.
2) Create a shortcut and put it in \windows\startup directory.
3) Then you will see a circle icon at botton.
. White circle means Auto mode.
. Green circle means GPRS mode (2g).
. Red circle means UMTS/HSDPA mode(3g).

Tapping this icon a window is showed and you can click one of the next buttons:
auto: Sets auto mode.
GSM: Sets gsm mode.
UMTS: Sets 3g mode.
Close: closes the program.

Then the registry key \\SOFTWARE\\OEM\\UMTS\\OpMode is changed and the radio is reseted. And thats all.
Enjoy it...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture_auto.jpg
Views:	3218
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	32179   Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture_gsm.jpg
Views:	2142
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	32180   Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture_umts.jpg
Views:	2084
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	32181   Click image for larger version

Name:	pc_capture_screen.jpg
Views:	2796
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	32182  
18th December 2006, 01:31 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dherrero

Ok. The program is finished.
1) Put it in rom.
2) Create a shortcut and put it in \windows\startup directory.
3) Then you will see a circle icon at botton.
. White circle means Auto mode.
. Green circle means GPRS mode (2g).
. Red circle means UMTS/HSDPA mode(3g).

Tapping this icon a window is showed and you can click one of the next buttons:
auto: Sets auto mode.
GSM: Sets gsm mode.
UMTS: Sets 3g mode.
Close: closes the program.

Then the registry key \\SOFTWARE\\OEM\\UMTS\\OpMode is changed and the radio is reseted. And thats all.
Enjoy it...

Is the program supposed to be attached somewhere?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes