Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Deleted

O2 XDA Orbit keeps rebooting - is it faulty?

OP 2020vision

24th January 2007, 01:00 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
hello,

I have an O2 XDA Orbit for the past 4 weeks but have had an ongoing
problem that when I install some programs the phone just keeps going
round and round soft resetting itself!!!

I have tried to eliminate which program (if any one in particular) is causing
this and I have now had enough. The ONLY way to stop this happening is to
remove the battery. Then I have to do a hard reset and lose all the programs
that I have installed. I even used SPB backup to help things along and even
when I think I have got a good working setup that can be re-installed the
phone can repeat this behaviour some time later for no apparent reason.

Also if I add a couple more programs it then happens again anyway.
Does anyone have any idea why this is and how I can fix it PLEASE?
It's driving me nuts, I love the phone but can not be doing with this.

I list below the details from the boot up screeen in case they are of help:

1.25.0001
1.25.0000
02.67.90
1.25.0.0

If anyone has a solution it would be most appreciated, THANKS.
If you have any other questions please ask.

All the best - Michael
24th January 2007, 07:37 AM   |  #2  
Lord Buckingham's Avatar
Member
Buckingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Wink
And what programs did you add, a list would probably help
24th January 2007, 10:40 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
These are among them but...
Hi and thanks for interest but as I said above I do not seem able
to find out which program (if any) is the culprit? Even when I have installed
a few and made a "stable" backup a few soft resets later and it happens
again! It's doing my head in. I have tried different programs in various order
and things appear to be fine - then repeated soft reset going round and round
and the only way to stop is remove battery and hard reset, re-install programs
and do it all over again. Even the "stable" backups appear to be no good???
It occasionally happens with only a few programs installed! Would a "firmware"
upgrade be possible or help do you think? How would that be done safely?

However, here is a list of programs tried - I had to do a hard reset to get these:

anton tomov pocketmechanic
binaryfish all mobile mines
blue point studio pocket earth
conduits pocket player
dinarsoft memaid
electric pocket ringo
handmark tetris, monopoly and trivial pursuit
lakeridge wisbar lite
omega one dominoes and checkers
opera browser
pocketmax pocketwords
pocketmind pocketmusic
resco keyboard
resco picture viewer
spb backup
spb clearvue pdf
spb gprs monitor
spb pocket plus
webis pocket informant 2007

That's it - in no special order or combination...
I personally can not find any one of them as being responsible?

In case you are wondering the phone came already unlocked from O2 as an
upgrade. I am on Virgin, it has a 1gig micro sd card fitted.

Hoping someone will have the answer, many thanks,
All the best - Michael
Last edited by 2020vision; 24th January 2007 at 10:53 AM.
24th January 2007, 10:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
P.S. I have other programs I would like to install but it seems so futile at
the moment. I also forgot to say that tomtom navigator 6 is installed too.
And generally speaking when the programs are running without any bother
they all seem to work fine, no crashes or hangs, hope this helps?
Finally, I am using Microsoft Activesync 4.2 and it seems to make no
difference whether programs are installed in main memory or storage card?

Thanks again - Michael
Last edited by 2020vision; 24th January 2007 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Just added a couple of lines
24th January 2007, 01:27 PM   |  #5  
vijay555's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 57
 
5,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
anton tomov pocketmechanic is low level software so most likely to cause issues.

But really, just try installing only a few of the apps and using it for a few days. Random resets are unusual of course, and if it was hardware or firmware, it would happen all the time. But if it doesn't happen after a hard reset, your issue is software, not hardware/firmware.

V
24th January 2007, 03:53 PM   |  #6  
DocMAX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
i had the same problem. the device did not reboot when removing the storage card. i took out some files from the Programs directory and found out, that some where causing eboot. for me it was SK tools folder. when i removed that, the device did not reboot. i dont know what it is...
24th January 2007, 06:40 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Thanks for replies so far
I am taking note of suggestions so PLEASE keep them coming.
If anyone needs any more info just ask, I shall be checking
here on a regular basis to see if anyone has more ideas.

Ttfn, all the best - Michael
24th January 2007, 11:54 PM   |  #8  
bryanbellis's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Reading
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
I've found two programs thus far that send my Orbit into this behaviour, SK Tools and Tengo. Once sussed, cold restart, reinstall without these, and all is stable.

Neither of these are on your list, so I'd be interested to know once you find out the rogue program!
26th January 2007, 08:42 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
See this post for a fix?
Thanks for your suggestions so far, keep 'em coming please.

In the meantime I have had a very positive and promising response here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...64#post1116164
Look at post number #2 to find out exactly what it might be and fix?

cheers - Michael
5th February 2007, 12:11 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Still doing it!
Hi All,

Well what can I say? I have been very careful and am STILL with this lousy
problem! Had enough, feel like chucking the rotten thing in the bin!

Would it be any good or easy for me to update the ROM, WM5, or anything
else that may help? It is already unlocked.
It's no good to me if I am not able to run the programs that I want, unless
they are known to cause problems? But right now it's about impossible to
discover what is causing this? Could it be a combination of programs?
If so, I have no chance of working it out?

All the best to you, Michael

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes