5,594,653 Members 32,620 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No messaging with NotTooSmart vanilla

Tip us?
 
papamopps
Old
#1  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default No messaging with NotTooSmart vanilla

Iīm using NotTooSmart vanilla and really loved it but now I cannot execute Messaging program. No SMS, no MMS and no email. I donīt know why???

When I go to Programs - Messaging nothig happens. When I press button 1 nothing happens.


Why????
Canīt find help in the forum yet.


 
papamopps
Old
#2  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default Same after ahrdreset and backup

I did a hardreset and messaging is working. But after restoring by SKTools - nothing happens again. I donīt know when messaging stops working. SO I think Iīve got to set up phon efrom bottom. Urgh:


 
nottoosmart
Old
#3  
nottoosmart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 846
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by papamopps View Post
I did a hardreset and messaging is working. But after restoring by SKTools - nothing happens again. I donīt know when messaging stops working. SO I think Iīve got to set up phon efrom bottom. Urgh:
I dont understand what you are having backed up with SKtools. This being said, any backup made with SKtools should be used only on the rom you made it with. Every rom is diffrent as every chef is diffrent. Set it up from scratch and make a new backup. then when you hardreset you should be ok to use those backups.
I ain't that bright but I'll pretend if you want me to.

Current phone:
Sprint Galaxy Note 3
ROM: (depends on whats new)

Current tablet:
Samsung Series 7 Slate
(Windows 8 Tablet)
 
papamopps
Old
#4  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default It is your rom

I ran SKtools after setup everything with your vanilla ROM. Tha is clear. But while installing everything there must be a mistake - I donīt have messaging programs. Iīve set email accounts and everything was ok, stable and very fast. Today I recognized, that I couldnīt write anny message. It only makes nothing by pushing button 1. It makes nothing, when I go to Programs - Messaging.


After hardreset everything works great. So while installing and befor making a bakup of your ROM and my settings - there must be a break in these part. So after restore I have the same problem like before. So I have to install everything again. My fault I think.

But the backup I made is naturaly from your ROM.


 
mfrazzz
Old
#5  
mfrazzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 2,454
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Falcon, Colorado
You realize you are backing up and restoring on WM6 and most tools are not upgraded for WM6 yet. Could be that SKtools restore (or backup) doesn't work quite right with WM6. Just a guess, but anyone running WM6 should realize that some things just may not work (or appear to work but then break, or worse, break other things due to bad interactions).

Welcome to the bleeding edge!
AT&T Tilt
ROM: HyperDragon IV IOLITE 20090204 (WM6.1 Hybrid)
Radio: 1.71.09.01 eMo (Ultimate Kaiser Radio Thread)
HardSPL: 3.29 by cmonex
SIM/CID/Security Unlocked by Olipro
Priceless!


Got a Wizard? Try my XDA Mobile 6 Release 5 ROM

Do you have a "rom flashing" problem? Join Rom Flashers Anonymous

Like my work? Donations are appreciated!

.
 
papamopps
Old
#6  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default First test

It hase been my first test with SKTools and everything is fine. Everything works. But perhaps I havenīt realized that messaging was not running before I made the backup. So when I restore - I restore the mistake. So Iīve got to hardreset and start again.

No problem. Third time this week with different ROM


 
wko668
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2007
I read from another thread that the way wm6 stores the contact list is quite different from wm5. Maybe this is why SKTools can't restore the backup correctly on wm6.
 
papamopps
Old
#8  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default No problem

Backup works perfektly.


I cannot run any messageaplication.


 
daheufster
Old
#9  
daheufster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 446
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by papamopps View Post
Backup works perfektly.


I cannot run any messageaplication.
same thing here. Backup with spb backup 1.55 does work fine for other wm6 rom but don't work (restoring) for this rom.
spb works fine but doesn't restore the messenges which are backuped, the rest of the restore works great

strange

da heufster
HTC One (gold edition)
===============================
'pfff I replaced my' LG Optimus F5 4G LTE
SD: 32 GB Scandisk Ultra
===============================
HTC Sensation XE

===============================
HTC HD2 EU
===============================
HTC TyNT II uk
===============================
Qtek 9100 uk G3
===============================

changing ROM's to many times a week
 
papamopps
Old
#10  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 2,999
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
Default Hard reset made it

After one hour and ahrdreset, messaging is again working. Donīt know why it was broken.

But now have again 25MB after sktools optimize.

Running fast.

Thank you.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more