FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

No messaging with NotTooSmart vanilla

3,040 posts
Thanks Meter: 56
 
By papamopps, Retired Moderator on 26th March 2007, 02:44 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Iīm using NotTooSmart vanilla and really loved it but now I cannot execute Messaging program. No SMS, no MMS and no email. I donīt know why???

When I go to Programs - Messaging nothig happens. When I press button 1 nothing happens.


Why????
Canīt find help in the forum yet.
 
 
26th March 2007, 03:13 PM |#2  
papamopps's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Same after ahrdreset and backup
I did a hardreset and messaging is working. But after restoring by SKTools - nothing happens again. I donīt know when messaging stops working. SO I think Iīve got to set up phon efrom bottom. Urgh:
26th March 2007, 03:58 PM |#3  
nottoosmart's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by papamopps

I did a hardreset and messaging is working. But after restoring by SKTools - nothing happens again. I donīt know when messaging stops working. SO I think Iīve got to set up phon efrom bottom. Urgh:

I dont understand what you are having backed up with SKtools. This being said, any backup made with SKtools should be used only on the rom you made it with. Every rom is diffrent as every chef is diffrent. Set it up from scratch and make a new backup. then when you hardreset you should be ok to use those backups.
26th March 2007, 04:41 PM |#4  
papamopps's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
It is your rom
I ran SKtools after setup everything with your vanilla ROM. Tha is clear. But while installing everything there must be a mistake - I donīt have messaging programs. Iīve set email accounts and everything was ok, stable and very fast. Today I recognized, that I couldnīt write anny message. It only makes nothing by pushing button 1. It makes nothing, when I go to Programs - Messaging.


After hardreset everything works great. So while installing and befor making a bakup of your ROM and my settings - there must be a break in these part. So after restore I have the same problem like before. So I have to install everything again. My fault I think.

But the backup I made is naturaly from your ROM.
26th March 2007, 04:46 PM |#5  
mfrazzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Falcon, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
You realize you are backing up and restoring on WM6 and most tools are not upgraded for WM6 yet. Could be that SKtools restore (or backup) doesn't work quite right with WM6. Just a guess, but anyone running WM6 should realize that some things just may not work (or appear to work but then break, or worse, break other things due to bad interactions).

Welcome to the bleeding edge!
26th March 2007, 04:49 PM |#6  
papamopps's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
First test
It hase been my first test with SKTools and everything is fine. Everything works. But perhaps I havenīt realized that messaging was not running before I made the backup. So when I restore - I restore the mistake. So Iīve got to hardreset and start again.

No problem. Third time this week with different ROM
26th March 2007, 07:59 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I read from another thread that the way wm6 stores the contact list is quite different from wm5. Maybe this is why SKTools can't restore the backup correctly on wm6.
26th March 2007, 08:01 PM |#8  
papamopps's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
No problem
Backup works perfektly.


I cannot run any messageaplication.
26th March 2007, 08:26 PM |#9  
daheufster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by papamopps

Backup works perfektly.


I cannot run any messageaplication.

same thing here. Backup with spb backup 1.55 does work fine for other wm6 rom but don't work (restoring) for this rom.
spb works fine but doesn't restore the messenges which are backuped, the rest of the restore works great

strange

da heufster
26th March 2007, 08:27 PM |#10  
papamopps's Avatar
OP Retired Moderator
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Hard reset made it
After one hour and ahrdreset, messaging is again working. Donīt know why it was broken.

But now have again 25MB after sktools optimize.

Running fast.

Thank you.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes