5,600,053 Members 43,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Windows Vista VS Flashing Firmware or Radio ROMs!

Tip us?
 
NetrunnerAT
Old
(Last edited by NetrunnerAT; 9th April 2007 at 01:58 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,334
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vienna
Default Windows Vista VS Flashing Firmware or Radio ROMs!

Upgrade OS pocket pc (RUU file problem how to solve ) in Windows Vista



First of all, connect your device when it`s in bootloader.
next, open Windows Mobile Device Center and in connection settings uncheck Allou USB Connections.
next, goto contol panel-administrative tools-services and start windows mobile device connectivity and windows mobile device 2003 connectivity
next, goto device manager and find your device and update the driver to the one from AS 4, i attached it, wceusbsh.inf.
then, kill wmdc.exe with any taskmanager
You are Ready. run ruu or connect MTTY. I guess that vista default driver uses another port, not WCEUSBSH001, that`s why we have to use the old driver.

http://mahmood1.com/Documents/USBAS.rar

http://mahmood1.com/Documents/64bit.rar

Best reguards to mahmood
 
LordDeath
Old
#2  
LordDeath's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 1,065
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
First of all, connect your device when it`s in bootloader.
done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
next, open Windows Mobile Device Center and in connection settings uncheck Allou USB Connections.
done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
next, goto contol panel-administrative tools-services and start windows mobile device connectivity and windows mobile device 2003 connectivity
they were already running
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
next, goto device manager and find your device and update the driver to the one from AS 4, i attached it, wceusbsh.inf.
in the 64bit.rar there are drivers in the ruu-work-64bit folder and in the wce.zip. i tried both for my vista x64 system.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
then, kill wmdc.exe with any taskmanager
i also killed the mobsync.exe
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetrunnerAT View Post
You are Ready. run ruu or connect MTTY.
the ruu simply crashes while trying to connect to the device. luckily the flash didn't start yet.
 
floepie
Old
(Last edited by floepie; 9th April 2007 at 06:34 PM.)
#3  
floepie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 1,598
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Not that you need this in pictures, but someone may:

http://www.modaco.com/index.php?show...2&#entry814012

Anyways, I've got this fix working for the NVID ROM, but it won't work for other RUU-based upgrades, such as the one from PDAMobiz WM6 1.0. Perhaps there are different versions of the RUU utility that require or use different components.

Something else that is odd is that the drivers packaged in the "64 bit" rar are the same ones packaged in the VistaRUU.zip found in the Modaco link above, and which work on my 32-bit OS. So, they may not be 64-bit drivers at all.
 
PRiME2007
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2007
Yeah I live in New Zealand and I think the 700wx here are different somehow. For example I don't think mine has a bootloader period.. I tried all 400 ways of getting it into bootloader and all I get is a reset back to normal screen no tricolour.

Weird but unless I can get it into bootloader first I don't think its going to get anywhere. Which my palm 700wx just doesn't have I think.
 
wanwarlock
Old
#5  
wanwarlock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 597
Join Date: Aug 2006
i managed to do it with vmware on vista. tried all these methods but the programs crashes all the time, luckily not frying my 818pro as well!
Dopod 818pro G3, IPL 2.20.0000, SPL 2.G3.4PDA, Radio Rom 2.69.21
LF Extreme Blue V2, Transcend 4Gb non-sdhc

HTC Touch Pro - RAPH100 > Stock HTC Rom (for the moment!)- 1.90.405.1 WWE
HardSPL 1.90.OliNex, Radio Rom 1.02.25.19, Sandisk 16Gb microSDHC

Visit my HTC Touch Pro/windows mobile blog

--removed--
 
rondol1
Old
#6  
rondol1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,279
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hoofdorp
I have the same experience. The NVID RUU works, but al others don't. By the way, the NVID also work with only the "old" drivers installed, not dis-allowing USB connection, not starting in bootloader and not killing wmdc.exe.

I don't know for sure, I noticed the RUU Utility version is newer. But when I just switch the nb.nsk file, I get an error, or it crashes just like before. Can it has something to do with the fact that the NVID RUU updates the SPL as well?
 
djechelon
Old
#7  
djechelon's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by floepie View Post
Not that you need this in pictures, but someone may:

http://www.modaco.com/index.php?show...2&#entry814012

Anyways, I've got this fix working for the NVID ROM, but it won't work for other RUU-based upgrades, such as the one from PDAMobiz WM6 1.0. Perhaps there are different versions of the RUU utility that require or use different components.

Something else that is odd is that the drivers packaged in the "64 bit" rar are the same ones packaged in the VistaRUU.zip found in the Modaco link above, and which work on my 32-bit OS. So, they may not be 64-bit drivers at all.
Try running command prompt as Admin and type

bcdedit /set nointegritychecks on

Then try again to install the 64 bit driver. It should work
 
Fusion752
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2007
I have just found the answer for Prime2007, i have a telecom treo 700wx and the previous codes for the bootloader didnt work for me either however if you go into your dailpad and press ##8778# your phone will reboot into bootloader also there is not colored strips just the treo logo with some numbers at the top.

If you want to exit without making changes you will have to pull out your battery
 
blustosa
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: East Lansing
Unfortunally this doesn't work, as mentioned, with things such as Radio ROM update only...

If anyone finds out how to make it work for those I'd be greatly appreciative.
 
jim2sad
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 55
Join Date: Nov 2007
hey guys .. i follows all your step . but i still cant run the ruu sucessfull .. help please.. thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more