Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,211 Members 53,252 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPRS blocks incoming calls, bug in Radio stack

Tip us?
 
oberkeller
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2007
Exclamation GPRS blocks incoming calls, bug in Radio stack

Just a heads-up

I have had the Vox for a couple of weeks here in Sweden

It is being used with Active sync towards an Exchange 2003 over GPRS

I quickly noticed that suddely it was not possible to receive SMS or incoming calls, the calls just got redirected to voicemail, after a reboot the phone started working for a while again, but it kept coming back.

After a couple of discussions with HTC and the distributor (and 2 rounds to the service partner for more extensive tests only to say that the phone was fully functional...) I now know what the problem is, and I put it here to let you know.

Aparently here in sweden and the rest of the nordic coutries we use GPRS type B
See here for a spec:
http://www.gsmworld.com/technology/gprs/class.shtml


And the radio stack in S710 has trouble switching between GPRS and GSM

What they told me is that HTC are working on this, (and they better be and fast...), because without a fix GPRS is useless on this phone it could anytime hang in either GPRS or GSM mode, resutling in nonworking GPRS or (even worse) no GSM, you only notice this on the fact that incoming calls are not working, outgoing calls works.

So the only way to test is constantly call your own phone to see if it is still working.

The only fix I have found to this so far is to disable all GPRS accounts and reboot the phone...

Just thought I should share this information with you. I have a feeling that more people will experience this, and I had to do a lot of digging to get this information.

If someone else has some more information or experienced this I would love to hear about it.
 
kast
Old
#2  
kast's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,330
Posts: 559
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Thanks for the tip.
Got my S710 yesterday evening, did the GRPS setup today afternoon and tonight got couple of calls redirected to voicemail... Yep GPRS was on (although I wasn't actually doing anything, just noticed the "E" icon for an active connection). Thought was only bad reception... Knew about the missed calls because of the SMS telling me right away somebody had called.
Anyhow, SMS were getting in... Maybe it's not related to the same problem... Hopefully was really only bad reception, but enough reception for SMS.

I'll do some more testing tomorrow. I can't afford missing work calls or I know I'm fired by listening my voicemail.

Thanks,
Ka.
 
pinussen
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockholm
Ok, time to disable the GPRS settings... Let's hope they make a bugfix soon for this.
 
colonel
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 586
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: london
thats really worrying. has anyone experienced this in the UK ?

The whole point of the S710 is so I can have IM and push email and phone on one tiny device with keyboard
Xperia Z2
Previous: Note 3, iPhone 5s, HTC One, Nexus 4, Sony Xperia P, Samsung G SIII, Galaxy Nexus, Nokia 710, Galaxy S, Xperia Ray, iPhone 4s, Dell Venue Pro, BB 9800, Sensation, ChaCha, Desire S, Mozart, BB9780, HD7, Desire, Nokia N97 Mini, iPhone 4, Mini HD, Legend, BB9000, Nokia E72, Nexus 1, Touch HD, Snap, Click, BB9700, T-Mob Pulse (U8220), iphone 3GS, Diamond 2, Nokia E63 & E71, Palm Treo Pro, Magic, S740, Touch Pro, Jade, Diamond, x7500, Elf, S730,S710, S620, Universal, Hermes
 
oberkeller
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2007
I think this is all related to the GPRS class B, what I understand so far at least is that this is mainly a problem in the nordic counties where this is used (I may very well be misinformed, this is new to me, I have a diploma in GSM technologies from a short course but that is not even worth the paper anymore )

If a network uses Class A, this is what I am told not a problem, and Class C seems mostly useless everywhere, look at my link in my first post and read about Class C ,you will see why

Kast, that sounds like a slightly different problem, I don't get SMS or calls when this happens, you also have access to EDGE and that may not have the same problem (don't know). But it would either way be interresting to see if you experience problems.
 
shto
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: Sep 2006
Unhappy gprs class b

The class of GPRS (class B) is parameter no to gsm provider. This is spesification on device htc s710.
I have also htc s620. Result of my testing is that this device is working on Gprs Class B. When i made sinhronzation to exchange server then you can't call my gsm number, but when my sinhro is done you can call my gsm.

The bug on htc s710 is very serios i hope that from htc make quickly patch or update to solve it !
 
colonel
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 586
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: london
definitely all working fine on my new S710 in the UK. Will be trying in NY next week .....
Xperia Z2
Previous: Note 3, iPhone 5s, HTC One, Nexus 4, Sony Xperia P, Samsung G SIII, Galaxy Nexus, Nokia 710, Galaxy S, Xperia Ray, iPhone 4s, Dell Venue Pro, BB 9800, Sensation, ChaCha, Desire S, Mozart, BB9780, HD7, Desire, Nokia N97 Mini, iPhone 4, Mini HD, Legend, BB9000, Nokia E72, Nexus 1, Touch HD, Snap, Click, BB9700, T-Mob Pulse (U8220), iphone 3GS, Diamond 2, Nokia E63 & E71, Palm Treo Pro, Magic, S740, Touch Pro, Jade, Diamond, x7500, Elf, S730,S710, S620, Universal, Hermes
 
oberkeller
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2007
Yes I think the problem is definately in Tele2's network in Sweden but probably also the other networks hera as well as in Denmark, Norway and Finland
That is what I've been told anyway. But thanks for the info
 
motin
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 320
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default htc-s710

gd day friends

have just tried this issue on a orange il simcard and no problems were found

i can get calls and sms while gprs is on !

thanks
 
oberkeller
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2007
Then orange has GPRS class A (I wish they had that in sweden as well then we would not have that problem here...)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more