Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,847 Members 53,167 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Do Not flash your Artemis with a different carrier/cooked Rom without cid unlocking

Tip us?
 
meschle
Old
(Last edited by meschle; 7th July 2007 at 09:49 PM.)
#1  
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 1,103
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Coventry, England
Exclamation Do Not flash your Artemis with a different carrier/cooked Rom without cid unlocking

Noobs beware!
As a number have been flashing their devices with various roms not from their own carrier or country or cooked roms and bricking their device - I put up this sticky. Your device must be cid unlocked first before you do this. This applies to the coming wm6 roms to - if the rom is not specific to your device - i.e. if you try to flash the upcoming htc 3300 wm6 rom on O2 orbit - you must cid unlock first - with imei check or you will end up with a BRICK!

This does not apply if you are only updating the os http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=299154 or radio.

cid = country id i.e. locked to that country/language/vendor

cid unlock for the artemis is here with USPL http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=311403 (thanks pof)

or here http://www.imei-check.com/c3unlock.php (costs though)

Bricked devices

If you have flashed your device and not cid unlocked it, your device maybe salvagable if you can get it into bootloader mode.

Hold down the voice speed dial button and soft reset - you should then enter bootloader mode 'multicolored' screen'

If you do, attach device to pc via usb cable (a small usb will appear bottom left of screen) and flash factory rom. (run rom executable or RUU updater from pc) You do not need to be activesynced to do this.

HTC P3300 WWE factory rom downloadable here http://rapidshare.com/files/19322112...0_WWE_SHIP.rar

Dopod P800 WWE factory rom downloadable here http://rapidshare.com/files/21058219...0_WWE_SHIP.rar

O2 Orbit WWE Wm5 factory rom downloadable here http://rapidshare.com/files/41574866/Arteimg.nbh

Before you flash again with a non-factory rom, your device MUST be cid unlocked.

If you cannot enter bootloader mode your bootloader has been damaged and your device will need to be sent away for repair.
Regards Mark

Retired from forum
 
Pinesio
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Feb 2005
Unhappy Help me please

Will foundling oneself such man which advise me with this problem ? whether oneself it will subject ? His HTC has to kill persons how much ? Does someone be able to this repair? How do to repair this ?

My HTC is brick. I it can not flicker rom, I it can not take off CID because I it can not him start. Whether someone can me to help or what I can they would make he he was lively.
I it can not flash rom by bootloader because do not it know from where from him download. It my HTC is from Danngard (Denmark) .
I ask help me. T - Mobile O2 Dopod - ROM do not it fit . INVALID DEVICE ID
 
meschle
Old
#3  
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 1,103
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Coventry, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinesio View Post
Will foundling oneself such man which advise me with this problem ? whether oneself it will subject ? His HTC has to kill persons how much ? Does someone be able to this repair? How do to repair this ?

My HTC is brick. I it can not flicker rom, I it can not take off CID because I it can not him start. Whether someone can me to help or what I can they would make he he was lively.
I it can not flash rom by bootloader because do not it know from where from him download. It my HTC is from Danngard (Denmark) .
I ask help me. T - Mobile O2 Dopod - ROM do not it fit . INVALID DEVICE ID
You do need the factory rom for your device and then flash it from bootloader mode. Contact the dealer you bought your phone from or htc denmark.
Regards Mark

Retired from forum
 
bdangol
Old
#4  
bdangol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchester
ah for me too little too late.......... still waiting for an O2 rom the bloody bas*ards!!
 
agento
Old
#5  
agento's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 47
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sheffield
Default Whoops!

Just a little too late! Anyone want to buy a bricked XDA Orbit? ;)

Does anyone here work for the carriers? Can they provide an official O2 ROM to fix out bricked Orbit?
HTC One X in Black - (April 2012 - )
HTC Desire (Rooted of course!) (Sep 2010 - April 2012)
HTC Touch Diamond 2 (Topaz) ( - Sep 2010)
O2 XDA Orbit (Artemis)
O2 XDA Mini S (Wizard)
O2 XDA IIs (Blue Angel)
 
rvbcrs
Old
#6  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Zutphen
Quote:
Originally Posted by agento View Post
Just a little too late! Anyone want to buy a bricked XDA Orbit? ;)

Does anyone here work for the carriers? Can they provide an official O2 ROM to fix out bricked Orbit?
I'll buy it where do you live
 
meschle
Old
#7  
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 1,103
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Coventry, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by agento View Post
Just a little too late! Anyone want to buy a bricked XDA Orbit? ;)

Does anyone here work for the carriers? Can they provide an official O2 ROM to fix out bricked Orbit?
Its only truely bricked if the bootloader is damaged - if you can get into bootloader mode you can salvage with the factory rom.
Regards Mark

Retired from forum
 
arif101
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by meschle View Post
If you have flashed your device and not cid unlocked it, your device maybe salvagable if you can get it into bootloader mode.

Hold down the voice speed dial button and soft reset - you should then enter bootloader mode 'multicolored' screen'

If you do, attach device to pc via usb cable and flash factory rom. You do not need to be activesynced to do this.
How do I flash the factory rom from here please?
 
meschle
Old
#9  
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 1,103
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Coventry, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by arif101 View Post
How do I flash the factory rom from here please?
Well you need the factory rom from o2 - o2 have not released it so there is a problem. I have not found any links to download this rom or a link to a dumped rom. I will ask others in the team if they know a link and let you know.

Did you manage to get into bootloader mode?
Regards Mark

Retired from forum
 
arif101
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by meschle View Post
Well you need the factory rom from o2 - o2 have not released it so there is a problem. I have not found any links to download this rom or a link to a dumped rom. I will ask others in the team if they know a link and let you know.

Did you manage to get into bootloader mode?
Yeah the device goes into the bootloader mode. If you could find out where i can get the factory rom from that would be great. Also if i could have instructions how to upload the rom in the bootloader mode i would really appreciate it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes