Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,442 Members 41,089 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone won't turn on...keeps restarting

Tip us?
 
tkao2025
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default Phone won't turn on...keeps restarting

I've read in other forums of this problem but have not been able to find a solution (not entirely true).....when I turn the phone on in the morning, it just keeps restarting without going to the home screen. Sometimes it take 2 reboots sometimes more. The only way it will boot up correctly right from the start is to take the mem card out, so I think that's probably the problem, but it's not a corrupt or problem card. Once the phone starts and I put in the mem card all is fine.

I want to try to format the memory card from the phone, but don't know how to. Anyone else know how to do this? Also any other suggestions or solutions?
 
samyboy
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Apr 2007
I got this once. Somehow i got the phone on. I just took the card out and put it in when its about to restart. Mabye it was luck, but i dont know. But if you get your phone on again, I would certainly format it (clear storage)
 
tkao2025
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2006
Does your phone ever act up again after that? Mine still does. It turns on fine without the memory card in. By the way, how do you format the memory card on the phone?
 
smfa1965
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 76
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Mine rebooted all the time until I removed Facade. Hard Reset the phone and didn't install it and haven't had the problem since. I know Facade isn't "compatible" yet with WM6, but other than rebooting it worked fine.
 
tkao2025
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2006
Really....I'm going to try that and see what happens.
 
tkao2025
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2006
For those that have this problem, it's true. Once Facade is uninstalled and a soft reset, the problem went away....
 
chybinj
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I had this happnen to me for the first time today. I had the phone off all night (was testing another device) and then when I put my SIM back in and powered up it went into this reboot cycle. powerd off, even took the battery out still no luck.

Then I took the SIM out and tried to power up and it came right up. Powered off and put the SIM back and it worked agian first time.

Not sure, but maybe the SIM was not fully seated... since this was the first time I actually took it out since I get the VOX...and this was the first time I had the problem...

Regards -John
 
wizgnome
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 189
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delft
I had the same problem, although I never installed Facade, Initially the phone was fine and the it started re-booting on startup. I saw a suggestion of running SKtools and removeing duplicates in the Notification table, this worked for a while, then it came back again.

At first the only cure appeared to be to re-boot without the sd card inserted - inserting it again after the phone was running (it even had the same problem with a blank card inserted)

I then read abot someone putting the phone in Flight mode before turning it off - this also solved the problem - better than removing the card each time.

Mike
 
marc.hoeneveld
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default After hard reset - lost option to store attachments on storage card

I had the same problem and solved it by hard resetting the device. However after the hard reset the option to user the storage card for email attachments has disappeared from the pOutlook options screen.

The SD Card is OK and I tried to solve it by a new hard reset, but it is still not resolved.

I would be very graefull for the one that has a solution for this.
 
JoepW
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2007
I have the same problem with my SD card.
With the card inserted the phone keeps rebooting.
With the card removed it starts normally.
When I insert the card when WM6 is running the card is normal accessible.

Tried an other card and also a 1 Gb card. Same problem over and over.

I'm going to try a Kingston card.

If anyone has a solution, I'll be happy to hear it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes