FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Asukal's MUI (Multilingual User Interface) for the HTC Hermes

236 posts
Thanks Meter: 57
 
By shunsai, Senior Member on 26th May 2007, 01:04 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
due to popular demand (my own really, hehe) and sanction from the man himself, here is a new thread dedicated specifically to Asukal's MUI projects for the Hermes, specifically the japanese X01HT. this is a spin-off of this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=284765 .

below, i've made a cliff-notes of sorts, with links to the various MUI related files within the original thread. the original files remain on that thread for the time being.

MUI relevant posts:

English MUIs:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=64
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=116
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=119
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=195 *HTC-Z*

German MUIs:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=90

Security warning:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=97
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=102

Remove Japanese 'Today' Items:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=115

English Soft Keyboard:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=122
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=134

Japanese to English Bubble fix:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=141

Transcriber:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=148
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=152

English Today Keys Fix:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=202

Info about uninstall/hard-reset:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=204

Terminal Services Client:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=217

Softbank MMS Program English Translation:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=257
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=261

English Video Call Button:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=176

i'll try to keep this post up-to-date and either transfer the files or direct links to the files to this post, but for now, continue to refer back to that thread for nitty-gritty details. hope you all find this useful!
Last edited by shunsai; 27th May 2007 at 10:51 AM.
 
 
26th May 2007, 01:50 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If I get some time in the next few weeks (50% chance), I will see if I can repackage some of Asukal's original CAB files to avoid requiring post-installation patches and to reduce the number of separate cab files (which would also reduce memory space required).

....if Asukal is OK with this...
Last edited by pof; 26th May 2007 at 02:19 PM. Reason: removed big quote text
26th May 2007, 04:57 PM |#3  
Zgembo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Could you repack LetsJapanNo5 & IME31J_QVGA together?

Also, anybody have problems with MMSLite on WM6 ROMs?
27th May 2007, 09:32 AM |#4  
Asukal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag China/Vietnam--But Japanese
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
PLS DONT INSTAL or USE on Xo1H <Toshiba Device>

this is not compatible for Toshiba or any other device with WM6.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zgembo

Could you repack LetsJapanNo5 & IME31J_QVGA together?

Also, anybody have problems with MMSLite on WM6 ROMs?

hi, thanks guys,
and i have merged Lets Japan and IME long time ago for Test :P

i will find the file where i stored,, so many files in my HDD,
and can not remenber that.(not organized my PC :P
Last edited by Asukal; 21st February 2008 at 02:15 AM.
27th May 2007, 09:41 AM |#5  
Asukal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag China/Vietnam--But Japanese
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by khammo01

If I get some time in the next few weeks (50&#37; chance), I will see if I can repackage some of Asukal's original CAB files to avoid requiring post-installation patches and to reduce the number of separate cab files (which would also reduce memory space required).

....if Asukal is OK with this...

hi, of curse i say OK you to repack as your want
(but i dont know SB&MS Axis power will say OK :P )

i think only one cab "Welcom_Darkside_R6.zip" was included
all patches, but cabs for securities,

and you can extract canbs with CAB manager (trial version is enough)

http://www.ocpsoftware.com

Good luck!
Last edited by Asukal; 27th May 2007 at 09:44 AM.
27th May 2007, 02:22 PM |#6  
tora201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
does this work with WM6? It would be great to have an English interface for the Japanese Rom I installed. It would just be much easier than following the guide to installing Jap. keyboard, language, mail, softbank settings, etc etc for the English version of WM6.
30th May 2007, 02:26 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Asukal,

I tried Lets Japan with english WM6,
succesfully installed and working.
There is only one issue that I found after
installing Lets Japan on WM6, I can't sync my
Windows Live account via wifi anymore.
But after I remove Lets Japan,
my Windows Live can then sync again via
wifi.

The error stated that I don't have
access plan from my provider.
Wherein I think windows live can use
both data and wifi connection, or whichever
is available.

Is it because of the localization or are there
any reg mod needed to make it work and
have my windows live sync via wifi ?

Does anyone in here also encountered this issue.

Thanks
5th June 2007, 10:57 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag 大阪市
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
well, i never did relay back my experience with the english MUI setup, but i was able to successfully install it. actually, at first, darkside6 didn't work for me immediately after installing the cab. rather, what i had to do (as one post in the previous thread tipped me off) was to find the extracted individual cabs in the temporary files folder and install them separately. after that and a soft reset, things seemed to be installed fine. most menus were changed to english (with the exception of the menus in the Softbank mail program and some drop-down menus, and shortcuts in settings).

one thing i wasn't sure about though- well, actually two. first, for the clock. i changed it so it shows a 12 hour clock instead of a 24 hour clock... but there is no AM or PM following the time? is that how it displays on native english roms? second, i've heard some people say that to get rid of the english menus and revert back to japanese, you have to do a hard reset. does this mean that it's safe to uninstall the programs listed in the installed programs list related to the MUI? i'm not a fan of hardresetting, and would like to avoid screwing up my quite functional setup if it's not necessary. but if its just taking up unnecessary space...
7th June 2007, 03:30 AM |#9  
Asukal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag China/Vietnam--But Japanese
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tora201

does this work with WM6? It would be great to have an English interface for the Japanese Rom I installed. It would just be much easier than following the guide to installing Jap. keyboard, language, mail, softbank settings, etc etc for the English version of WM6.

i tried this in WM6 (Hermes) and worked.
try to install enable_rapi.can before this,
and will work(some MUI doesnt in this for WM6, still keep english them)

Asukaly yours!
7th June 2007, 03:33 AM |#10  
Asukal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag China/Vietnam--But Japanese
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by achilles21

Asukal,

I tried Lets Japan with english WM6,
succesfully installed and working.
There is only one issue that I found after
installing Lets Japan on WM6, I can't sync my
Windows Live account via wifi anymore.
But after I remove Lets Japan,
my Windows Live can then sync again via
wifi.

The error stated that I don't have
access plan from my provider.
Wherein I think windows live can use
both data and wifi connection, or whichever
is available.

Is it because of the localization or are there
any reg mod needed to make it work and
have my windows live sync via wifi ?

Does anyone in here also encountered this issue.

Thanks

possiblity, 1st deleat Paring device when yors were English Lacation,
and try to sync after Japanese Location(not sure)

also i hard similar bug, and he could fix that with registry tweak.
(no exactly information what registry was tweaked)
4th August 2007, 05:49 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello Asukal! I come to you again for help!

There are two things that I still have problems with while making English ROM Japanese friendly:

1&#186I have Japanese I/O enabled, with "Roma/Kana" SIP by default (via SIP change of Sheult). But when I open a program, always "hiragana" write is default one, and I need to change to "romanji" (normal English input); but no I idea how to do it (><)
That isn't put "Keyboard" SIP for english input; it's Japanese input, but romanji by default. I hope I explain myself.

2&#186[less important] Is there any way to make Pocket IE to work with Yahoo! Keitai (brose the Web pages of Yahoo! Keitai)

Thanks!

PD: After read this thread, I have two small questions (really less important; just curious):
a)LetsJapanNo6.zip: New CAB for make Softbank Hermes from JP to English without flash I suppose, no?
a1)Want does exactly do the Treo version?
b)You translate Softbank mail app to English, but only works in original ROMs because of certificates?

And the last one ... Any advance in MMS after MMS Lite? Last times I only checked WM6 Forum, and I think I lose many news form this forum.

Really thanks for all!!
Last edited by sesaru; 4th August 2007 at 06:02 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes