Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 54,903 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"Unable to start Camera" "Unable to initialize camera"

Tip us?
 
jeffbeach
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default "Unable to start Camera" "Unable to initialize camera"

After months of trouble free use my camera dies today. When I try to launch the camera I get the following message "Unable to start Camera" "Unable to initialize camera". I saw an earlier post where the fix was to power down and remove the battery for a few minutes. Unfortunately this did not work for me. I waited approximately 15 minutes before installing the battery and powering up again.

Has anyone elese seen this problem before? And where removing the battery has not helped. I have not tried a Hard Reset. I had a similar problem with my Hermes/838 Pro that was fixed with a hard reset. As you can tell I am trying to avoid the hard reset... I am traveling and do not want to take the time to cutomize my phone, at least not yet.

I am running the original shipped ROM 1.23.707.6
Meanining I have not flashed any ROMs to this phone. It is as shipped from Dopod.
 
sweetdevil
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vienna
hi i have the same problem since months ... something you have explored? do u have some informations to fix this problem?
TyTn/HERM300/MDA Vario II
->ROM Version 1.35.255.2
->ROM Date 11.14.06
->Radio version: 1.27.00.00
->Protocol version: 32.60.7020.06H
->ExtROM version: 1.35.255.102
===========================
MDA III
MDA Compact
===========================
 
YYYYY
Old
#3  
YYYYY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tunis
Extract this package, and copy all files to the windows directory via Resco Explorer(alle files(.DLL) muts be visible, look at the options of this app) and overwrite the existing files, then softreset, Im not sure if this will work for you, so be sure and make a backup first!
http://www.poigps.com/users/emme/CameraGPS.rar
 
ww2250
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 355
Join Date: Mar 2007
It really seems a software problem, probably some rom files or registries got corrupted. A reinstall may help, if not, you may still need the ultimate hard reset
 
jeffbeach
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2007
I wound uptaking my 810 back to the Dopod service center. The guy said they had to replace my camera. What that means and if that can actually be done I am not sure. I would guess they replaced an entire board. They did re-flash the ROM on my phone as well. Prioir to taking the phone in for service I had not tried to re-flash the rom. I had only done a hard reset with no success.

One side light of my camera going down is... They put the same ROM back on my phone that was previously installed. After the service I have noticed that my GPS gets a "cold" fix much faster than before (twice as fast +/-)
 
eldaria
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Interesting, I had this exact same error, but on my previous phone, a Samsung D900.
They tried everything, including completely wiping the phone, but nothing helped so in the end they replaced the camera in the phone.
 
landwomble
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 913
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default i had this on a tornado

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldaria View Post
Interesting, I had this exact same error, but on my previous phone, a Samsung D900.
They tried everything, including completely wiping the phone, but nothing helped so in the end they replaced the camera in the phone.
...turned out to be hardware, too.
 
timmey78
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 61
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ślesund
Default mainboard error on mine

htc service replaced the camera module twice before they replaced mainboard and cured my phone. I had this problem the first 6 months with my p3600.
Try taking a softreset with the camera on. this worked for me a couple of times
Regards
 
Hobbit_CZ
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Possible solution

Possible solution http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=384854
Simply take out battery for at least 15 minutes.
 
xiance78
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Having the same problem but on front camera ..

Hi,

I having a similar problem but with my secondary (front side) camera. I'm using Dopod D810 with WM6.0.

So, any solutions on this ?

Regards,

Daneal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more