Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

HTC Homeplug Weather fix - get your LOCAL weather! [New universal patch uploaded!]

29th January 2008, 09:01 PM   |  #1001  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

That's rather interesting to know - I wonder if it's something to do with AKU 2.3... I'll update the first post accordingly. Thanks for the feedback!

Well AKU3.3 has some changes in the GPRS connection behaviour I noticed.
I am now able to run connections over multiple APN's (ie Blackberry RIM and Vodafone simultaneously). This has also afected TomTom6.03 behaviour (with previous AKU it started mute if i had an active GPRS connection, now it works like suppoesed)
Last edited by edsub; 29th January 2008 at 11:38 PM.
30th January 2008, 02:16 AM   |  #1002  
wpbear's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus, GA
Thanks Meter: 20
 
1,554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Interesting:

Caribbean location for St Maarten works but any of the three choices for US Virgin Islands do not work. Using 3 BTN HTC Home.
30th January 2008, 11:22 AM   |  #1003  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpbear

Interesting:

Caribbean location for St Maarten works but any of the three choices for US Virgin Islands do not work. Using 3 BTN HTC Home.

Um, that'd be why you add your own? *confused look* Use a zip code, or get a code from AccuWeather.
31st January 2008, 02:31 AM   |  #1004  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Error when creating Cab file
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Packager\N2A-Packager\tools\htchome.dll
The system cannot find the file specified.
Uncompressed file detected. Compressing with UPX...
upx: htchome.dll: IOException: file is write protected -- skipped
Preparing cabinet install...
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Packager\N2A-Packager\
tools\htchome.dll

================================================== =====================
Process is complete, and was successful!
Install the cabfile which has been placed in this folder to your phone.
================================================== =====================

I did post the file in the tools folder and ran the batch file. Also, I am using T-Mobile Web in the US. I am not the most technical person with cell phone hacks so any and all information on how I can get the weather to work using T-Mobile Web in the US is greatly greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance...
Last edited by tenizkid; 31st January 2008 at 02:40 AM.
31st January 2008, 09:36 AM   |  #1005  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Wink
from italy thanck to arjov & N2A for the touch dual'S htchome.dll patched!

it work great!
31st January 2008, 12:58 PM   |  #1006  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenizkid

Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Packager\N2A-Packager\tools\htchome.dll
The system cannot find the file specified.
Uncompressed file detected. Compressing with UPX...
upx: htchome.dll: IOException: file is write protected -- skipped
Preparing cabinet install...
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Packager\N2A-Packager\
tools\htchome.dll

================================================== =====================
Process is complete, and was successful!
Install the cabfile which has been placed in this foldto your phone.
================================================== =====================

I did post the file in the tools folder and ran the batch file. Also, I am using T-Mobile Web in the US. I am not the most technical person with cell phone hacks so any and all information on how I can get the weather to work using T-Mobile Web in the US is greatly greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance...

You're not supposed to put the DLL in the tools folder, you're supposed to put it in the folder above (the "N2A-Packager" folder). Also, the packager doesn't patch anything - that is purely if you have an already-patched DLL. You may wish to use the N2A Universal Patch Package if you don't have an already-patched DLL.
31st January 2008, 11:22 PM   |  #1007  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

You're not supposed to put the DLL in the tools folder, you're supposed to put it in the folder above (the "N2A-Packager" folder). Also, the packager doesn't patch anything - that is purely if you have an already-patched DLL. You may wish to use the N2A Universal Patch Package if you don't have an already-patched DLL.

I did as mentioned and am using the N2A Universal Patch Package. I put the HTCHome.dll in the folder as you mentioned. The following is the error I get:

The system cannot find the file specified.
File not found - unpatched.dll
grep: unpatched.dll: No such file or directory
Performing patch...
Reading from unpatched.dll...
Error opening input file unpatched.dll
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Patcher\N2A-Patcher\to
ols\unpatched.dll
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Patcher\N2A-Patcher\to
ols\patched.dll
================================================== =====================
Process failed! Unable to patch the HTCHome.dll file correctly.
Either this file has already been patched, or something has gone wrong.
If you are sure the file is not pre-patched, please report this error
on the XDA-Developers forums, using the link from
http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== =====================

Press a key to exit.
1st February 2008, 08:18 AM   |  #1008  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I feel like such a noob.

"There is no application associated with "n2a-patcher". Run the application first, then open the file from within the application.

Been at this for hours... dll file in the folder before tools with the patcher. Searched the entire thread, to no answer. Any help?
1st February 2008, 01:41 PM   |  #1009  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sullivan26

I feel like such a noob.

"There is no application associated with "n2a-patcher". Run the application first, then open the file from within the application.

Been at this for hours... dll file in the folder before tools with the patcher. Searched the entire thread, to no answer. Any help?

Running Windows 98 perchance, or something similar? It's a .cmd file, which was designed to be used with the Win2K or above command interpreter. I have however renamed them to .bat in the new packages, which should work on any Windows operating system. Grab yourself a fresh download from the download page.
1st February 2008, 01:43 PM   |  #1010  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenizkid

I did as mentioned and am using the N2A Universal Patch Package. I put the HTCHome.dll in the folder as you mentioned. The following is the error I get:

The system cannot find the file specified.
File not found - unpatched.dll
grep: unpatched.dll: No such file or directory
Performing patch...
Reading from unpatched.dll...
Error opening input file unpatched.dll
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Patcher\N2A-Patcher\to
ols\unpatched.dll
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Desktop\N2A-Patcher\N2A-Patcher\to
ols\patched.dll
================================================== =====================
Process failed! Unable to patch the HTCHome.dll file correctly.
Either this file has already been patched, or something has gone wrong.
If you are sure the file is not pre-patched, please report this error
on the XDA-Developers forums, using the link from
http://weather.not2advanced.com/files/
================================================== =====================

Press a key to exit.

The first message, the "The system cannot find the file specified." suggests it's not finding the htchome.dll file at all for the initial copy, which is weird - it should abort before going any further.

I've repackaged them, with a specific text file saying exactly where to put the DLL file - try the new package from the download page, and let me know if you still have the same issue.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes