Thread Deleted

Treo 750 WM6 Rom questions

1st August 2007, 01:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
I have a few questions in regards to the Treo 750 WM6 rom

Will the AT&T rom work within Australia?
If no why not?

What skillsets are required to make your own rom?


I sincerely thank you for any help.
1st August 2007, 02:37 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
This should be in the technical discussion. No need for a new thread.

Moderator, can you delete this thread, please?
1st August 2007, 02:49 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Hi snowdonx, welcome to xda-dev.

I don't see why it wouldn't work in Australia - but I can't say for sure so someone else will have to give you a definitive answer there.

As far as making your own ROMs - everything you need to know can be learned here. I'd suggest reading some of the newer guides in the Hermes forum to get started.

To give you a head start - there's a couple basic things to be aware of. First, newer devices like the Hermes and Treo 750 will not allow flashing of custom ROMs, or more correctly, ROMs that aren't signed with a carrier or manufacturer certificate. The bootloader (SPL) enforces this. So the first step in getting custom ROMs on a device is putting in place a modified bootloader that allows unsinged ROMs. The number of folks who can do this is very limited compared to the number of folks who can build customer ROMs.

Creating the ROMs, in a nutshell, involves dumping an existing ROM using tools available here, making modifications, rebuilding the ROM, and flashing.

Hope you enjoy your stay here. =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

I have a few questions in regards to the Treo 750 WM6 rom

Will the AT&T rom work within Australia?
If no why not?

What skillsets are required to make your own rom?


I sincerely thank you for any help.

1st August 2007, 05:28 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Has anyone with a Treo 750 successfully used the WM6 AT&T ROM within Australia?
1st August 2007, 05:44 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by summiter

Hi snowdonx, welcome to xda-dev.

I don't see why it wouldn't work in Australia - but I can't say for sure so someone else will have to give you a definitive answer there.

Why would you forsee it to work?
1st August 2007, 07:31 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
AUS
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

Has anyone with a Treo 750 successfully used the WM6 AT&T ROM within Australia?

Yup. Works a treat on Telstra and if you read through the thread you will see it works on Optus and Vodafone too.
1st August 2007, 07:36 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
and Three too
1st August 2007, 07:43 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Does it work on the NextG network on Telstra? i'm pretty sure it should since HSDPA is included on the Treo ROM Upgrade... and how do I get the telstra software and settings onto the treo as well? Do I need to unlock the sim at all?
1st August 2007, 10:54 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amberzombie

and Three too

I second that.
1st August 2007, 05:35 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

Why would you forsee it to work?

wow.......

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes