FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

Treo 750 WM6 Rom questions

13 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By snowdonx, Junior Member on 1st August 2007, 01:50 AM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have a few questions in regards to the Treo 750 WM6 rom

Will the AT&T rom work within Australia?
If no why not?

What skillsets are required to make your own rom?


I sincerely thank you for any help.
 
 
1st August 2007, 02:37 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This should be in the technical discussion. No need for a new thread.

Moderator, can you delete this thread, please?
1st August 2007, 02:49 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hi snowdonx, welcome to xda-dev.

I don't see why it wouldn't work in Australia - but I can't say for sure so someone else will have to give you a definitive answer there.

As far as making your own ROMs - everything you need to know can be learned here. I'd suggest reading some of the newer guides in the Hermes forum to get started.

To give you a head start - there's a couple basic things to be aware of. First, newer devices like the Hermes and Treo 750 will not allow flashing of custom ROMs, or more correctly, ROMs that aren't signed with a carrier or manufacturer certificate. The bootloader (SPL) enforces this. So the first step in getting custom ROMs on a device is putting in place a modified bootloader that allows unsinged ROMs. The number of folks who can do this is very limited compared to the number of folks who can build customer ROMs.

Creating the ROMs, in a nutshell, involves dumping an existing ROM using tools available here, making modifications, rebuilding the ROM, and flashing.

Hope you enjoy your stay here. =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

I have a few questions in regards to the Treo 750 WM6 rom

Will the AT&T rom work within Australia?
If no why not?

What skillsets are required to make your own rom?


I sincerely thank you for any help.

1st August 2007, 05:28 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Has anyone with a Treo 750 successfully used the WM6 AT&T ROM within Australia?
1st August 2007, 05:44 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by summiter

Hi snowdonx, welcome to xda-dev.

I don't see why it wouldn't work in Australia - but I can't say for sure so someone else will have to give you a definitive answer there.

Why would you forsee it to work?
1st August 2007, 07:31 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
AUS
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

Has anyone with a Treo 750 successfully used the WM6 AT&T ROM within Australia?

Yup. Works a treat on Telstra and if you read through the thread you will see it works on Optus and Vodafone too.
1st August 2007, 07:36 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
and Three too
1st August 2007, 07:43 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does it work on the NextG network on Telstra? i'm pretty sure it should since HSDPA is included on the Treo ROM Upgrade... and how do I get the telstra software and settings onto the treo as well? Do I need to unlock the sim at all?
1st August 2007, 10:54 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amberzombie

and Three too

I second that.
1st August 2007, 05:35 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdonx

Why would you forsee it to work?

wow.......
14th August 2007, 08:12 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Hi, I'm in Aus aswell and thinking of getting an unlocked 750V from ebay......just a question about how the IMEI is changed after upgrading to the UNOFFICIAL WM6, what will happen if the OFFICIAL WM6 rom becomes available...are we able to upgrade without problems....i know this has been asked before on other threads but no one seems to know the answer......i guess those that have upgraded to the leaked roms will find out when they try to upgrade the official rom when it becomes available......

Read More
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes