App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

steps to upgrade using vista

3rd September 2007, 11:45 PM   |  #1  
krishan2207's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 6
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
hi
here i m writing the steps necessory to run upgrade utility on vista. You need to do this only once.

1. install some zipping utility like WINRAR.
2. Right click on the setup file of activesync 4.5.
3. Extract activesync 4.5 on any location.
4. Run Windows Mobile Device Center and click on Connection Settings.
5. Uncheck the Allow USB Connections and click OK.
6. Run task manager and go to services tab and check the services 'Windows
Mobile-based connectivity' and Windows Mobile 2003-based connectivity'
are started. If not, click the services button at bottom and go to next pop
up page.
7. Click the service name and press the 'play' button on the top bar.
8. Start Device Manager.Expand the 'Mobile devices' section and click
the 'HTC USB Sync.
9. Right Click and Update Driver Software.
10. Click 'Browse my computer for driver software on pop up screen.
11. Click Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer.
12. Click Have Disk.
13. Click 'Browse', and browse to the location where you extracted the
activesync 4.5 in 3rd step.
14. Double click wceusbsh.inf.
15. Select HTC USB Sync from the list and click Next.
16. Finish the installation process.
17. Run Task Manager Then find the WMDC.EXE and click End Process.
18. Now run the update utility and done ur update.
19. when you want to start syncing normally again run Windows Mobile
Device Center enable the allow USB connection as you disabled in step 5.
Last edited by krishan2207; 4th September 2007 at 04:14 AM.
8th October 2007, 08:03 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
It's not correct! ...if i Uncheck the Allow USB Connections the device is not present in the list ...

The drivers not recognized by Vista....
Have you a solution?
5th November 2007, 10:57 PM   |  #3  
krishan2207's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 6
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikitaSor

It's not correct! ...if i Uncheck the Allow USB Connections the device is not present in the list ...

The drivers not recognized by Vista....
Have you a solution?

put ur phone in bootloader and cradel it u will see vista will detect it.
Last edited by krishan2207; 20th August 2008 at 09:44 AM.
5th November 2007, 11:12 PM   |  #4  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 9,354
 
10
23,374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
There are simple instructions here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ighlight=vista
5th November 2007, 11:29 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Have you ever heard about the wiki?
6th May 2008, 08:18 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Vista must die today!!!!
6th May 2008, 09:41 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
If only new users spend some time reading wiki, everything is there... When I had to upgrade using windows vista, it worked the first time... I just read and follow the step by step instruction from wiki...
6th May 2008, 04:03 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Thumbs up
Thanks, it's work!!!
15th August 2008, 03:03 AM   |  #9  
sschrupp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iowa
Thanks Meter: 9
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Dangit, I can get these upgrades to work when I'm at work on an XP machine, but I can't for the life of me get it to work on my home Vista 64bit machines. And yes, I HAVE read the wiki, and this post, and that post and many other posts that all give the same directions.

Disabling driver signature enforcement on the 64bit driver doesn't do any good either. It gives an error trying to install the driver.

You just gotta love computers. A ton of people can get something to work, and then a person that programs for a living will come along and can't get it to work. Makes you feel like a total goober. *sigh*

Maybe I have an old XP machine gathering dust in storage somewhere. *grumble*

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes