Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

VipPimRingTone(9.0) An Application to assign ringtone based on Category

OP v3patel

9th September 2007, 01:56 PM   |  #1  
v3patel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
This thread is copied form http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=1290332 as I believe I put that thred in wrong forum.

This is my First Application Developed
Name : VipPimRIngTone
Description :An Application to assign ringtone based on Category.
Works great on 8125/8525/8925. Let me know any enhamcement Needed.
Also from all others post below it works fine on WM5 or Wm6 with any .netcf version including 3.5

Restriction : THIS APPLICATION ONLY WORKS ON WM5.0 and LATER VERSIONS only
Require: .netcf

Few Screen Shot:



Few Screen Shot:
1. 2. 3. 4.


Version History
-Version 1.1
-- Initial version Basic Functionality

-Version 3.9
-- Added option for ringtone folder location
-- Added Import/export Functionality
-- Few Bug fixes.
-- option to remove ring from group (to allow system global ringtone to be used) >> use Remove/Null option in ring selection

Version 4.2
- better Error logging on importing ring tone
- Support for wma ring tones
- added Some new folders

Version 4.6
- improved error logging
- Now with ring tone it export and import category as well.
- bug fixed when press cancel button in export.

Version 5.0
- Major UI changes
- Minor bug fix

Version 5.5
- Multiple Category bug fix

Version 6.1.1.0
- Added support for app2date
- Added support for to load ring tone based on XML file
-- Sample xml file File name must be VipPimRingTone.config and must located in same dire where app exists

Version 7.7.0.0
- Added command line parameter to import/export setting
e.g VipPimRingtone /importsetting [1 or 2 or 3] where 1 = ask what to do, 2 = replace if null 3 = replace withput asking
or VipPimRingTone /exportsetting . vrt file will be created in same directory where main application is with date stamp
- fixed some bugs list in this forums
- fixed "No ringtome in " bug

Version 8.1.0.0
- Quick fix for MS Active sync error
- Fix folder selection

Version 8.9.0.0
- Quick fix for MS Active sync error
- New Fix folder selection which can support ringtone in any folder. Even it Should work in non-enlish rom's


Version 9.0 ( Current)
- Quick fix for bug posted in this forum


--
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuration>
<VipAppSettings>
<add Category="Business" RingTone="\Windows\Ring\r1.mp3" />
<add Category="VipPimRingTone Users" RingTone="\Windows\Rings\myfav.mp3" />
<add Category="Relative" RingTone="\Windows\Rings\r2.mp3" />
</VipAppSettings>
</configuration>
-- If file does not exists then program creates one when it get started.

FAQ:


Quote:

How to remove Ring tone assigned to Contacts

Code:
  1. Start VipPIMRingtone
  2. go to category tab (wait till all category populated)
  3. Select All Categories
  4. Select Remove/null/NoRingtone Option on Ring list
  5. Select proper OpTion
  6. and then click Assign Button
In short set option to "Replace current Ringtone" set Ring to "Remove/null/NoRingtone" and set category to "ALL categories" to completely remove all Ringtone from all contacts.

Use it at your own risk. If you like my work then please <<Donate>>
Attached Files
File Type: cab VipRingTone81.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (49.1 KB, 1464 views)
File Type: cab VipPimRingTone90.cab - [Click for QR Code] (61.6 KB, 1390 views)
Last edited by v3patel; 29th June 2010 at 09:46 PM. Reason: New Version 9.0
17th October 2007, 05:58 PM   |  #2  
programatix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
2,225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
Not working on WM2003SE
17th October 2007, 06:02 PM   |  #3  
CWKJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
901 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Downloaded.

Will try later.
17th October 2007, 08:22 PM   |  #4  
scar45's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 1,029
 
968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Donate to Me
More
Hey man,

I grabbed your application and installed it with no problems. I understand how it works and all, but I have one minor issue/bug that would be great to fix. It involves browsing for a new ringtone. Basically, you have a drop-down folder list that won't let you manually type the path to your ringtones. When you click the "..." to browse, it only lets me browse my Storage Card.

I keep my ringtones in \\DEVICE\Application Data\Sounds which is one of the default spots that Windows looks for ringtones. Unfortunately, I cannot browse to that directory within your app, or tell it to look in that dir. I tried everything, but couldn't find a fix.

It's just the only thing that would stop me from using this program. It's great otherwise, as everything else is easy to understand and configure. I had been looking for a program to do this sort of thing (+ use random ringtones for any incoming call, but I'm not even sure if that's possible, as there are no other apps that do it), and yours definitely works for me.

Thanks a lot for coding it up! Looking forward to a fix anytime you get around to it!
13th November 2007, 08:26 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Me too not working... WM2003SE... pls help I need this app... it looks fine
14th November 2007, 02:30 PM   |  #6  
v3patel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Added new Version
Version 4.2
- better Error looging on importing ringtone
- Support for wma ringtones
- added Some new folders
26th November 2007, 03:39 PM   |  #7  
programatix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
2,225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
It would be great if it can remember (save) which ringtone is set for which category. This way, user can reapply the ringtones for the categories if there are new contacts and etc.

Thanks.
26th November 2007, 03:59 PM   |  #8  
v3patel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
My advice: Make a use of import and export
Quote:
Originally Posted by programatix

It would be great if it can remember (save) which ringtone is set for which category. This way, user can reapply the ringtones for the categories if there are new contacts and etc.

Thanks.

One contact can be assined multiple categories. So it is kind of Harder to set up. but export will export current ringtone that you have assigned to individual contacts and import will import those ringtone to same contact if contact exists and ring tone file exists.
27th November 2007, 01:01 PM   |  #9  
programatix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
2,225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by v3patel

One contact can be assined multiple categories. So it is kind of Harder to set up. but export will export current ringtone that you have assigned to individual contacts and import will import those ringtone to same contact if contact exists and ring tone file exists.

Well, currently I'm thinking of a simpler solution. Just let your program saves the ringtone for the category. When the user want to reapply the ringtone, he/she will just go through with the current steps required.

In another words, everything stays the same. Only that, when the user tap a category, the ringtone for that category is loaded from the setting (instead of the user browse for it). So, the user just need to tap the "Assign" button. This is very handy if a user just added a new Contact to a category... and err, like me... forgot which ringtone is used for that category.

Thanks.
29th December 2007, 01:55 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by programatix


In another words, everything stays the same. Only that, when the user tap a category, the ringtone for that category is loaded from the setting (instead of the user browse for it). So, the user just need to tap the "Assign" button. This is very handy if a user just added a new Contact to a category... and err, like me... forgot which ringtone is used for that category.

Thanks.

I fully agree - this would be pretty helpfull feature, please do it!!!
Thanks :D

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes