Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Thread Deleted

Please help - My Excalibur won't boot up.

OP blackbelt013

18th May 2007, 06:24 PM   |  #21  
wm1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Topeka
Thanks Meter: 0
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
I hold both soft keys like I am going to hard reset it and that usually makes it start the first time. Glad I'm not the only one with this happening.
18th May 2007, 08:40 PM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Yes, I hold down the red phone key (end key) to stop the boot cycling. I look forward to someone finding the cause of this behavior.
20th May 2007, 01:28 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Rolling Boot
Had the same problem on my T-Mobile Dash which I had upgraded from WM5 to the official WM6 ROM. Neither of the suggestions above would work. Just a never ending boot, reboot. Did a hard reset but did not load any programs. I had noticed the Newsbreak would load during startup (same with WM5) and it would sometimes hang when reading my RSS feeds. I think the post above about a auto install program is the problem (program on SD).

Ron
20th May 2007, 02:09 PM   |  #24  
McHale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E. Illinois
Thanks Meter: 16
 
1,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
My phone did this when I let the battery go dead (remember, the Dash with WM6 drains battery pretty bad compared to WM5).

I plugged it in and let it charge all the way up. When I turned it on, it was stioll doing it.

Here's what I did to fix it:

Take out the microSD card.

Take out the SIM.

Pull out the battery for 5 mins.

When I turned it on, it complained about not having a SIM card. I clicked through the errors and it took me into Windows. I then shut it down properly and put the rest of the stuff back in. Worked fine after that.

-Mc
20th May 2007, 10:37 PM   |  #25  
lafester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by McHale

My phone did this when I let the battery go dead (remember, the Dash with WM6 drains battery pretty bad compared to WM5).

I plugged it in and let it charge all the way up. When I turned it on, it was stioll doing it.

Here's what I did to fix it:

Take out the microSD card.

Take out the SIM.

Pull out the battery for 5 mins.

When I turned it on, it complained about not having a SIM card. I clicked through the errors and it took me into Windows. I then shut it down properly and put the rest of the stuff back in. Worked fine after that.

-Mc

my battery was draining faster too until i remembered to uncheck the "recieve incoming beams" box. now my batt life is the same if not better.
23rd May 2007, 08:28 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Does that setting refer to Bluetooth? How does it save power if Bluetooth is shut off... and... if Bluetooth is on, and the setting is unchecked, does Bluetooth use less power? Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lafester

my battery was draining faster too until i remembered to uncheck the "recieve incoming beams" box. now my batt life is the same if not better.

24th May 2007, 04:46 AM   |  #27  
lafester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
has nothing to do with bluetooth.

i think it has to do with infrared communication.
24th May 2007, 05:11 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
That doesn't sound correct... The Dash doesn't have infrared, though it does have the function of 'beaming' contacts via bluetooth (as well as receiving 'beamed' contacts via bluetooth).

Quote:
Originally Posted by lafester

has nothing to do with bluetooth.

i think it has to do with infrared communication.

24th May 2007, 10:38 PM   |  #29  
lafester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
either way, battery life improves with it turned off.
26th May 2007, 07:52 AM   |  #30  
Banned
Thanks Meter: 0
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Exclamation The Problem Is In The SD Card And The Windows\StartUp\ Folder
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfsmithsr

Had the same problem on my T-Mobile Dash which I had upgraded from WM5 to the official WM6 ROM. Neither of the suggestions above would work. Just a never ending boot, reboot. Did a hard reset but did not load any programs. I had noticed the Newsbreak would load during startup (same with WM5) and it would sometimes hang when reading my RSS feeds. I think the post above about a auto install program is the problem (program on SD).

Ron

Guys look in the \Windows\StartUp\ folder and see if you can find a file call the \SDdaemon\ file. I believe this file is not suppose to be in the Dash period, now I could be wrong, but when I deleted this file, the [SDdaemon file] and deleted Newsbreake, the cycle of rebooting stop immediately. Somebody gave me a home screen to download, thats when the cycle of rebooting started on my Dash! Let me know what you find on your Dash, because I can tell you more by the results you find! P.S I found out its not the [Sddaemon file], it was Newsbreake!
Last edited by Intergalactic; 26th May 2007 at 08:35 AM.

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes