Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,856 Members 38,990 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Magnetic Screen Rotation Sensor?

Tip us?
 
jetjock
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Magnetic Screen Rotation Sensor?

The Hermes uses a magnetic sensor to determine when the keyboard has been fully opened and triggers the switch to landscape mode and back.

This causes my screen to switch to landscape mode every time I put it into my Seidio case with a magnetic cover latch and I have to wait for the screen to switch back to portrait whenever I remove it.

Can any current owners tell if the Kaiser works the same way?

Thanks in advance.
 
jetjock
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jan 2005
Bump.

Anybody. . . Buehler. . . .Buelher. . .
 
MikeChannon
Old
#3  
MikeChannon's Avatar
Forum Administrator
Thanks Meter 3,720
Posts: 11,290
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetjock View Post
The Hermes uses a magnetic sensor to determine when the keyboard has been fully opened and triggers the switch to landscape mode and back.

This causes my screen to switch to landscape mode every time I put it into my Seidio case with a magnetic cover latch and I have to wait for the screen to switch back to portrait whenever I remove it.

Can any current owners tell if the Kaiser works the same way?

Thanks in advance.
The answer is yes it does use a magnet operated switch.

BUT - the Kaiser rotates the screen much much faster than the TyTn and so even if you use a magnet to rotate the screen it instantly goes back when you take away the magnet. In fact I carry mine in a Hermes magnetic case and not once have I seen it in the wrong orientation.

Mike
Forum Administrator
 
jetjock
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jan 2005
Thanks for the info.

I'll plan on keeping the same case in that case
 
Stormdog
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2006
Is there any way to DISABLE the screen rotation?

I frequently accidentally slide out the keyboard, causing the rotation.
 
mikeeey
Old
#6  
mikeeey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 1,227
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everett, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormdog View Post
Is there any way to DISABLE the screen rotation?

I frequently accidentally slide out the keyboard, causing the rotation.
yes, kaisertweak and advancedconfig allows you disable the device comming out of standby and rotating.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more