Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi won't turn on.

OP Balur

9th April 2009, 08:00 PM   |  #21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by orb3000

Welcome to the forum

Try doing a hard reset or flashing another ROM

Good luck and don´t forget to vote!


I have a freind with the same problem.

I try to :

Update the ROM's, try several
Update the Radio Rom, try 1.09 and 1.18
Hard Reset several times
Soft reset several Times
Use alternative software, to turn on the WIFI.

And always no sucess.

What I have read is that in Athena PDA, some times during the process of Unlocking or upgrade, the device can loose the MAC ADDRES. I think is because of CID lock....

They develop an utility to set a new mac address , but I don't think it works on Universal.

I try to find a way to see the mac adresss of WLAN Card, but all the tools (ex: vxipconfig) can only see the mac addres if the wifi is turned on .

Also read something about the possibility to create a script vjvolubilis to turn on the wifi and run it before conmanager... Din't try....
9th April 2009, 09:13 PM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
I Find this topic....

Can anybody check if it's possible to read the mac address?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=355037


unfortonley my universal is dead for a long time , and I can't check....
9th April 2009, 09:48 PM   |  #23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
From Athena forum:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=387454

WIFI doesnt start

Same here, I'm also unable to start wifi in the comm manager.

----


Some people here where able to find mac address in Prophet device:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=354848

"
Off course it will not work, different doc and different addresses
It is your cid block at n1, not the SPL, please use pdocread.exe like this
Pdocread.exe -n 0 0 0xaf0000 spl.nb
pdocread -n 1 0 0x40000 cidblock.bin
pdocread -n 1 0x40000 0x4000 -b 0x4000 gsmdata.bin
compress the files using 7-zip ultra compression and send them to my mail
I'll try to help

or the MAC adress can be found @ offset 3e5c in gsmdata.bin

"


Can we try to find where the mac address is ,and then use this info to write new mac on broken devices ?

Anybody help ?
9th April 2009, 10:44 PM   |  #24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
can anybody help to find:

offset of gsm.
offset of mac addrfess
?
29th April 2009, 11:12 PM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Smile
maybe all dead wifi people will get luck soon ...
30th April 2009, 08:31 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
please explain! I ran out of patience!
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulorosa

maybe all dead wifi people will get luck soon ...

4th May 2009, 09:08 PM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I seem to have the same problem with my Benq-Siemens P51.
WiFi just won't turn on and if it accidentally does, it will never find an open network and has the MAC 00-00-00-00-00-00

Any hints or solutions are welcome!

Cheers,
Egika
4th May 2009, 09:59 PM   |  #28  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,043
 
22,288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egika

I seem to have the same problem with my Benq-Siemens P51.
WiFi just won't turn on and if it accidentally does, it will never find an open network and has the MAC 00-00-00-00-00-00

Any hints or solutions are welcome!

Cheers,
Egika

Welcome to the forum

perhaps you havent noticed but this is an HTC DEVICES ONLY FORUM and solving problems with Universal does means that will be the same for your device...

Anyway good luck,
6th May 2009, 12:44 AM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
i seem to be having the same problem with [Tomal v8.71] WM6.1 New Build: 21028.1.6.1 on my uni

i can see networks fine but when i try and connect it just keep asking me for the key again over and over eney iders eney one?

Edit: would updating my rom to "[UPDATED: Tomal v8.81] WM6.1 - Hybrid Build: 21042.1.6.0" help this problem has eney one els got there wifi working on there uni with this rom ? eney help would he much appreciated


Thank you Dealer
Last edited by Dealergoods; 6th May 2009 at 12:53 AM.
6th May 2009, 07:22 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
@Dealergoods:

You definitely seem to have a different problem...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes