Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 46,560 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi won't turn on.

Tip us?
 
paulorosa
Old
#21  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by orb3000 View Post
Welcome to the forum

Try doing a hard reset or flashing another ROM

Good luck and don´t forget to vote!

I have a freind with the same problem.

I try to :

Update the ROM's, try several
Update the Radio Rom, try 1.09 and 1.18
Hard Reset several times
Soft reset several Times
Use alternative software, to turn on the WIFI.

And always no sucess.

What I have read is that in Athena PDA, some times during the process of Unlocking or upgrade, the device can loose the MAC ADDRES. I think is because of CID lock....

They develop an utility to set a new mac address , but I don't think it works on Universal.

I try to find a way to see the mac adresss of WLAN Card, but all the tools (ex: vxipconfig) can only see the mac addres if the wifi is turned on .

Also read something about the possibility to create a script vjvolubilis to turn on the wifi and run it before conmanager... Din't try....
 
paulorosa
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2006
I Find this topic....

Can anybody check if it's possible to read the mac address?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=355037


unfortonley my universal is dead for a long time , and I can't check....
 
paulorosa
Old
#23  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2006
From Athena forum:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=387454

WIFI doesnt start

Same here, I'm also unable to start wifi in the comm manager.

----


Some people here where able to find mac address in Prophet device:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=354848

"
Off course it will not work, different doc and different addresses
It is your cid block at n1, not the SPL, please use pdocread.exe like this
Pdocread.exe -n 0 0 0xaf0000 spl.nb
pdocread -n 1 0 0x40000 cidblock.bin
pdocread -n 1 0x40000 0x4000 -b 0x4000 gsmdata.bin
compress the files using 7-zip ultra compression and send them to my mail
I'll try to help

or the MAC adress can be found @ offset 3e5c in gsmdata.bin

"


Can we try to find where the mac address is ,and then use this info to write new mac on broken devices ?

Anybody help ?
 
paulorosa
Old
#24  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2006
can anybody help to find:

offset of gsm.
offset of mac addrfess
?
 
paulorosa
Old
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2006
maybe all dead wifi people will get luck soon ...
 
pwel
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 327
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default please explain! I ran out of patience!

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulorosa View Post
maybe all dead wifi people will get luck soon ...
 
Egika
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Nov 2008
I seem to have the same problem with my Benq-Siemens P51.
WiFi just won't turn on and if it accidentally does, it will never find an open network and has the MAC 00-00-00-00-00-00

Any hints or solutions are welcome!

Cheers,
Egika
 
orb3000
Old
#28  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,036
Posts: 22,283
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egika View Post
I seem to have the same problem with my Benq-Siemens P51.
WiFi just won't turn on and if it accidentally does, it will never find an open network and has the MAC 00-00-00-00-00-00

Any hints or solutions are welcome!

Cheers,
Egika
Welcome to the forum

perhaps you havent noticed but this is an HTC DEVICES ONLY FORUM and solving problems with Universal does means that will be the same for your device...

Anyway good luck,
orb


HTC Butterfly 2 - HTC One M8 - HTC Universal

XDA is about developing and is for developers. Any user that recognizes that will gain the most benefit from this site


 
This is and always will be a site for developers, pure and simple. Without them we are nothing, without them there would be no reason for XDA Developers to exist; we should never ever forget that. Without them this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.

Previous devices: HTC: Treo 650 - Excalibur - Diamond - Diamond 2 - Maple - HD2 - Rhodium - Desire Z - Desire HD - Vivid - Sensation - One V - One X - Titan II - One X+ - DNA - Butterfly
 
Dealergoods
Old
(Last edited by Dealergoods; 5th May 2009 at 11:53 PM.)
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2007
i seem to be having the same problem with [Tomal v8.71] WM6.1 New Build: 21028.1.6.1 on my uni

i can see networks fine but when i try and connect it just keep asking me for the key again over and over eney iders eney one?

Edit: would updating my rom to "[UPDATED: Tomal v8.81] WM6.1 - Hybrid Build: 21042.1.6.0" help this problem has eney one els got there wifi working on there uni with this rom ? eney help would he much appreciated


Thank you Dealer
 
Egika
Old
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Nov 2008
@Dealergoods:

You definitely seem to have a different problem...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more