Post Reply

Restore from hard-reset

OP gogol

4th October 2007, 02:33 PM   |  #1  
gogol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
3,412 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
I have this question for a long time.

I have never do a restore nor replacing ROM.

I always afraid to do that. I did hard-reset once with this new Kaiser but at that time I did not install a lot of applications, so I re-installed one-by-one.

So, what would be the correct "backup -> hard-reset -> restore" cycle?

I was thinking like this:

1. Make backup using SpriteBackup
2. Disconnect from ActiveSync
3. Do hard-reset (or change ROM)
4. Reconnect to ActiveSync
5. Install SpriteBackup again
6. Do restore using SpriteBackup

After this, will the state will be EXACTLY the same before hard-reset?

Or do I need to do something else? Or the above procedure is wrong.

Please if you can correct me, or convince me

Thanks.
4th October 2007, 03:01 PM   |  #2  
hanmin's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Devon, UK
Thanks Meter: 9
 
1,937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
For a start, I would not recommend Sprite Backup for a hardreset on the purpose of changing ROM (i.e. Sprite Backup may mess up your new ROM).

As for other issues, you may have problems with your SD-Card encryption feature (WM6) if you had it enabled.
4th October 2007, 03:24 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Forget the activesync stuff too... not necessary.

Plus if you make a backup that is an executable file (see options in Sprite Backup) then you don't need to re-install it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes