Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,293 Members 39,139 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

how to install tom tom voices...

Tip us?
 
e-dub
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 262
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BNA
Default how to install tom tom voices...

i can't find it, and i've been searching for well over a week on the forum. a little help, please?

eric b
k-day: 09.19.2007

my lineage:

htc apache -> htc titan -> unlocked/unbranded htc kaiser (switched to at+t) -> htc raphael -> nexus one -> nexus s -> samsung focus (just to check out windows phone 7, it's nice!) -> galaxy nexus -> nexus 4
 
dolbe
Old
#2  
dolbe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 119
Join Date: Apr 2006
the voice files come in three parts the .vif the .chk and .bmp you need all 3 of the files of the corisponding voice to put into the voice folder thats in your root directory on you sd card
 
Deathace
Old
#3  
Deathace's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sitting here aint I
as said above make sure you have all 3 files, create a directory in the root of your microsd card called voices and then paste the 3 files into it. Open TomTom and go to the change voices under the settings and then scroll right until you find the voice you added.

I use version 6.010 because it allows me to have the changed data.chk file in the main tomtom dir which then has the speed camera warning voice of liz whitaker rather than the bell chime moo etc.

Russ
Model: WIZA200 (MDA Vario)
Rom: 2.18.0.0 WWE
Rom Date: 14/02/06 (UK Format)
Radio: 02.25.11
Protocol: 4.1.13.12
IPL/SPL: 3.08/3.08
OS: WM6 5.2.318 (Build 15341.4.0.01) Faria V5.0

Model: KAIS130 (MDA Vario III)
Rom: 1.56.110.4
Rom Date: 01/09/07 (UK Format)
Radio: 1.27.12.11
Protocol: 22.45.88.07H
OS: WM6 5.2.1620 (Build 18125.0.4.2) OEM
 
Capt Fiero
Old
#4  
Capt Fiero's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 192
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Surrey
I need some more help here. I have spent hours fighting with this.

I installed TomTom from my MicroSD card and told it to install to device. Which it did. I have tried putting the voice files in the root of the SD card, tried putting them in a folder called voices in the root, I think I have tried them in every conceivable place on the device itself and can't get it to work. I accidentally got a Yoda voice to work but now can't figure out where I put the voice file to make it work. I had to flash my rom and now that voice is gone too. Is there a TomTom FAQ someplace on the net that people can go over.
Homepage http://www.captfiero.com
HTC Hermes and HTC Dream
 
MAXPOW3R
Old
#5  
MAXPOW3R's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Does this help?:

http://www.tomtom.com/support/catego...oices&FID=7182
 
shadowsgreen
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hi there,
I also had the same problem, when I first bought my kaiser. There was a thread here in this forum telling how to rectify it. I vaguely remember going to the start>settings>connections>bluetooth. Then enabling the blue tooth explorer before installing the voices did the trick. But Now I did a hard reset and the problem is back again. So if u could find the solution please post it here...I couldnt find the orginal post.
 
shadowsgreen
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Please check this thread..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=339992

Download it directly from kaiser by clicking on the tomtom plus services.
 
NotATreoFan
Old
#8  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee Working for the Weekend
Thanks Meter 4500
Posts: 14,449
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eastern Seaboard
It you have a problem with TomTom seeing new voices you added, then you have to delete the reference file in the voice directory TomTom uses to organize the different voices. Once you delete this file (sorry I forget what it is called), then on the next launch, TomTom should see all of your new voices.




Contact the Moderator Committee with any questions or concerns regarding forum moderation.

Please MENTION me if you require semi-prompt assistance. I may not see posts for several hours.


Twitter | Portal | Forum Moderator List
 
JaySHO
Old
(Last edited by JaySHO; 1st May 2008 at 02:43 PM.)
#9  
JaySHO's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
All I had to do was put the 3 files for each voice I wanted into the voice folder. This folder is located in the "my device" > "program files" > "navigator" > "voices". Then when you start the program, go to the voice preference settings. It will ask you if you want to use voices in your language or all languages. Choose "all languages". Scroll backwards through the voices and before long you should see the voices that you added to the folder.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...