Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: For Vista Users: Was this helpful?
Yes 138 73.02%
No 51 26.98%
Voters: 189. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Deleted

Updated!!(10/20/2007) UPGRADE YOUR PHONE WITH WINDOWS VISTA!!! PROVEN METHOD!

OP dharvey4651

19th May 2010, 03:50 PM   |  #91  
RoryB's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Lexington
Thanks Meter: 749
 
2,839 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by igotit989

So im new to flashing phones and i got a 8125 (3g) for free for my wife it comes locked to at&t (cingular) and that dont really matter to me as we have at&t but it has WM5 and i would like to change that to a newer one and my laptop has windows 7 64bit i know i have to unlock it to upgrade it ive read everything in here and tried to get it to work but sofar with nothing at all.

Have you read all these threads?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=285435
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=249474
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=305225
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=263116
You have to read to decide which method you want to try.
I do not remember which one I decided on.
20th May 2010, 01:10 AM   |  #92  
Junior Member
Flag Portland Oregon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thanks for the links ive gone through them all and still not haveing any luck it seems like that problem im running in to is the software dosent work with windows 7 ive tried running in compadabilty and none if it works and my laptops only have home premium (64bit) i tried to get the stuff to run virtual xp but havent had any luck doing that.
any other ideas maybe some newer software for windows 7? it seems everything was made right around the time Vista was still new. lol maybe ill have to see if i have some old parts laying round and make a xp system for just doing this phone.
my phone is a Iphone 3gs and im running the 4.0 beta 4 on it
20th May 2010, 03:28 AM   |  #93  
RoryB's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Lexington
Thanks Meter: 749
 
2,839 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Probably won't find a newer version. Our old Wizards seem to be just hanging on by those few of us that still have them. You will probably have to use a XP machine. Once you get it unlocked, you can run the RUU in VISTA. This is what I do. I unlocked my phone with my XP machine and now it has been upgraded to VISTA 64.
22nd May 2010, 07:18 AM   |  #94  
Junior Member
Flag Portland Oregon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thanks for the help got it working i had to build a Xp system lol Nothing like have a pile of parts and no case running but now my Wizard is running great i loaded [WM6.5.x][6.5.1.7 - 23085] made by md_bluelily's
24th May 2010, 11:22 PM   |  #95  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
mba tmobile need help
Dear Sir oir madam, We need your help! Our mda tmobile lost its wifi. It wifi hardware or software?

Also the back up mda ph(wifi) but a/c charger plug broken. Should you use CA glue or solder?

We have the service manual for the mda tmobile. we will email it if you want it.

upgraded to 6.5 rom, easy with exe. called x2h_wm6.5_v4.8c rom. We think that is were we lost the wifi. Thanks, Please advise.
14th September 2011, 11:21 PM   |  #96  
Junior Member
Flag Gaylord
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Talking HTC 8125, Win Mobile 6.5, IPL/SPL 2.26 using Win 7
Here are my notes on upgrading the Cingular 8125 (HTC Wizard) to
Win 6.5 mobile using Win 7 (Vista)


I had been explicitly following :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki..._6_for_newbies

and then for Vista (actually I have Win 7)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=338473

The CID and SIM had been unlocked.

The Drivers for Windows Vista x32 were installed.

VISTA_RUU.zip was downloaded and unzipped.
Everything was fine and then I ran Vista_ROMUpdateUtility.exe.
It goes through the “Viewing ….” and then the “Validating…”
The first acknowledgement screen comes up and is answered.
The second acknowledgement screen comes up and is answered.
The third screen comes up the present device information.
NEXT
You get ERROR [240]:FILE OPEN

After exiting the install, it apparently leaves a process running on
the PDA with the USB port locked, because thereafter I get the
ERROR [264]: CONNECTION message. The only thing that works
is rebooting the PDA into boot mode again which frees the USB
port issue and brings it back to the file open error message.

The problem all stems around the fact that the VISTA_RUU.zip file
does not have a nk.nbf file. Trying to find the correct nk.nbf file with
the correct 2.26 update is disconcerting, since you don’t want to turn
your PDA into a brick.

What I found is that it is not needed. Since the "Windows Mobile
Device Centre" driver has been replaced, the
T-mobile Official WM5 ROM works great and updates it to 2.26
without a problem.

I at random selected a Win 6.5 rom update from
MSD Wizard WM6.5 23085.rar which only provides a nk.nbf
file and put it in the file where I expanded the VISTA_RUU.zip.

I ran the Vista_ROMUpdateUtility.exe and the new Win rom
updated without a flaw.

I reloaded a copy of Spb Mobil Shell 3.1 without incident. It is an
GUI shell of tools and skins for the PDA. I then downloaded the 3.5
Spb update and again with out problems.

I’m truly blown away at what I can do now so simply with the new
GUI interface and the capabilities of Win 6.5 and can’t THANK YOU
enough for all your efforts to keep the user support alive. It’s like I
have a new phone with some modern capabilities on a six year
old phone.

I couldn’t have done it without the knowledge and experience of
those who have gone before me. I hope these notes will help others
to make the leap.
28th February 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #97  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
It's works ! Thank you

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes