Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

"Wireless Modem" vs "Modem link" vs "internet sharing"

OP stw303

23rd October 2007, 06:27 AM   |  #1  
stw303's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Taradale
Thanks Meter: 16
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Guys,
Like a lot of people here, I sometimes use a Notebook PC to connect to my work over VPN via my Universal. I've always used "Modem Link" as it was more reliable than "Wireless Modem".

In the most recent WM6 Roms, "Modem Link" seems to have disappeared, replaced by "Internet Sharing".

My Telco, like a lot of others, uses a NAT'ed IP address to provide GPRS/3G internet connectivity. "Internet Sharing" also uses IP NAT'ing to share the Telco's IP address. This creates a situation where you are NAT'ing a NAT'ed IP address.

To explain further:
1) Real internet ip address: 203.134.56.123
2) It is then NAT'ed by Telco and becomes 10.0.0.1
3) It is then NAT'ed again by "Internet Sharing" to become 192.168.0.1


This situation is fine for normal web browsing, but won't work when using a VPN client(ie: Cisco). Most VPN clients wont tolerate Double-NAT'ing.





Has anyone experienced this scenario?

Are there alternatives to "Wireless Modem" & "Modem Link"?

Is there a "Modem Link" cab floating around that can be installed separately on the newer WM6 ROM?

Or is there any way to get "Wireless Modem" working reliably?



Thanks,
Simon
23rd October 2007, 02:19 PM   |  #2  
beast0898's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Milton Keynes
Thanks Meter: 2
 
813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by stw303

Guys,
Like a lot of people here, I sometimes use a Notebook PC to connect to my work over VPN via my Universal. I've always used "Modem Link" as it was more reliable than "Wireless Modem".

In the most recent WM6 Roms, "Modem Link" seems to have disappeared, replaced by "Internet Sharing".

My Telco, like a lot of others, uses a NAT'ed IP address to provide GPRS/3G internet connectivity. "Internet Sharing" also uses IP NAT'ing to share the Telco's IP address. This creates a situation where you are NAT'ing a NAT'ed IP address.

To explain further:
1) Real internet ip address: 203.134.56.123
2) It is then NAT'ed by Telco and becomes 10.0.0.1
3) It is then NAT'ed again by "Internet Sharing" to become 192.168.0.1


This situation is fine for normal web browsing, but won't work when using a VPN client(ie: Cisco). Most VPN clients wont tolerate Double-NAT'ing.





Has anyone experienced this scenario?

Are there alternatives to "Wireless Modem" & "Modem Link"?

Is there a "Modem Link" cab floating around that can be installed separately on the newer WM6 ROM?

Or is there any way to get "Wireless Modem" working reliably?



Thanks,
Simon

Hi,

WModem will be in my latest release with Laurentius, due for release on 1st November.

The problem with most of the current releases that include it, is that the reg on the PDA does not have the correct settings to report the driver name to the windows machine (the entries have been left as generic)

I have just tested WModem and it works fine, over USB.

Cheers,


Beasty
24th October 2007, 12:51 AM   |  #3  
stw303's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Taradale
Thanks Meter: 16
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beast0898

Hi,

WModem will be in my latest release with Laurentius, due for release on 1st November.

The problem with most of the current releases that include it, is that the reg on the PDA does not have the correct settings to report the driver name to the windows machine (the entries have been left as generic)

I have just tested WModem and it works fine, over USB.

Cheers,


Beasty

Thanks Beast. That makes a lot of sense.

Now for the most obviouse question. Any chance of making a WModem CAB files with those reg settings? Or even easier, list the relavent reg keys and the correct values.



Thanks again,



Simon
24th October 2007, 06:07 AM   |  #4  
beast0898's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Milton Keynes
Thanks Meter: 2
 
813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by stw303

Thanks Beast. That makes a lot of sense.

Now for the most obviouse question. Any chance of making a WModem CAB files with those reg settings? Or even easier, list the relavent reg keys and the correct values.



Thanks again,



Simon

Hi Simon,


This should be all you need to change to allow the emulation to be correctly detected by your PC............ I assume you have the PC driver and dialer.

Unless the Rom you are using has more missing.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\USB\FunctionDrivers\USB SER_Class]
"Manufacturer"="CDMA1X USB Modem"
"Product"="CDMA1X USB Modem"

Cheers,


Beasty
24th October 2007, 09:18 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beast0898

Hi Simon,


This should be all you need to change to allow the emulation to be correctly detected by your PC............ I assume you have the PC driver and dialer.

Unless the Rom you are using has more missing.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\USB\FunctionDrivers\USB SER_Class]
"Manufacturer"="CDMA1X USB Modem"
"Product"="CDMA1X USB Modem"

Cheers,


Beasty

These are the actual required OEM settings:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\USB\FunctionDrivers\USB SER_Class]
"Dll"="serialusbfn.dll"
"DeviceName"="USBFNS2:"
"Prefix"="COM"
"DeviceArrayIndex"=dword:1
"RxBufferSize"=dword:4000
"IClass"=multi_sz:"{CC5195AC-BA49-48a0-BE17-DF6D1B0173DD}","{C375C787-B721-4b8e-B67F-A112D5C0A404}"
"idVendor"=dword:0bb4
"Manufacturer"="HTC"
"idProduct"=dword:0cf
"Product"="HTC USB Modem"
"bcdDevice"=dword:90
"Tsp"="Unimodem.dll"
"DeviceType"=dword:0

Also note that the only important keys for driver identification are:
"idVendor"=dword:0bb4
"idProduct"=dword:0cf

These two keys make up the "VID" and "PID" that windows uses to match all drivers to PNP hardware (AKA "Device Instance ID" and "Hardware Ids"). Without the proper VID and PID windows will never match the Modem to the drivers that are provided.

If you want to review it for yourself, just open the modem driver (USBMDM.INF) file and look for the "[HTC]" tag. See below for example:

%USB\VID_0BB4&PID_00CF.DeviceDesc% = Modem1, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_00CF

Hope that helps you guys...

-Jwrightmcps
Last edited by Jwrightmcps; 24th October 2007 at 06:31 PM.
11th March 2008, 09:26 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
hi guys.. dyou have extracted cab files each of these? badly needed. thnx!!
17th April 2008, 05:38 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Which version of wm6.1 has good Modem link or wireless modem?
17th April 2008, 05:39 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
My mobile wont detec after rom upgrade to wm6.1
23rd April 2008, 08:22 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Hi Beasty, Simon

I am very much familiar with Internet Sharing

I want to know how a modem link works.

Like I have gone to Modem link application and

Selected USB as my connection ans have provided my Access point specified by my Service provider.

Pressed the activate. Status has become Active.

After this, how to browse Internet over my PC.

No Network has been detected by My PC.

Please reply me as soon as possible so that i can move further with my proceedings

Thanks
Kranthi Kumar
4th May 2008, 06:41 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Do you know which version of wm6.1 has a modem link option.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes