Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,872 Members 53,170 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

'Touch Settings' Program for Vogue (aka Sprint Touch)

Tip us?
 
Haggar
Old
#1  
Haggar's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 'Touch Settings' Program for Vogue (aka Sprint Touch)

First - thank you to Carlos for his hard work on the original version and now for taking the time to update it for those of us using Sprint's touch. I'm starting this as a separate thread since the new beta version will have many issues unrelated to the original versions.

And, unfortunately, I get to start off with my first issue which occurs upon execution of the program.

A few moments after starting the program I get the follow error message...
Quote:
System.ArgumentException: An error message cannot be displayed because an optional resource assembly containing it cannot be found at Microsoft.AGL.Common.MISC.HandleAr() at System.Drawing.Bitmap._InitFromMemoryStream() at System.Drawing.Bitmap..ctor() at TouchSettings.Form1.load PBpictureFromPath()
And then the error message scrolls off the screen without scroll bar for me to see what else it says...

Upon clicking the "OK" button, the program continues to load to the App Launcher screen.

Upon load, the App Launcher screen is empty. The screenshot, icons, path and program title are not populated.

When I click on the empty box where the screenshot should be located I get the same as as before and the program exits.

I can populate the App name and path fields and can also ad an Icon -- but only for one program. When I save and reset however, the app name, path and icons are not retained.

When returning to the program after the first entry, I continue to receive the same error and the App Launcher screen is again blank.


In Media Hub:

First - the screenshot displayed is from the other version of the Touch screens...with the bluegreen icons -- not yellow. I assume you know that, but just wanted to mention it.

The "Sprint Music" fields default to the ATC Audio Manager which, to my understanding, does not come on the Touch. I've already installed AudioManager so the link worked fine -- but I'd suggest defaulting it to Sprint's Java-based Music ap just like the stock set up (less confusion for noobs)

Sprint TV seems to work as expected.

On Demand also worked as expected.

I changed the settings for On Demand to point to \windows\HTCAlbum.exe, however, and upon re-boot I received the following error when trying to run it from the cube:

Quote:
The file " cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of its components cannot be found. If the problem persists, try reinstalling or restoring this file.
(and that single quotation mark after the words "The file" is exactly what displays)

Weather appears to display properly. I haven't had a chance to test the auto update feature yet.

On the bright side - the About screen works perfectly. It's just as easy to send Carlos a beer as it was before!

Given that we'll soon have a Vogue forum started I also assume you'll probably want to update the Support Thread to include a link for "Sprint Support"??

Whew. That's all for the first 10 minutes.

THANK YOU CARLOS! Your hard work is appreciated!
 
jbrail
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2007
My experience is exactly the same on the sprint touch.

Joe
 
Russellhi
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2007
I just wanted to drop in and say thanks for all your work Carlos!
 
poe019
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2007
Same problems still having problems with the app loader portion of the settings. The other settings work as they should.
 
ambush276
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2007
ok well i made custom PNG's for Slingplayer mobile and opera, if anyone needs custom images let me know im makin em. BUt i need the sprint program to implement the images!
 
utexascg
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jul 2007
the original "Touch Settings" program that you're referring to will work with the Sprint Touch without any problems. You just have to know what you're doing....

Step 1: Download TaskMgr and copy to your phone. Place TaskMgr in the \windows\start menu\programs\ folder of your device.

Step 2: Run the TaskMgr program you just put on your device. Upon opening TaskMgr, a list of running processes will be displayed. You want to terminate the following processes; biotouch.exe, quickdial.exe, mediahubmini.exe and aplauncher.exe. To do this, select each one individually and then tap the "Close" button on the bottom of the screen.

Step 3: Download and install the TouchFlo Alpha cab below.
- 3a: upon successful completion of the installation you will be prompted to "Reset" your device. Click "NO".

4. navigate to the \windows\startup folder and delete any new links that were created.

5. navigate to the \windows\start menu\programs folder and delete "touchflo"

6. Download and install the Touch Settings Cab below. Again, at the completion of the installation it will prompt you to restart your device. SELECT NO!. You are not ready to reset your device just yet.

7. Now that you've killed the 4 processes, installed the touchflo alpha cab and the touch settings cab, we're almost done. Navigate to the \windows\startup folder and delete the mediahubmini link.

8. Soft Reset Device.

9. Launch "Touch Settings" program from the Start Menu.

10. BEFORE MAKING ANY CHANGES TO THE CUBE CLICK "SAVE". WAIT APPROXIMATELY 1 MINUTE AND THEN SOFT RESET AGAIN.

11. Run Touch Settings again and start customizing.

Hope this helps.

Later
 
abeery
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 135
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by utexascg View Post
the original "Touch Settings" program that you're referring to will work with the Sprint Touch without any problems. You just have to know what you're doing....

Step 3: Download and install the TouchFlo Alpha cab below.
- 3a: upon successful completion of the installation you will be prompted to "Reset" your device. Click "NO".

...

6. Download and install the Touch Settings Cab below. Again, at the completion of the installation it will prompt you to restart your device. SELECT NO!. You are not ready to reset your device just yet.

...
Not sure what and where to get these cabs... can you provide links? (especially first one)
TouchFlo Alpha cab? Touch Settings Cab (is ths 1.22 or 1.29?)
 
carlosp_uk
Old
(Last edited by carlosp_uk; 29th November 2007 at 11:56 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 232
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
I'm starting this as a separate thread since the new beta version will have many issues unrelated to the original versions.
Hi guys and thx Haggar and others for bug reports - I think I may have some theories as to what's going wrong.

I made a new test build for you to try out - the CAB is attached below. (REMOVED, SEE LATER POST FOR UPDATED VERSION) Please install and let me know how you get on. It should create a log file called log.txt in the app directory which you can attach to your post in case of any problems:

QUESTIONS:

1. Does it now work?
2. If not, what happens?
3. If not, please attach the log file.
4. When you go to the "About" screen, it says "Detected Device:" at the top - what is the detected device?


@utexas - I'm not sure what your instructions are referring to, but please ignore these peeps, as it would be best for us to try to get the app working properly with the Sprint without resorting to loading older versions of the TOuchFLO software onto your devices.

Finally, does anybody have a Sprint that they HAVENT yet installed Touch Settings onto? If so, please could somebody zip up a copy of \Windows\MediaHubMini.exe for me from your Sprint device and send it to me? This should be BEFORE installing any Touch Settings software, as this patches over the executable, and I'd like a copy of the NEW MediaHubMini.exe that comes with your device, so I can see if I need to release a new patch. If anyone has recently hard reset their device, then the file will be on your device unaltered.

Thanks for the nice comments peeps.

Carlos
Carlos P
===============================
iPhone, Android and WinPhone Dev Guy
Previous projects: Touch Settings, Tone Manager
 
mark1581
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alexandria
Here you go Carlos. I have never installed Touch Settings on my Sprint Touch.

What exactly is Touch Settings? Could someone tell me, or point me to the original thread? Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MediaHubMini.zip - [Click for QR Code] (21.4 KB, 75 views)
 
abeery
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 135
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Thanks Carlos... I've attached the log.txt file... still generating errors... looking for bitmaps (brns) that it cannot load... example... looking for \windows\AL_03.brn... this file is indeed located in the indicated location so not sure what the problem is...I tried to make and save a change to the launcher and now I get no images in the 3x2 launcher.
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt - [Click for QR Code] (3.7 KB, 27 views)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more