FORUMS

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

Xposed Framework Updated to v65

Xposed Framework is an extremely popular modification platform for Android, so much so that we included … more

MortButtons 2.5

415 posts
Thanks Meter: 75
 
By Mort, Senior Member on 5th December 2007, 12:28 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
14th October 2008, 09:05 PM |#201  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Strange... If at all, this should only happen for subdirectories of \Windows\Start menu. It was meant as workaround to get the "Settings" folder in the start menu to work properly. Since there's no way to get the name of that folder, I assumed that any subdirectory of the start menu that isn't "Programs" (or localization) or a subfolder of it is the Settings folder. I'll look into it later this week (probably thursday).

Something completely different:
Attached is an updated manual. Please check if there's anything wrong, missing, or could be explained better (please with example, I'm also not 100% happy with all of it, but couldn't find better words...).
Attached Files
File Type: zip MortButtons-Manual.zip - [Click for QR Code] (667.1 KB, 60 views)
 
 
14th October 2008, 09:41 PM |#202  
Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
i get the same issues, i thought i did something wrong cause right before installing i did a hard reset. switched back to version 17 and everything is fine again
16th October 2008, 08:31 PM |#203  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Folder bug should be fixed now... (and some other bugs...)
Attached Files
File Type: zip MortButtons-2.51b19.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.24 MB, 55 views)
18th October 2008, 05:10 PM |#204  
Noonski's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Recognized Developer
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 125
 
Donate to Me
More
Well it Took me a while.

But finally had the time to test it.

Ehn i edit the .mbi files in Note pad. (even renaming to .txt first)

I always need to take out the first two bytes of the file in a hex editor so it shows up correctly.

Is this default behavior or do you have another tip on editing the MBI files directly on the PC?
19th October 2008, 09:34 PM |#205  
havocnl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tilburg
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonski

Well it Took me a while.

But finally had the time to test it.

Ehn i edit the .mbi files in Note pad. (even renaming to .txt first)

I always need to take out the first two bytes of the file in a hex editor so it shows up correctly.

Is this default behavior or do you have another tip on editing the MBI files directly on the PC?

Try opening them in a more advanced text editor like Notepad++
The first two bytes are header bytes of the file, which indicates a slightly different structure (for the header) then normal text. Notepad doesn't understand it, but more advanced notepad-like-apps will. Notepad++ is my favorite
19th October 2008, 10:33 PM |#206  
xan's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Crack-ow
Thanks Meter: 457
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm glad to see Mort posting here, I just love his player
Appreciate your work, wont hestiate to check the buttons out.
20th October 2008, 09:43 AM |#207  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by havocnl

The first two bytes are header bytes of the file, which indicates a slightly different structure (for the header) then normal text.

Those first two bytes are inserted by many editors (afaik including Notepad++) to indicate Unicode files. (They're called BOM, Byte-order mark, by the way...)
MortButtons simply writes the data as strings as they're in memory in Windows Mobile, i.e. Unicode without BOM. So if the editor inserts it, it must be removed. Since the .mbi files usually aren't edited manually, I didn't care to support other formats, like Unicode with BOM or UTF8 (with or without BOM). (Opposed to e.g. translation files, where the BOM is supported since 2.5 iirc.)
22nd October 2008, 05:41 AM |#208  
Cal-El's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Golden Valley, MN
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
.mbi
Sorry for being such a noob to this, but where do I place the .mbi file?
22nd October 2008, 12:37 PM |#209  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashmaster1000

Sorry for being such a noob to this, but where do I place the .mbi file?

If you don't know, usually you shouldn't do anything with them... ;)
They're located in MortButtons' main directory (\Program files\MortButtons or similar) for the main menus, and in "Submenus" folder for added menus.
But you really should only modify them directly when you know what you're doing and there's no better way for it...
17th November 2008, 09:44 AM |#210  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
MortButtons V2.6 is released.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes