Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

MortButtons 2.5

OP Mort

14th October 2008, 10:05 PM   |  #201  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Strange... If at all, this should only happen for subdirectories of \Windows\Start menu. It was meant as workaround to get the "Settings" folder in the start menu to work properly. Since there's no way to get the name of that folder, I assumed that any subdirectory of the start menu that isn't "Programs" (or localization) or a subfolder of it is the Settings folder. I'll look into it later this week (probably thursday).

Something completely different:
Attached is an updated manual. Please check if there's anything wrong, missing, or could be explained better (please with example, I'm also not 100% happy with all of it, but couldn't find better words...).
Attached Files
File Type: zip MortButtons-Manual.zip - [Click for QR Code] (667.1 KB, 60 views)
14th October 2008, 10:41 PM   |  #202  
Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 1
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
i get the same issues, i thought i did something wrong cause right before installing i did a hard reset. switched back to version 17 and everything is fine again
16th October 2008, 09:31 PM   |  #203  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Folder bug should be fixed now... (and some other bugs...)
Attached Files
File Type: zip MortButtons-2.51b19.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.24 MB, 55 views)
18th October 2008, 06:10 PM   |  #204  
Noonski's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Recognized Developer
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 122
 
5,286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Donate to Me
More
Well it Took me a while.

But finally had the time to test it.

Ehn i edit the .mbi files in Note pad. (even renaming to .txt first)

I always need to take out the first two bytes of the file in a hex editor so it shows up correctly.

Is this default behavior or do you have another tip on editing the MBI files directly on the PC?
19th October 2008, 10:34 PM   |  #205  
havocnl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tilburg
Thanks Meter: 25
 
579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonski

Well it Took me a while.

But finally had the time to test it.

Ehn i edit the .mbi files in Note pad. (even renaming to .txt first)

I always need to take out the first two bytes of the file in a hex editor so it shows up correctly.

Is this default behavior or do you have another tip on editing the MBI files directly on the PC?

Try opening them in a more advanced text editor like Notepad++
The first two bytes are header bytes of the file, which indicates a slightly different structure (for the header) then normal text. Notepad doesn't understand it, but more advanced notepad-like-apps will. Notepad++ is my favorite
19th October 2008, 11:33 PM   |  #206  
xan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Crack-ow
Thanks Meter: 456
 
1,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
I'm glad to see Mort posting here, I just love his player
Appreciate your work, wont hestiate to check the buttons out.
20th October 2008, 10:43 AM   |  #207  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by havocnl

The first two bytes are header bytes of the file, which indicates a slightly different structure (for the header) then normal text.

Those first two bytes are inserted by many editors (afaik including Notepad++) to indicate Unicode files. (They're called BOM, Byte-order mark, by the way...)
MortButtons simply writes the data as strings as they're in memory in Windows Mobile, i.e. Unicode without BOM. So if the editor inserts it, it must be removed. Since the .mbi files usually aren't edited manually, I didn't care to support other formats, like Unicode with BOM or UTF8 (with or without BOM). (Opposed to e.g. translation files, where the BOM is supported since 2.5 iirc.)
22nd October 2008, 06:41 AM   |  #208  
Cal-El's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Golden Valley, MN
Thanks Meter: 77
 
1,690 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
.mbi
Sorry for being such a noob to this, but where do I place the .mbi file?
22nd October 2008, 01:37 PM   |  #209  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dashmaster1000

Sorry for being such a noob to this, but where do I place the .mbi file?

If you don't know, usually you shouldn't do anything with them... ;)
They're located in MortButtons' main directory (\Program files\MortButtons or similar) for the main menus, and in "Submenus" folder for added menus.
But you really should only modify them directly when you know what you're doing and there's no better way for it...
17th November 2008, 10:44 AM   |  #210  
OP Senior Member
Flag near Stuttgart
Thanks Meter: 75
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
MortButtons V2.6 is released.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes