Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Google Maps Storage Cache

11th December 2007, 04:54 PM   |  #1  
aksd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 7
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I'm new to Windows based phones and was wondering if its possible to download Google maps and save them in the google map cache for offline viewing. Also could some one guide me to where the cache is located. I apologise if this has been covered before.

Thank you,

Akshay
11th December 2007, 10:07 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
It's not possible with Google Maps but with a similar application that uses maps from google.
Take a look here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=351001
12th December 2007, 01:39 AM   |  #3  
aksd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 7
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Thank you mate, I used to use that with my ROKR E6, but its a pain to use it with my Kaiser . Thank anyway.
12th December 2007, 07:57 AM   |  #4  
remofo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aksd

I'm new to Windows based phones and was wondering if its possible to download Google maps and save them in the google map cache for offline viewing. Also could some one guide me to where the cache is located. I apologise if this has been covered before.

Thank you,

Akshay

\My Device\Application Data\GoogleMaps\cache-GLM

rename cache-GLM to cache-GLM1 (or whatever)

You can then rename it (or any number of other cache files) back to cache-GLM

And view them off-line.
12th December 2007, 08:15 AM   |  #5  
aksd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 7
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Thanks mate . Is it the cache-GLM.dat file?
12th December 2007, 10:57 AM   |  #6  
remofo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aksd

Thanks mate . Is it the cache-GLM.dat file?

That's the one...cache away!
12th December 2007, 03:46 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Chennai
Thanks Meter: 4
 
776 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
Any idea on how to move it to Storage card?

Regards,
Carty..
18th December 2007, 08:45 PM   |  #8  
SubZero5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Istanbul, TR
Thanks Meter: 4
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carty

Any idea on how to move it to Storage card?

Looking for the same thing Carty..
24th December 2008, 07:13 AM   |  #9  
Janis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN US
Thanks Meter: 32
 
727 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
me three!
I wonder what happens if it's intalled to the card. Seems to me it wouldn't matter. I imagine it's a dll that steers it, but I haven't checked my registry yet. I will early next week if no one knows (and posts), any more than I (do). 4mb is more than I can lose comfortably to a data cache.
9th April 2009, 09:15 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janis

I wonder what happens if it's intalled to the card. Seems to me it wouldn't matter. I imagine it's a dll that steers it, but I haven't checked my registry yet. I will early next week if no one knows (and posts), any more than I (do). 4mb is more than I can lose comfortably to a data cache.

You can install GMM to the card, but it still keeps the cache on the phone. It's a HUGE PAIN IN THE NECK.

Lately I've been having trouble sending MMS messages because my phone is full. It took a while, but I finaly figured out that cache-GLM.dat was the storage hog. It was using 24MB!!!!eleven!

I deleted the file and fired up GMM. It recreated the file at 512KB. It's easy to imagine this cache file filling my phone up very quickly if it's going to increase by half a MB every time it loads a new tile.

Somebody please figure out a way to either clear this cache upon exit of the app or move it to the storage card. It sux!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes