Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,427 Members 40,117 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tilt Was bricked..any ideas as to unbricking?

Tip us?
 
HTCFAN0923
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 238
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
Default Tilt Was bricked..any ideas as to unbricking?

hey Guyz. I have a Tilt that a customer gave me that got bricked while trying to flash one of dutty's roms...Problem is that the genius didn't load up Hard SPL even tho he told me that he did...now He wants me to fix it...even tho he didn't follow my instructions and read the WiKi...I kno that on the Hermes it was able to be unbricked. Is the same for the Kaiser possible? I would greatly appreciate your help as my customers are loving the work you guyz do here in nyc..

Thanks in Advance!

Cristian
AT&T HTC One X w/ Clean Rom 4.5 Standard
Samung Galaxy Tab 10.1 GT-7510 w/ Stock, rooted, deoxed, Android 4.0.4
HTC Vet on XDA since the HTC Hermes.
 
sirsycho
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2006
What is the current status of the phone?
Can you get into the bootloader at all?

If you can get to the bootloader you should be able to load the AT&T AKU v0.4.4 ROM (the unoffical upgraded AT&T ROM). Once you get that loaded you should flash HardSPL immediately.

Let me know how it goes...

Cheers.
__________________
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS
Android Captivate (unlocked)
 
andydempsey
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2006
I bricked my tilt when it was less than 24 hours old... I recovered it with a BETA of the ATT rom and THEN redoing the hardspl thingy - worked a treat.

Do a search for tolt bricked and you should find afew threads for it.

The rom is called something like RUU_Kaiser_ATT_WWE....._Internal.exe
 
HTCFAN0923
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 238
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!
AT&T HTC One X w/ Clean Rom 4.5 Standard
Samung Galaxy Tab 10.1 GT-7510 w/ Stock, rooted, deoxed, Android 4.0.4
HTC Vet on XDA since the HTC Hermes.
 
mfrazzz
Old
#5  
mfrazzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 2,454
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Falcon, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923 View Post
It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!
If you are at the bootloader screen (Tri-Color) then the phone is not bricked. In the sticky at the top on how to revert back for warranty replacement, it has links for the various roms. Just flash an official AT&T rom on it and you should be good to go. Then do the HardSPL.

Cool that you work for AT&T and hang out here! If you have any other warranty returns, I can give you my address as I wouldn't mind having a backup or two...

BTW: The AT&T ROM for the Tilt is actually quite good in the big picture of things. At least the phone is usable (slower than it should be and less memory than it should have, but its still very usable and stable on the official rom). If you want to bitch about official roms, go back to the 8125 and its official rom. The while the device (at the time) was great, that rom made the phone almost worthless (super slow, battery problems, bad radio, dropped calls, freezing, etc). I can't tell you how many people that run custom roms on the Wizard just can't believe what that phone is actually capable of.

Ok, sorry, got off topic there...
AT&T Tilt
ROM: HyperDragon IV IOLITE 20090204 (WM6.1 Hybrid)
Radio: 1.71.09.01 eMo (Ultimate Kaiser Radio Thread)
HardSPL: 3.29 by cmonex
SIM/CID/Security Unlocked by Olipro
Priceless!


Got a Wizard? Try my XDA Mobile 6 Release 5 ROM

Do you have a "rom flashing" problem? Join Rom Flashers Anonymous

Like my work? Donations are appreciated!

.
 
Quick Silver
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 103
Join Date: Dec 2007
does Hard-SPL needs to be flashed just once on a device or does it need to be installed every tome a new ROM is going to be Flashed onto it?
 
HTCFAN0923
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 238
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrazzz View Post
If you are at the bootloader screen (Tri-Color) then the phone is not bricked. In the sticky at the top on how to revert back for warranty replacement, it has links for the various roms. Just flash an official AT&T rom on it and you should be good to go. Then do the HardSPL.

Cool that you work for AT&T and hang out here! If you have any other warranty returns, I can give you my address as I wouldn't mind having a backup or two...

For some reason, it's not being recognized by my Activesync. I got it to recognize it but now it sayz Error 294: Invalid Vendor ID...I'm using the RUU_Cingular_WWE Rom for the Kaiser...so I'm flabbergasted at this point...
AT&T HTC One X w/ Clean Rom 4.5 Standard
Samung Galaxy Tab 10.1 GT-7510 w/ Stock, rooted, deoxed, Android 4.0.4
HTC Vet on XDA since the HTC Hermes.
 
johanromijn
Old
#8  
johanromijn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 904
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Netherlands - GMT[+1]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quick Silver View Post
does Hard-SPL needs to be flashed just once on a device or does it need to be installed every tome a new ROM is going to be Flashed onto it?
Only once! Than you can flash as much as you like!
iPhone 5 - iPhone 4 - Google Nexus 4

- If it jams, force it. If it breaks it probably needed replacing anyway. -
 
johanromijn
Old
(Last edited by johanromijn; 29th December 2007 at 03:04 PM.)
#9  
johanromijn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 904
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Netherlands - GMT[+1]
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923 View Post
For some reason, it's not being recognized by my Activesync. I got it to recognize it but now it sayz Error 294: Invalid Vendor ID...I'm using the RUU_Cingular_WWE Rom for the Kaiser...so I'm flabbergasted at this point...
ActiveSync will not recognize your device when in BootLoader mode!

The Vendor ID error means the ROM cannot be loaded on the Tilt without HardSPL. You need an original Tilt ROM. (That's what I think about this)
iPhone 5 - iPhone 4 - Google Nexus 4

- If it jams, force it. If it breaks it probably needed replacing anyway. -
 
sirsycho
Old
(Last edited by sirsycho; 29th December 2007 at 05:09 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923 View Post
It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!


Oddly enough the "Original" Tilt ROM will not install on a Tilt that does not already have HardSPL on it (to spell it out for you, the CID of the ROM does not match the Tilt's stock SPL). If you check the "reverting back" sticky you'll find all this info already, though it is deep in the thread.

The AKU v.0.4.4 ATT Beta ROM does have the correct CID and will flash on a stock Tilt. SO that is what you are forced to resort to at this point. Once you get the beta ROM installed you can (and probably should) install HardSPL.

After all that, if you decide you want to return or warranty the phone follow the "revert" thread to restore it to "stock" form.

Some additional notes on your problem...


ActiveSync will not connect in Bootloader mode (this is expected). You should see a device show up in Device Manager however, I can't recall the exact description however.

quick flash procedure:
put phone in bootloader
connect usb cable
install ROM

FYI, the problem may not be a bricked tilt... you could try Pof's fix which involves using MTTY.exe to boot the phone, depending on how your "customer" tried to flash it it may just need a kick in the pants to restore it. (search Pof's SSPL for the Kaiser thread for instructions, the thread was closed so you will have to look deep).


<climbing on my soapbox>
Lastly... your use of the word "customer" concerns me... are you charging people for the work you do to their phones? If so, do you donate to the people who make it possible? I'm probably just misunderstanding you, but if you're profiting from others work, perhaps you should contribute (especially if you're coming here to ask for help).
</climbing down>

Good Luck!
Cheers.
__________________
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS
Android Captivate (unlocked)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes