Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tilt Was bricked..any ideas as to unbricking?

OP HTCFAN0923

28th December 2007, 11:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
hey Guyz. I have a Tilt that a customer gave me that got bricked while trying to flash one of dutty's roms...Problem is that the genius didn't load up Hard SPL even tho he told me that he did...now He wants me to fix it...even tho he didn't follow my instructions and read the WiKi...I kno that on the Hermes it was able to be unbricked. Is the same for the Kaiser possible? I would greatly appreciate your help as my customers are loving the work you guyz do here in nyc..

Thanks in Advance!

Cristian
29th December 2007, 02:03 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
What is the current status of the phone?
Can you get into the bootloader at all?

If you can get to the bootloader you should be able to load the AT&T AKU v0.4.4 ROM (the unoffical upgraded AT&T ROM). Once you get that loaded you should flash HardSPL immediately.

Let me know how it goes...

Cheers.
29th December 2007, 02:24 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
I bricked my tilt when it was less than 24 hours old... I recovered it with a BETA of the ATT rom and THEN redoing the hardspl thingy - worked a treat.

Do a search for tolt bricked and you should find afew threads for it.

The rom is called something like RUU_Kaiser_ATT_WWE....._Internal.exe
29th December 2007, 05:37 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!
29th December 2007, 07:29 AM   |  #5  
mfrazzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Falcon, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 6
 
2,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923

It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!

If you are at the bootloader screen (Tri-Color) then the phone is not bricked. In the sticky at the top on how to revert back for warranty replacement, it has links for the various roms. Just flash an official AT&T rom on it and you should be good to go. Then do the HardSPL.

Cool that you work for AT&T and hang out here! If you have any other warranty returns, I can give you my address as I wouldn't mind having a backup or two...

BTW: The AT&T ROM for the Tilt is actually quite good in the big picture of things. At least the phone is usable (slower than it should be and less memory than it should have, but its still very usable and stable on the official rom). If you want to bitch about official roms, go back to the 8125 and its official rom. The while the device (at the time) was great, that rom made the phone almost worthless (super slow, battery problems, bad radio, dropped calls, freezing, etc). I can't tell you how many people that run custom roms on the Wizard just can't believe what that phone is actually capable of.

Ok, sorry, got off topic there...
29th December 2007, 07:44 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
does Hard-SPL needs to be flashed just once on a device or does it need to be installed every tome a new ROM is going to be Flashed onto it?
29th December 2007, 02:43 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrazzz

If you are at the bootloader screen (Tri-Color) then the phone is not bricked. In the sticky at the top on how to revert back for warranty replacement, it has links for the various roms. Just flash an official AT&T rom on it and you should be good to go. Then do the HardSPL.

Cool that you work for AT&T and hang out here! If you have any other warranty returns, I can give you my address as I wouldn't mind having a backup or two...


For some reason, it's not being recognized by my Activesync. I got it to recognize it but now it sayz Error 294: Invalid Vendor ID...I'm using the RUU_Cingular_WWE Rom for the Kaiser...so I'm flabbergasted at this point...
29th December 2007, 02:47 PM   |  #8  
johanromijn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands - GMT[+1]
Thanks Meter: 5
 
10
904 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quick Silver

does Hard-SPL needs to be flashed just once on a device or does it need to be installed every tome a new ROM is going to be Flashed onto it?

Only once! Than you can flash as much as you like!
29th December 2007, 02:52 PM   |  #9  
johanromijn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands - GMT[+1]
Thanks Meter: 5
 
10
904 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923

For some reason, it's not being recognized by my Activesync. I got it to recognize it but now it sayz Error 294: Invalid Vendor ID...I'm using the RUU_Cingular_WWE Rom for the Kaiser...so I'm flabbergasted at this point...

ActiveSync will not recognize your device when in BootLoader mode!

The Vendor ID error means the ROM cannot be loaded on the Tilt without HardSPL. You need an original Tilt ROM. (That's what I think about this)
Last edited by johanromijn; 29th December 2007 at 04:04 PM.
29th December 2007, 06:02 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCFAN0923

It goes to the Tri-Color Screen but stays there..I'll go ahead and research it so I can find the original AT&T and load it up...It shows a lot..workin for at&t and being a member on xda...U guyz have no idea how ya make life easier for my tilt customers b/c at&t truly dropped the ball on the rom...and by offering alternatives..u make the user experience so much better...thanks!



Oddly enough the "Original" Tilt ROM will not install on a Tilt that does not already have HardSPL on it (to spell it out for you, the CID of the ROM does not match the Tilt's stock SPL). If you check the "reverting back" sticky you'll find all this info already, though it is deep in the thread.

The AKU v.0.4.4 ATT Beta ROM does have the correct CID and will flash on a stock Tilt. SO that is what you are forced to resort to at this point. Once you get the beta ROM installed you can (and probably should) install HardSPL.

After all that, if you decide you want to return or warranty the phone follow the "revert" thread to restore it to "stock" form.

Some additional notes on your problem...


ActiveSync will not connect in Bootloader mode (this is expected). You should see a device show up in Device Manager however, I can't recall the exact description however.

quick flash procedure:
put phone in bootloader
connect usb cable
install ROM

FYI, the problem may not be a bricked tilt... you could try Pof's fix which involves using MTTY.exe to boot the phone, depending on how your "customer" tried to flash it it may just need a kick in the pants to restore it. (search Pof's SSPL for the Kaiser thread for instructions, the thread was closed so you will have to look deep).


<climbing on my soapbox>
Lastly... your use of the word "customer" concerns me... are you charging people for the work you do to their phones? If so, do you donate to the people who make it possible? I'm probably just misunderstanding you, but if you're profiting from others work, perhaps you should contribute (especially if you're coming here to ask for help).
</climbing down>

Good Luck!
Cheers.
Last edited by sirsycho; 29th December 2007 at 06:09 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes