Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Deleted

Nike SSPL, USPL and HardSPL

OP jockyw2001

3rd January 2008, 01:22 AM   |  #31  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 36
 
1,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddbud

Followed instructions as per above. Was able to update to 15%, did not recover. Now when I try to load the uspl, hardspl or flash I get a communications error. When I try to flash the ASIA ROM (above), it shows 1% then the phone blacks out and I get ERROR [294] Invalid vendor ID. When I yank the battery and turn back on, I get a the red, green blue screen with the following info: NIKI 100, SPL-1.16.0000, CPLD-4 (RUUNBH in top right corner).

Help!

It means the USPL or HardSPL wasn't flashed to your device in the first place.
Then you tried to update the ROM which doesn't work of course and now your Niki is still in Rom Update Mode.
You can get it out of that mode by using MTTY to connect to your device via USB (search for MTTY 1.42). Make sure activesync setting "Allow USB connections" is not checked!.

Press return 2 times and you will see a "Cmd>" prompt.
Type "task 8" and your device should reboot normally.
Then try again to flash the USPL or HardSPL (recommended) and once it is installed flash the ROM of your choice.
3rd January 2008, 03:02 AM   |  #32  
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 49
 
3,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jockyw2001

Very wise words Pawel062, thanks for contributing them.
But not to worry, this SSPL works fine. I solved the usb issue.

We patched CableChanged but omitted to try loading it with cable connected then unplugging and replugging, unfortunate because we actually also then delved into detectUsbCable evidently unnecessarily... still, it was quite amusing to do since I (Olipro) hacked up a bit of shellcode to BL to that would display "Wahey" and a number on the screen (per iteration) so that we could see where execution got to, anyhow, we're in the US now (New Jersey specifically) so we're technically AWOL at the moment :P

notes from cmonex: you probably already know which function we refer to when mentioning CableChanged, but if not, then it is the function where you patched a BEQ to NOP to always load the proper flag for USB connection. (we did the same patch but as Olipro says above, we didn't test it properly .. then no more testing, as we've gone to the US. )
...but if you didn't know the function name, in that case i wonder how you got there without knowing the functions
anyway did you see my post in Kaiser SIM Unlock thread, i didn't see a reply from you? thanks.
Last edited by cmonex; 3rd January 2008 at 03:05 AM.
3rd January 2008, 08:50 AM   |  #33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
if you upgrade to the asian rom,will xt9 still be there.i'd do anything just to get rid of xt9!!!
3rd January 2008, 11:15 AM   |  #34  
Member
Flag Fribourg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogiecornejo

if you upgrade to the asian rom,will xt9 still be there.i'd do anything just to get rid of xt9!!!

Yes Sir..

I updated my 16 keys French version to the ASIA English version... the keyboard works properly, but still starts with XT9 on...

On the other hand, the languages are still : English, French, German, Italian and Spanish by default.... nice....

It's worth it to donate, guys...
3rd January 2008, 02:18 PM   |  #35  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 36
 
1,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmonex

...but if you didn't know the function name, in that case i wonder how you got there without knowing the functions
anyway did you see my post in Kaiser SIM Unlock thread, i didn't see a reply from you? thanks.

I found this by pure reversing via deduction and comparison.
I simply compared behaviour of pof's sspl for kaiser with the niki spl (which also runs on kaiser). My only debugging tools are "FEFFFFEA", call printmodelinfo and ida pro. So by using those tools i first determined code flow of pof's sspl and then forced niki-1.16 to do the same thing. The usb patch is my work, the other patches are of course from pof and olipro.

Regarding the work on sim unlock, sure we can collaborate as long as we won't call each other bitch and keep it friendly
3rd January 2008, 06:29 PM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
help me please ... didn't work...
download the attached files
- REMOVE SIM and SD CARDS !! - OK
- connect usb cable - OK
- copy sspl-1.16-nike.exe to your device and run it - OK
- after a few seconds "USB" appears on the display - AFTER 1/2 SECOND I SEE ONLY 1 SECOND THE "USB" AND "Loading..." BUT NOTHING HAPPEND...
3rd January 2008, 06:38 PM   |  #37  
tom_codon's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 95
 
2,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by luca-cimaglia

download the attached files
- REMOVE SIM and SD CARDS !! - OK
- connect usb cable - OK
- copy sspl-1.16-nike.exe to your device and run it - OK
- after a few seconds "USB" appears on the display - AFTER 1/2 SECOND I SEE ONLY 1 SECOND THE "USB" AND "Loading..." BUT NOTHING HAPPEND...

Hum....U installed USPL or Hard-SPL ???
I mean Run Ruu update USPL or Hard-SPL ??
3rd January 2008, 06:43 PM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
...nothing work...
3rd January 2008, 06:43 PM   |  #39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
MTTY 1.42 Does not have USB option
Quote:
Originally Posted by jockyw2001

It means the USPL or HardSPL wasn't flashed to your device in the first place.
Then you tried to update the ROM which doesn't work of course and now your Niki is still in Rom Update Mode.
You can get it out of that mode by using MTTY to connect to your device via USB (search for MTTY 1.42). Make sure activesync setting "Allow USB connections" is not checked!.

Press return 2 times and you will see a "Cmd>" prompt.
Type "task 8" and your device should reboot normally.
Then try again to flash the USPL or HardSPL (recommended) and once it is installed flash the ROM of your choice.

Thanks for all the help so far. However, I followed your instructions, but can not seem to get it to work.

I downloaded MTTY 1.42, unchecked activesync setting "allow USB...", connected phone to computer (phone in red, green, blue screen mode), started MTTY and get no USB option for connecting.

I also downloaded another MTTY version 0.01, which does give me the USB option but gives me the error "USB port can not open"

Help Again!!!!!!
3rd January 2008, 06:49 PM   |  #40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_codon

Hum....U installed USPL or Hard-SPL ???
I mean Run Ruu update USPL or Hard-SPL ??

nothing work...

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes